We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuff of dreams” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Rate on Bungalows!
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Stuff of dreams”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2006

I hate to do this because I'd rather keep it a secret but Tulemar is the place to stay in Manuel Antonio. From the moment I walked into the room my jaw fell. A gorgeous modern bungalow / villa with almost 360 degree wraparound picture windows (sparing the bathroom) and a huge wraparound terrace(not every room has the terrace). Sleek modern look inside with granite countertop open kitchen (even an icemaker in the room). Situated in their own private huge jungle property with ocean front. I even saw a monkey in a coconut tree down by their beach. And of course tons of coatis, raccoons and iguanas. The beach is quite nice though nothing compared to the one in the national park but for an early morning/late afternoon or on Mondays (when the park is closed) it gives you a beach option. What more could you ask? Well, OK, just one thing I would have liked would have been a good restaurant. The setting for the restaurant was gorgeous but the food was ranging from subpar to not passable (even the breakfast). No worries - there's plenty of good restaurants a short walk from the entrance and many more a short drive away.

As for other places in the area - Si Como No looked great - very family resort style with bar in the pool and all that if that's your thing - it's still pretty jungly but more manipulated in my opinion. The rooms looked more like regular hotel rooms. The breakfast was far better and I ate there twice (even though I had breakfast included at Tulemar - yes the breakfast at Tulemar was really that bad). Makanda by the sea I went to look at in the late morning and hoped to have breakfast there - no dice, the security guard has real attitude - does not let anyone in without a reservation and noone for breakfast. Mariposa has a great restaurant for haute cuisine dining.

  • Liked — Luxury in a jungle
  • Disliked — food
  • Tips/Secrets — dine elsewhere
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    974
    109
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
516
361
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2006

We were getting tired of driving and couldn't find Trip Advisor's #1 pick for this area, so found this place and was able to negotiate a discount off the room rates for the two nights we stayed. We ended up in a bungalow with a nice sitting area and separate bedroom with 2 double beds. Gorgeous views from both rooms and the bungalow was very clean. The bathroom was a little dark and we saw a few cockroaches, but we kind of expected them in Costa Rica. The shower wasn't that nice. The grout was molding and just not what I would have expected with everything else there being so nice.

Anyway, spent our first day there on their private beach. All of the kayaks were already out with other folks but had a nice swim. Beach wasn't big enough to walk much and one lady must have walked back and forth in front of us 20 times. The beach is staffed and you can order food/drinks there and charge them to your room.

Breakfast is very nice and was included in our room price. We had dinner there the first night and the only two things we ordered, they didn't have. We ended up with sushi (terrible) and mahi mahi (pretty good). Had drinks there the next afternoon and they didn't have the right juices to make all of the drinks on their menu. Anyway, we were able to make substitutions but it was odd they wouldn't maintain a kitchen/bar inventory to cover their menu. Choose another place to eat dinner that evening.

All in all, we had a nice time at Tulemar. Wouldn't say it was amazing, but would say it was good.

  • Liked — The views from the rooms
  • Disliked — Food
  • Tips/Secrets — Try and negotiate for discounts off room rates - we got 20% off our room
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2006

We spent the first five days of our honeymoon at the Tulemar Bungalows and it was even better then we could have imagined. The view from our bungalow was amazing - it was the end of the rainy season and we had some amazing sunsets to admire. The staff was helpful from the moment we checked in until we left. They booked our canopy tour (we highly recommend this) and insane ATV adventure without any problems. They also recommended some great local restaurants when we wanted to go out to eat.

If you go to the national park, don't take the tour, just walk around on your own, you can eavesdrop on someone else's tour if they are looking at something interesting but it's not worth getting stuck with a guide for hours.

The restaurant at Tulemar was good, we had read that it wasn't the best, but it was fine with us and it was so nice to be recognized every day by the wait staff.

The private beach is so relaxing - never thought we would share and entire beach with only two iguanas and a bar tender!

What a way to start off our life together.

  • Tips/Secrets — If you are on your honeymoon, pay for the honeymoon package the massage was a great bonus!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2006

My family very much enjoyed staying at Tulemar Bungalows. I made the unfortunate decision in my planning of staying at two properties. We moved to La Maraposa and I kicked myself for doing so. Tulemar's staff are more friendly, the area more peaceful and the accommodations far superior.
We will be back

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2006

The exclusive beach is beautiful as always and my family and I enjoyed its tranquility and amazing view it offered.
This was my 5th trip to Manuel Antonio and Tulemar Bungalows offers the most spectacular view of any of the hotels in the area.
We have traveled all around and have seen several options but they have our heart, it is just like going back home.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

There are not enough words to describe Tulemar’s magnificent experience.
Everything was beyond any expectation: the private beach, the unbelievable views from the bungalow and restaurant, the helpful and kind staff…so many things that gathered gave me the satisfaction of choosing the right place to spend my very little and precious vacation time.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay as long as possible
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2006

Wonderful accommodation. Very romantic and peaceful. There was some noise due to construction in the area but overall it was heaven on earth. We stayed for 5 nights in "Mot Mot" 2nd floor. It had the most amazing balcony with spectacular views. The lower floor is nothing like the top so spend the extra dollars. The staff were super friendly and the restaraunt had great free breakfast. The beach here is one of the best in the area and not crowded. We loved every minute

  • Liked — Definately the view from the porch
  • Disliked — ants
  • Tips/Secrets — rent a car, rent the top floor of this bungalow
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows, Buena Vista Villas and privately owned villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes and Villa Kiskadee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tulemar Bungalows & Villas to your Saves list