We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back to Tulemar!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Save
You added Tulemar Bungalows & Villas to your Saves list
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tulemar Mini Suites-$220!
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back to Tulemar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

What can I say, I LOVED staying at Tulemar.

My friend and I stayed at Tulemar over Christmas break and had an amazing time.
I think the best part of my experience had to be the attention and service I received from the staff. Our room was a bit "dated" but other than that - perfection. The private beach, food and overall atmosphere sold me on coming back next Christmas break!

My friend and I were taken care of by Julian and Dave. They were knowledgable of the area and had amazing suggestions as to what to do and where to go. They paid attention to detail and even remembered it was my birthday and surprised me with a bottle of Champaign to celebrate!

Overall my experience was a positive one even during the high-toursit season. Oh, and the animal watching is amazing as well. The property is home to different types of monkeys, sloths (saw one right outside my window) and beautiful birds. Yet another reason to stay at the resort!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Thanks for the review and for being our guests! The holidays are very busy in Manuel Antonio but also a lot of fun! Julien and I are looking forward to seeing you two next year!
Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    116
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
595
396
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

My wife and I recently returned from a FANTASTIC Honeymoon in Costa Rica, which included 4 absolutely amazing nights at Casa Panorama North in Tulemar! We had done some research when planning our perfect getaway, and although the upstairs 2-bedroom portion of Casa Panorama was much more space than we needed, we just couldn't pass it up!

Chris met us at the gate into Tulemar within minutes and escorted us to our new home for the next 4 nights. It was absolutely breathtaking, and the photos on the website don't really do this place justice! The upstairs included a beautifully decorated open floorplan including the living room complete with big-screen LCD TV, DVD Player, Surround Sound, an assortment of DVDs, a lovely sectional sofa and a small table and chairs. Also on this floor was an immaculate full kitchen, stocked with ANYTHING you might need to prepare a meal. Chris and Diego had an awesome welcome gift of a huge tray of fresh fruit (bananas, watermelon, papaya, grapefruit), a bag of excellent local coffee, and a gorgeous vase of fresh flowers waiting on the island in the kitchen for us. The upper floor also includes a HUGE deck, complete with lounge chairs, a gas grill, and a large dining set with settings for at least 6 people. The views of the ocean and mountains from this level were incredible!

The lower floor included the master bedroom with King size bed, a 2nd bedroom with 2 full size beds, 2 bathrooms and the washer/dryer. This level also features an equally HUGE deck with a jacuzzi!

We spent every evening sitting on our deck watching the most beautiful sunsets we've ever seen, and woke every morning to the sound of howler monkeys in the distance. The crazy little white-faced monkeys were not so "distant". In fact, they visited us EVERY morning on our deck as we ate breakfast and enjoyed our coffee. What a treat to eat breakfast surrounded by a dozen monkeys! My wife was in heaven watching them goof around and leap from the trees onto our balcony, as well as look in our kitchen window as we brewed our morning cup! Various beautiful birds also seemed to always be just outside the windows, including a few varieties of Toucans. The experience was just amazing, and something neither of us will NEVER forget!

The location of Tulemar between Quepos and Manuel Antonio can't be beat, and Chris was phenomenal at meeting any needs we had! He booked our dinner reservations, offered to take us for groceries, drove us wherever we needed to go (when we didn't feel like driving ourselves!), booked a couples massage for us (probably the BEST massage either of us ever had), and was generally just a great guy! We really felt like we got to know him, and will actually miss talking to him! It was truly like having our own personal concierge for our entire stay. Our only regret is that we didn't have time to have Chris prepare us one of his signature meals in our home. This man LOVES all things food related, and rumor has it is an outstanding chef! Next time Chris! He even bought us a "going-away" souvenir! Top-notch customer service doesn't even descibe him enough!

Everything about Casa Panorama was absolutely perfect. The quiet private beach was straight out of a magazine, the little beach bar/restaurant served up awesome drinks compliments of Javier, the charismatic bartender (this bar is also frequently visited by spider Monkeys!). Umbrellas, towels, snorkeling gear, kayaks, etc. were all available free of charge. The views of the Pacific as well as the mountains were unbelievable, and EVERYONE we met while there was happy, friendly, and eager to assist with anything!

This really was a remarkable stay that my wife and I will cherish forever! Hopefully we can make it back to Costa Rica and the magical Casa Panorama some day in the future! Until then, we'll remember fondly our time there, our new friend Chris, and of course.....the monkeys! I HIGHLY recommend Casa Panorama and Tulemar to anyone looking for their own personal Paradise! You won;t regret it! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful and detailed review; we should use it as the official description of the villa! Yes, Casa Panorama Upper will sleep 6-8 guests, but we often have just one couple enjoy the whole villa. It is one the best values in Tulemar with one of the top views! We agree with your remarks about Chris and Diego too. Thanks again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

We walked into our Green Coast Casa near Manuel Antonio Park and were absolutely blown away by the gorgeous view of the rainforest and the beach cove below. The 2 wrap around terraces one with a hot tub provided for relaxing, eating and lots of fun. The rooms were spectacular and furnished with everything you could want. The pools, the beach, the monkeys, etc. only added to the fabulous ambience. The concierge services were outstanding. They made arrangements for tours, restaurant reservations and were only too happy to help. We booked our Green Coast Casa through Dave at www.4tulemar.com

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, December 24, 2010
Thanks for the great comments.....Green Coast Casa does have everything......style/ambiance/decor and amazing oceanviews.....plus the services of Mauricio (Costa Rican) and Julien (from France)....a very international team! We hope to see you on another trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

We cut short our trip at Monteverde and arrived MA a day earlier. The staff (specially Chris= Diegos assisstant) was very helpful and gave us the Mot Mot a day earlier. I had booked at Villa Mot Mot lower level. It was a gorgeous room with beautiful views but unfortunately it was located steep down .from the parking area. I have a bad leg and was having trouble climbing up and down. We requested Chris to give us another room closer to the parking area, Being that it was a Sunday and Diego was not available, Chris suggessted that we stay one night there and . they will try to move us next day. Sure enough, the next morning Diego upgraded us to the Panorama . This was one bedroom suite with excellent views. We were impressed by their hospitality and concern for our comfort. Had Diego not changed our room we would have ruined this leg of our trip. I cannot thank enough Diego and Chris for taking such good care. Their hospatality does not end here. On the last day, my husband locked his car key in the car. We called Diego from the roadside and he sent a locksmith with 10 minutes who helped us out..Staying in Tulemar was an excellent experience. We saw monkeys, Iguanas and also a sloth on the property. There beach though small is very nice and excluded. The are lot of choices for food around town, LOVE MA

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Thanks for such a wonderful review! Villa Mot Mot and Casa Panorama are both great villas and we're glad you were able to experiece each one. Chris and Diego are the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

You seriously cannot go wrong staying at Tulemar!!! The beach is great with kayaks, snorkeling, boogie boards, waves, and towel service. You can get drinks/food on the beach (but it is a bit pricey).... highly recommend the passion fruit margarita! The sunsets are beautiful! We stayed in the lower level of Casa Panorama. It was everything we hoped for! The views are incredible... it's called panorama for a reason! The accomodations are perfect for 2 people- comfy bed, nice kitchen/bath, great deck! Diego and Chris are very nice and helpful... they really want you to enjoy your time there... which is very easy to do! We saw so many birds while eating breakfast on our deck. We also spotted a few sloths. There are plenty of monkeys... especially squirrel monkeys which are so fun to watch! Plenty of dining option nearby (Cafe Milagro is perfect for breakfast and lunch) and close to the national park. Highly, highly recommend staying here!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
Thanks for the wonderful review on Tulemar and Casa Panorama! Yes, Panorama Lower is great for a couple (and even a family of 3). Everyone loves the terrace and ocean views. Chris and Diego appreciate your remarks as well. Tulemar is a wonderful resort with it's own beach and great hiking trails thru the jungle. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

We stayed in the upper level of Mot Mot for one week. The villa itself was extraordinary with fantastic views. The property is extremely lush with lots of wildlife (We saw titis, toucans, sloths,iguanas and capuchins from our balconey) The beach is great--we went snorkeling and kayaking and the javier would make great drinks when we were done. Everyone was extremely attentive (from the maids to the drivers to Chris) and service was out of this world.

I cannot say enough good things about Mot Mot and especially Chris Madrigal. He took care of all of needs and we are truly so glad to have met him--he definitely made our fabulous vacation something that we will always remember with his service. You must have a meal done by him. He is truly a chef. We kept saying we wanted something small, but he ended up doing guacamole, pico de gallo, ceviche, potato rosettes, snook with a butter/shrimp sauce, snook with a herb/garlic sauce and snook with a spicy chocolate/almost mole sauce. We also had flambe as a dessert and 3 specialty drinks. One with coconut and rum, one with mirtle and one with passion fruit. Every aspect of the dinner was superb. It was by far the best meal we had in Costa Rica and in all honesty this entire year. (and we like to eat)

Only thing to keep in mind is the property is big and you will have to walk some up hill at some point. There are lots of helpful drivers to take you to the beach/the front. Just ask how long the wait is.(Obviously around dinnertime it might be longer) It can vary, but look around when you wait--we saw lots of sloths and wildlife we would have missed!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

From the minute we booked the hotel we were taken care of. They helped arrange a private van from the San Jose right to the door of the villa. Helped us make food arrangements, organize leisure events like jet-skiing, surfing, and massages. The place itself had good internet, amenities, two outdoor showers where you could shower and see the ocean, and plenty of room to lounge around. We spent hours out on the balcony looking at the view, on our computers, and having cocktails. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
We are so glad you enjoyed Green Coast Casa! Julien really enjoyed serving your group and arranging all of your activitites. Thanks for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows, Buena Vista Villas and privately owned villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes and Villa Kiskadee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.