We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bachelor Party that Time Forgot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Rate on Bungalows!
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Bachelor Party that Time Forgot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We went with a group of 8 guys and I was skeptical that we were going to a romantic getaway and that we would be extremely out of place. Well, the trip and the villas blew me away. The staff was great and Mauricio had some great activities set up for us (Whitewater Rafting, Deep Sea Fishing, and Ziplining). The restaurants and nightlife in the area were great as well. If you go Javier will make you a damn good Pina Colada.

The location and the service were second to none. It was extremely easy to book, we used www.4tulemar.com and booked through Dave.

My one word of advice is to avoid gambling at all costs. We went to casinos 3 times and saw about 20-25 people lose EVERY SINGLE TIME THEY SAT DOWN AT THE TABLE. And not just lose, but get cleaned out in 10 minutes. They aren't playing with legit decks.

Wish I was still there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
Thanks for the great post.....I agree with you on everything.....Mauricio is amazing....Javier is the best beach bartender....the location and restaurants......the Green Coast Casa.....all wonderful AND stay away from the casinos.

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    975
    109
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
517
361
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

The service was amazing. Dave and Julian are one of a kind.

The location amazing too. In the middle of the jungle with van service that takes you up and down the private beach that it is only minutes a way walking.

Food and drinks at the beach could not better.

We were at one of the Bungalows and we had an ant bear slipping by the tree closed to our bungalow. What a treat.

The swimming pools with the edless design and amazing views of the Pacific coast are incredible too. I highly recommend this place

Miquel
Portland, OR

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
Thanks for your post....you are right....Julien is one of kind....our young man from France is a wonderful concierge.....fluent in English and Spanish (and French, of course!)....and we do have many sloths that live in Tulemar....you often see them sleeping in the trees right outside the Green Coast Bungalows!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We took 8 guys for a bachelor party at Tulemar. We rented 2 bungalows, which were amazing. The sleek contemporary and teek wood finishes really complemented the geography and natural materials of the area. The outside bathroom was awesome, and the view of the Pacific was great. The entire property evoked a sense of calm, relaxation, and blending of the rainforest. We booked with Dave, and he was a great guy. Mauricio was our conceirege, and he took care of everything(lost luggage, dinner reservations, off site excursions). Tulemar does not function like a big resort, but more like a neighborhood development. They have a small lodge, bungalows, and single family homes. Javier the beach bartender is amazing. The breakfast was good, but lunch was below average. The area restaurants in Manuel Antonio are good and easy to get to.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
For a group of 8 guys, your bachleor party was very well behaved and you were great guests! Mauricio felt like part of the group! Thanks for taking the time to post a review and we'll talk to the Lou/Paul at the beach restaurant about their lunches; sorry you were not pleased. We'll work on that one....
Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Stayed at adjacent Tulemar condos for a trip with some friends. Not only are the condos roomy and beautiful (with incredible views), but the service is out of this world (thank you Mauricio) and it is centrally-located for whatever you want to do -- great restaurants, bars, tour companies, etc. are all right outside the front gate. Quepos (for those seeking to step up the nightlife agenda) is just a 15-minute ride.

If you go, make sure you speak to Mauricio (the guy should run for Mayor) -- he'll get you setup for everything you want to do, help with dinner reservations (nobody says no to him), and generally make your vacation fantastic. I went to Tulemar with friends, but the place works just as well for couples. Make sure you book through Dave (www.4tulemar.com). Easy. Last thing: If you go, make sure Javier whips you up a Pina Colada at the Beach Bar. Frozen gold.

Pura Vida!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Everyone loves the Green Coast Casa that you stayed in....it's one of our most popular villas....great for 2-8 people.....the indoor and outdoor showers are very popular too! I agree, Mauricio should be Mayor of Manuel Antonio....no one says "no" to Mauricio and he seems to be able to do (or find) anything.....Javier, at the beach bar....gets SO many compliments on his drinks.....I wonder what he does to make them so special?? Thanks for taking the time to post....

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

This January 2011 my fiancée and I along with another couple ventured to Manuel Antonio to enjoy a fun, relaxing, memorable time in Costa Rica, a country the four of us had never been to before. Like many of you who are reading this review, you're trying to gather information on the best possible place to stay and really value someone else's personal experience on their adventures whether they had a pleasant one or a terrible one. And let me tell you, there is no better place to stay in all of the Manuel Antonio/Quepos area than the Tulemar Resort. I am confident that the reason the four of us had such a spectacular time in Costa Rica is because we chose to stay at the Tulemar Resort. In all honesty, it might be difficult for me to keep this review short and concise seeing that I can't simply put our vacation experience at Tulemar in a few short sentences. So I will just tell those of you who are interested in staying at Tulemar a couple of things about what I thought really made our trip as wonderful as it was.....

The Green Coast Casa in the Tulemar Resort: fabulous location - close to anything and everything you might need; fantastic, unmatched, breath-taking view of the Pacific Ocean with views of the rainforest; incredibly new and clean with tons of windows, lights, fans and air condition; daily maid service; fully stocked kitchen and linen closets with everything you need (towels, sheets, plates, pots, pans, drinking glasses, paper towels, cleaning supplies, etc); plenty of parking spots; a personal concierge; and even an indoor/outdoor shower with a view that will knock your socks off.

Julien, Our Personal Concierge: OUTSTANDING! And without a doubt, he was the icing on the cake for our overall vacation in Costa Rica. I had the pleasure of communicating with him on a number of occasions prior to our trip to ensure dinner reservations were made and to ask any questions I had regarding our trip prior to our arrival. He was professional, more than helpful, willing to go above and beyond, punctual, friendly and a very reliable resource. He made great restaurant recommendations and took the time to guarantee that the four of us were having the time of our lives! He is truly an asset to the Tulemar Resort and I hope he gets a raise after his boss reads this review! :)

Location: Tulemar was within walking distance to TONS of restaurants, bars, a nice grocery store, two ATMs, the beach, the rainforest, excursion companies, the new Quepos marina… I felt COMPLETELY safe in Tulemar for it is gated with 24 hour security.

The Staff: Dave, my original point of contact, was unbelievable. I booked our reservation directly with him through the www.4tulemar.com website. He knows the importance of customer service and was incredibly cooperative in assisting us with making our reservations at the resort . It appears he is the man that runs the show at Tulemar and he is willing to bend over backwards to make your trip the best one yet. Also, there were drivers to take us to and from the beach, staff to take care of our needs on the beach, waiters/bartenders to keep us happy and full while basking in the sun on the private beach, a guard at the entrance 24 hours a day, and plenty of landscapers to keep the place looking beautiful.

I realize I'm a little long winded with this review but I couldn't help raving and complimenting this particular resort. I say this with sincerity, but our trip was unbelievable, unreal and unforgettable thanks to our stay at Tulemar. I really hope after reading this, those of you who were uncertain of where to stay when visiting the Manuel Antonio area, you are now booking your accommodations with Tulemar. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Wow....we are so flattered....thank you SO much for all of the wonderful remarks.....yes...the Green Coast CASA is a great villa....one of our most popular too....and Julien....you've said it all....yes...Julien deserves a nice raise and he will be rewarded! Hope to see all of you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

My family and I just recently returned from a weeklong stay at Tulemar in Casa Las Nubes. Everything about the villa and the vacation as a whole was excellent. First off, the villa was spectacular. The main living area, marked by the infinity pool separating the dining area and living room was architecturally breathtaking. Furthermore, all of the bedrooms, were beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. This was our first villa vacation as a family and having this additional space was definitely a luxury.

The grounds all around the resort are spectacular. In fact, we enjoyed walking around the resort more than the national park! If you visit Tulemar, make sure you walk down the North Beach Trail. There are definitely some beautiful picture-worthy vistas!

Additionally, we truly enjoyed the service we received from everyone at Tulemar! The beach cafe staff were particularly great.

Lastly, our stay wouldn't have been so great if it were not for Diego and Chef Chris! Diego, our concierge, and Chef Chris are a great team and were there whenever we needed them. Diego planned all of our activities and Chef Chris planned amazing meals for us. You have to have at least one meal with Chris!

One more point I would like to make about Tulemar is its proximity to area restaurants in Manuel Antonio. Unlike other resorts we have stayed at where you have to take a taxi if you wanted to eat off property, at Tulemar, we could walk to area restaurants. We throughly enjoyed this. Furthermore, we found the food in Manuel Antonio to be some of the best food we have encountered in any tourist area we have been to.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Yes, Casa Las Nubes is one of our premier, private villas in Tulemar; very unique with the swimming pool running right thru the middle of the villa! Thanks for all of your wonderful comments about the staff, the resort and Manuel Antonio. We look forward to having your family with us again.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Went with a group of friends for a celebratory time and we stumbled upon this place prior to going and decided it looked nice and had good reviews. Was greatly impressed with the place itself and the fantastic views of the water and countryside. The service and people at Tulemar, especially Mauricio Jara, our concierge. We ate at the best restaurants only a few feet from the entrance to Tulemar, ie Agua Azul and El Patio...something.

The private beach was quaint and secluded. Free snorkel and kayak rentals. Great bar services for those that enjoy that and since the trip back up and down the beach is steep, free shuttle. Service was worth the price at this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Thanks for booking two of our Buena Vista Villas for your group.....we were happy to have you with us.....you and your friends were a lot of fun and Mauricio enjoyed serving you.....as did the staff at the beach bar! Hope to see you on another stay....
Dave Houck
Tulemar Vacation Home Rentals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows, Buena Vista Villas and privately owned villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes and Villa Kiskadee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tulemar Bungalows & Villas to your Saves list