We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for beach and national park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vela Bar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Vela Bar
Save Saved
You added Hotel Vela Bar to your Saves list
Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location for beach and national park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 2 daughters aged 9 and 12. We had rooms next to each other. The rooms were rustic, simple but clean and very comfortable and we liked the balcony outside with comfy chairs where we could relax in the shade. The hotel was in a great location for the national park, the beach and restaurants and bars in Manuel Antonio. Look out for the squirrel monkeys and cappuchins on the walk from beach to the hotel. Wifi didn't work in our rooms but there are comfy chairs and tables near the bar and it works just fine there. The restaurant wasn't great we only ate there once and it was mediocre. There are other places within walking distance though. The breakfast was mostly cold, even the fruit was not that fresh and it was always the same papaya and pineapple option, Looking at other hotels in the area I think this is probably the best in terms of value, accommodation and location.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony give you more space and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stayed here in June 2014, probably not the best time of year to be there with daily rainstorms and high humidity. I chose a low end room and it had a double and single, no TV (which didn't bother me), no table or chairs, no tea/coffee facilities, a warm shower, also a safety box, WIFI didn't reach my room but by sitting on the steps halfway between my room and the outdoor lobby it worked. Monkeys come by daily and play in the trees and on the roof. The restaurant with a bar is popular with outsiders, open air and enough choices at regular prices, Happy hour is 2 for 1 and Pina Colada's to die for.
You walk a few hundred meters down a hill past jungle with monkey's playing and eating mangoes off the trees, to popular Manuel Antonio beach where everything is available to hire to have fun - parasail, surf and body boards, banana boat, jet ski, kayaks, horse rides,, and a beach lounge with umbrella for $5 US, massage available too and quaint peddlers selling all sorts of treats and wares, very non offensive and love having their photo taken. The beach is one of the lightest colored beaches as CR is volcanic and most of the beaches are varying shades of black. Restaurants and Shops galore along the beachfront with trinkets and clothing. MA is popular with Costa Ricans, Americans and many other neighboring countries. Buses run half hourly to and fro from the city of Queopos for roughly 50 cents and a taxi should be around 4000 colones. For those needing it, there is a great chiropractor in the region who is very cheap and good at his job. BE AWARE OF CURRENCY and don't get ripped off by unscrupulous taxi drivers..

Room Tip: Some rooms you have to climb a number of steps for those that need to be concerned about that, and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We (mother and daughter) highly recommend this place to literally anyone who want to be close to the beach but at the same time amazingly close to the wonderful Manuel Antonio park. We loved the place because everything was enchanting and yet simple at the same time. Furthermore there was an excellent balance between quality and price. The owners were kind Spanish people who had even been on TV in Spain talking about their hotel in a program called ¨Españoles por el mundo¨. Best place to eat ceviche and encounter friendly staff! I absolutely loved the mango juice since its freshly made and adds an enchanting touch to the delicious tipical tico breakfast.
Most important of all: It was always tidy and clean. Great air conditioning for all of us who are not used to the heat and want to create a little oasis of comfortableness in our rooms.
The swimming pool is due to be installed soon and we are looking forward to return to this nice and comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: The ¨mapache¨ room is suitable for families who want to be close but nos exactly in the same room al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We spent a couple of nights here while visiting Manuel Antonio, based on a Lonely Planet recommendation.

After seeing some reviews on here, we thought we might have made the wrong choice but as it happens, we had a perfect stay.

Not sure if some rooms have had a revamp, but ours (#1 I think) was spotless, stylish and very comfortable. Seriously one of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in and we loved the white, clean decor, strong air-con and fresh linens.

Tropical gardens were gorgeous and, above everything else, the proximity to the national park can't be beat for the bargain price.

Downsides would be the restaurant - food average at best, although the bar team were lovely. I also didn't like the fact that we had to send our credit card details by email to confirm a reservation - not safe or usual at all in this day and age. To be fair we could have done this by phone, but as we were backpacking and made a fairly last-minute booking we just went with email for ease. Would have rather used an online payment service for security, but haven't had any issues.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is literally 200 feet from Manuel Antonio Park entrance, and 300 feet the other direction from the beach (off of the main street). The price is one of the lowest in the area, and the location CANNOT BE BEAT. We arrived at night and there were ants all over the shower. This is probably a common problem since it's a tropical climate, and the bathroom window is only a screen. The bathroom was sprayed and problem resolved. There were two bars of soap, and no SHAMPOO. I asked the desk if this was an error, and he said that shampoo was not included. So, at least be aware of both good and bad before you book it. Priced fairly (comparable with some other smaller hotels in the area) and location is phenominal. No pool.

Room Tip: Some rooms had a porch, nice touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Athough we didn't stay here, we very much enjoyed our brief time in the Vela Bar, where we ate twice and enjoyed a few beers and wonderful Margaritas.
Exceptionally friendly staff and seriously good food.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great hotel, clean rooms, friendly environment. Great price, and close to the beach. There are nicer hotels in Manuel Antonio, but when you come here the room is for sleeping, not to hang out in, this is one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, and the water is amazingly warm, you spend all day in the park and in the water, this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vela Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vela Bar

Address: Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Beach hotel located in one of the most beautiful areas of Costa Rica, Manuel Antonio Beaches in Puntarenas Quepos, just 200 meters from the entrance to the most visited Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park, characterized by beautiful beaches, stunning National Park views, incredible sunsets, where you can admire a unique nature, few of his steps to admire the beauty of a troop of titi monkeys, or delight your ears with the murmur of the howler monkeys or the acrobatics of white face monkeys, in order flora and fauna within your reach in a natural setting. Come and enjoy it and remember Costa Rica is "PURA VIDA" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vela Bar Hotel
Hotel Vela Bar Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vela Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.