We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vela Bar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Vela Bar
Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Hermosa Beach, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location, average room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I had the cheapest room so maybe the other ones are better... but I thought ours looked "sad" and old and not super clean... we also had the feeling to sleep with the neighbors.
Internet did not work from our room and the restaurant was closed for low season.
The location though is perfect as it is right next to the park...
I just think that they could easily do better...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    30
    22
    14
    13
See reviews for
12
55
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We enjoyed staying at Vela Bar and ate at the restaurant often during our stay. From the street to our room on the top floor, we passed a true botanic garden. The room was OK: basic, but everything worked well. The owner/manager was very nice and helped with questions about visiting the park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Best location, walking distance from the beach and restaurants, good thing because if you stay up in the mountains you will need to catch the public bus or pay for parking if you find a spot. I visit them at least twice a year, the rooms are very clean and simple, I always bring friends with me and we all love the place. Good restaurant, front desk people are great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for four nights on our honeymoon last month and were very dispointed by Hotel Vela Bar if for no other reason than the unfriendly and some downright rude staff members. A female server in the restaurant could not be bothered to help get someone to check us in when we arrived, instead made a statement about us needing to wait (after waiting 10 minutes already) and then promptly went back to texting. This same person gave me nasty looks everytime I had the misfortune of seeing her throughout the week. The other staff members would simply ignore you until you asked them to acknowledge your presence. We spent as little time as possible in the hotel. The rooms themselves were fairly decent. Everything worked ok. The rooms were Somewhat clean but unattractive visually. Doesn't matter much, I don't go to Costa Rica for pretty hotel rooms. The location was quite nice and like others have said the breakfast at Costa Linda next door are pretty awesome. I would not stay at Hotel Vela Bar again. The only friendly things around there were the sweet little dogs.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My partner and I loved this hotel. The room we had was quite quirky and felt like a little cottage. There's lots of flowers and plants all around the rooms and we spotted quite a few different animals just outside our door. We also loved the two friendly dogs who live at the hotel-so cute!!

The location couldn't be better-only a few minutes to both the beach and the park entrance. Also, the hostel next door serves an amazing breakfast for just 2 dollars a plate.

The only tiny gripe I had was that you have to pay 3 dollars per day for the safe, but by Manuel Antonio standards this hotel is good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and will stay there again on my next visit. Close to the park and the beaches and lots of restaurants near the main strip as well. Didn't eat here though. Cheap breakfasts at the place next door for 2000 colones.

Down the road towards the park are lots of great places to eat as well.

Stayed in room 4 and it was quiet but not much hot water which I was used to by then so not a big deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We shared a huge lunch of a whole fried snapper with rice and veggies, a side of fries, large bowl of gazpacho and two beers, and it was very good. The server was very sweet, and the tab was $34US. Quiet spot in an area that is somewhat hectic. We did not stay in a room, but peaked at them and they looked fine (TripAdvisor doesn't offer a way to review the restaurant without reviewing the whole hotel.)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vela Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vela Bar

Address: Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Beach hotel located in one of the most beautiful areas of Costa Rica, Manuel Antonio Beaches in Puntarenas Quepos, just 200 meters from the entrance to the most visited Costa Rica Manuel Antonio National Park, characterized by beautiful beaches, stunning National Park views, incredible sunsets, where you can admire a unique nature, few of his steps to admire the beauty of a troop of titi monkeys, or delight your ears with the murmur of the howler monkeys or the acrobatics of white face monkeys, in order flora and fauna within your reach in a natural setting. Come and enjoy it and remember Costa Rica is "PURA VIDA" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vela Bar Hotel
Hotel Vela Bar Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vela Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Vela Bar to your Saves list