We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part of our entire trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Save
You added Tulemar Bungalows & Villas to your Saves list
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tulemar Mini Suites-$220!
Orange County, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best part of our entire trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed at Tulemar in an upper Villa Mot Mot for 4 days in late July 2010. It was by far the best part of our entire trip. The bungalows were perfect for our family of 4 (two kids, ages 6 and 9). We loved being greeted each morning by white-faced and spider monkeys. The grounds were beautiful, too, and we were able to see sloths, toucans, and other wildlife while there. It was such a special place. We loved, loved, loved the beach. The waves were just right for my younger children but were big enough for us adults as well. The hotel provided boogey boards, chairs, and towels plus had food and drink service at the beach as well. It was so relaxing and fun. The shuttle was prompt and the people courteous. Our villa was near the infinity pool which we enjoyed quick dips in each afternoon. Diego greeted us the first night, helped us get settled in, even getting us pizza delivered in the rain so we wouldn't have to go out. He also helped with our pre-trip planning and arranged a very reasonable tour of the national park. Christopher took us a tour of the grounds, answered our many questions, and helped with every detail. They helped make the trip run smoothly and were always available to help out. The villa was clean, the kitchen was well-stocked, the balcony and hammock were such fun, and the view was amazing. The national park was also close by so we enjoyed a morning tour there as well (though next time I would ask for a different, more experienced guide). We also enjoyed a few restaurants near the hotel and felt we were close enough to conveniences but it didn't feel crowded. I cannot say enough about this hotel and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    116
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
595
394
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Tulemar is the best place to stay in Manuel Antonio, no doubt about it. The place is very private and quiet. We stayed in one of the Green Coast Bungalows which is an excellent choice for 2 adults. The bedroom has 2 double beds so you can stay there with kids if you want. The sofa in the living room may be Ok to accommodate a young child, but it is not comfortable for a bigger person. The kitchen is perfect to prepare breakfast but don’t count on cooking a real meal. There are many restaurants with a great view and prices are fine. Raphael’s Tarrazas is great as is Aqua Azul.
The wild life in the resort is amazing. Monkeys come to your windows in the morning and you can spot them running all over the place. They are cute! The resort has its own private beach. You can either walk or drive down to the beach. There is a café that serves breakfast and lunch, chairs and towels, kayaks and buggy boards. The waves are huge!!! It’s better to have your own car and drive to the beach, the walk back to your bungalow is a hike. Don’t miss the Manual Antonio National Park their beaches are just like paradise. Go on a tour with a guide, they will show you all kinds of animals that you will never find on your own.
You have a few stores to buy food if needed; Joseph in Manuel Antonio is good. You can also drive down to Quepos to the super market and a French bakery. There is a fresh market on Saturday just by the beach.
MAURICIO is in charge of some of the properties in Tulemar and he has an answer to all your questions, same for Dave in the main office. They make you feel at home in Tulemar. This place is worth every penny you pay for it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

the location and the views were wonderful but the service was not what i was expecting. The staff seemed irritated everytime that we had a question or a request. The shuttle pick up at the beach was very long and unfriendly. The beach provided water and sand toys and they were in very poor conditions. They only had 6 broken up boogie boards and the sand toys were so old and un usable that the children chose to not use them at all.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Our family of five children ages 11,11, & 15 stayed at Villa Mot Mot 's upper level for 3 nights in July 25-28th and stayed 1 night in Casa Panorama's lower level villa. Our stay at Mot Mot was the best! The room is not only complete with everything we needed (it even has a wine cooler) it's terrace was awesome with the perfect view of the ocean and Tulemar's jungle. The capuchin and squirrel monkies came to visit us 2/3 night though they were present throughout Tulemar's grounds. The sloth who seems to live on the tree in front of the balcony came daily. Managers Diego and Chris checked with us daily to determine our needs. Chris prepared an awesome surprise dinner for our twins birthday and even substituted reg candles and flambe the chocolate cake instead! The food just kept coming throughout the night and everything was delicious! Grilled Snook with rosette potatoes was incredible! Not only is Chris a great cook, he is a super nice guy and could recommend restaurants and activities in the area for our budget needs. The entire Tulermar condominium staff were wonderful to us. The room was utterly perfect! The private beach was great esp the boogie boards and kayaks readily available. The maids cleaned our rooms daily and washed all our dishes. Everyone we met there was so nice that we are already planning on coming back and staying longer. . We hiked of the property beach trails and saw more wildlife on the North trail though the small waterfall on the South trail was nice. We enjoyed taking a short bus ride to MA park and glad we did not hire a quide. We were able to avoid the super large crowds by setting our own pace. We loved the town of Quepos esp when they have soccer games in the afternoons. We ate at Soda Sanchez for typical CR food and the 2 Nicaraguan women were attentive unlike the waitress at Sasipuedes next door . Sasip. was not worth it. Dos Locos restaurant had tasty chicken quesadillas and good service. We shopped at Pali (mercado)and the fruit /produce stand next door to it. We visited the nice beach town of Matapalo and checked out the surfer's beach town of Dominical. The new highway was really nice. We will stay longer next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Definitely would return! My family with two young adults (19,21) was there for a week and all I have is wonderful things to say. The place and location is perfect. The bungalow is perfect with views every which way you look. Monkeys and Tucans were outside our windows. Mauricio and Dave at the front desk were outstanding and very helpful. Grocery store just down the street and many places to go in walking distance. TV reception was okay and with english speaking channels. Taking books or games for the evening might be of benefit in case you get tired of watching TV. Pool and beach is beautiful with great views. At the beach there is a bar and eatery. You can also use the paddle boats and boogie boards for no charge.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010 via mobile

Rooms are great we have a villa with out a porch 360 degree views. Including amazing view of ocean. Concierge helpful and available. Private beach is beautiful. Great restaurants nearby (agua azul mmmm). Monkeys and sloth all around close to the national park. Best guide around is a guy named Mop ask for him by name, gifted animal spotter.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Tulemar is fantastic, and I highly recommend it. Dave, the owner, was friendly and helpful from day one. He even lent me money a few times when I ran out of cash. Mauricio made all of our tour reservations, and was available at all time to help or answer questions. The bungalows are spacious with GORGEOUS views--we even saw monkeys playing in the trees outside our window. Tulemar has its own private beach, to which you can walk or take a shuttle, and they have boogie boards and other water equipment available. Manuel Antonio is easy to get around, and you can take a bus or a cab anywhere you need to go. I highly recommend Tulemar, and Manuel Antonio in general. Have a great trip!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows, Buena Vista Villas and privately owned villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes and Villa Kiskadee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.