We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Save Saved
You added Tulemar Bungalows & Villas to your Saves list
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bungalows-1 Night Free!
Fishkill, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family and I stayed in Cass Miracle upper for a week starting August17th. What can I say but incredible. The villa was beautiful and clean with an incredible view. When we arrived we saw a sloth and her baby in a tree by the pool restaurant. We also saw monkeys near the private beach, so cool. Our concierge's Al, Jonathan, &Diego were all incredible. So helpful and kind. Vanessa also did a great job setting things up through emails. We enjoyed many activities and also relaxed during our stay. The restaurants both on site and around town were great. Our two favorites were cafe milagro and Rafaels Terrazas, Freddy was the best waiter ever! We will definitely make our way back to tulemar in the future. A beautiful place with kind warm people.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi jennyc0221......thanks for the wonderful review on your stay in Casa Mirador in Tulemar.....one of our two bedroom villas......it has such an incredible panoramic ocean view......that you'll be tempting to just spend your days and evenings relaxing on the huge balcony taking in the sights.....really.....thanks for your kind words on Team Diego too.....your personal concierge team......they work together to make sure all of their guests get the "pura vida" treatment......so glad to hear that you got to see so much wildlife in Tulemar as well....with 33 acres.....there is lots of room to roam.....all three types of monkeys....both types of sloths.....exotic birds and reptiles......it's like you're staying in the jungle.....lol....thanks for booking with us at tulemar.com....the only place you can book Casa Mirador.....hope to see you back soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    114
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
572
376
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My family of 4 just returned from an amazing week in Costa Rica! Our 2nd half of the trip was in Tulemar, in one of the ocean view bungalows. The service was amazing, from the time we made the reservation to the time we departed. Our personal assistant Chris sent emails on preparing for our vacation, and ideas on things to do. He even sent directions for our drive from Arenal to Manuel Antonio, and gave us a personal tour of Tulemar when we arrived. He set up excursions, made our reservations, and was always available. The grounds and private beach were amazing! Plenty of wildlife, pools, and shuttles to help with the steep hills. Loved everything about our stay- the view, the free kayaks and boogie boards, large Villas, location, service! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi Jkcbreak.....wow....thanks for the wonderful review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows and on Chris.....your personal concierge.......Chris really is amazing......he works so hard every day.....making sure each of his guests have the best time.....not only in Tulemar.....but wherever they travel in Costa Rica.....he's happy to help....to make their entire trip enjoyable and easy.....thanks for your comments on the resort too......the Tulemar Beach is just what you would expect (or hope for)......a tropical cove.....where the jungle meets the ocean.....shady palm trees......sandy beach.....warm waters......free lounge chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, boogie boards, towel service.....and food/beverages that you just sign to the room.....thanks for booking with us directly at tulemar.com and we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were traveling in June with our family and there were 7 of us ranging in ages from 6-72. Of course, we expected Tulemar to be nice, but I was afraid that it would be to too touristy and not have that Costa Rican feel to it. We had been to the private beach there before for a friends wedding, and knew that it was spectacular. Wow! Immediately when we arrived we saw a sloth and a howler monkey in a tree right outside of our Casa. The property is so lush and beautiful. The next morning, our balcony became the monkey highway and we saw 3 types of monkeys on our porch and we were still in our PJ's! The best part of Tulemar for us was our concierge, Bryan. I have always raved about how friendly the Ticos are, and Bryan was by far the BEST! He was always available, answered all of our questions and truly made us feel at home and completely welcomed. He recommended an incredible tour through Quepos canyoning...once in a lifetime experiences! My 6 yr old daughter truly enjoyed the adventure that she experienced with her 70 and 72yr old grandparents. Did I mention the private cove? Kayaks, boogie boards, fresh fruit smoothies that tasted like the nectar of the Gods, jungle that comes right up to the beach, sloths just hanging out...a little slice of paradise. One morning we even had the priviledge of seeing the rare Blue Morpho butterfly - not something I would have ever expected to see in that area. The wildlife, for us, was off the charts, but the best part of Tulemar were the friendly people, hospitality, and wonderful service. Thank you Bryan for making this family vacation one to remember!!! You are world class!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi AnnL05307....thanks for the wonderful review on your stay in one of our 2 bedroom premium villas.....we loved having your family with us.....and thank you for all of the great comments on Tulemar.....the wildlife (all three types of monkeys, both types of sloths, exotic birds and reptiles and an occasional blue morpho butterfly!)......the Tulemar Beach....and on Brian.....your personal concierge....and one of Tulemar Stars......Brian has been with us a long time and knows the best tours/guides/activities in the area.....plus the best restaurants.....and he seems to know just what our guests will enjoy.....thank you so much for booking with us directly and we hope to have you back with us again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family and I had a fantastic time at Tulemar. The bungalow where we stayed was better than the pictures show on the website and the views from the deck were amazing. The staff was great from beginning to the end. We booked the trip through Dave and was immediately contacted by Chris our concierge. I have to say that it was Chris who made the trip special. From all of the pre arrival emails, staying late to meet us upon arrival, checking with us everyday to see if we needed to book any activities or reservations and even calling us to let us know of wildlife climbing around the trees. The restaurants that were recommended by Tulemar were all within walking distance and had great food and atmosphere. My family will definitely stay at Tulemar again and I highly recommend everybody staying their.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi Bob A......thanks for the fantastic review on your stay in one of our two bedroom premium villas.....so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.....and thanks for the kind words on your personal concierge.....Chris.....he really can make your stay so easy....even more enjoyable....and so very special.....handling all the details....while you relax and have fun.....thank you so much for booking with me directly at tulemar.com and we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We arrived at Tulemar and were greeted by our personal concierge, Chris, who explained everything and was available continuously throughout our stay. He was so fantastic we can't say enough nice things about him. He was even available on his day off! The Villa was beautiful and clean and modern with all modern conveniences as well. The beach had free use of boogie boards, kayaks, etc. and a bar/outdoor dining area. The food at their poolside restaurant was really great (I loved the seafood soup) as were the meals we had at the local restaurants. It was really nice to go out for a day excursion and then to be able to walk to a variety of restaurants all within the equivalent of a four city block radius. There are also nearby supermarkets if you want to eat some meals in your villa. Tulemar offers a variety of excursions to choose from such as white water rafting, zip lining, wildlife hikes/rides, evening mangrove boat tours, and more. They are all outside tour companies that Tulemar has experience with. The tour companies have enthusiastic bilingual guides as well as a photographer who takes photos and some take videos during your expeditions. They then sell you a disc with the pictures/videos for anywhere from $40 to $60. Initially this felt like a scam but in reality, even if you have a waterproof camera or GoPro, the photographer gets pictures from a different vantage point and you get to enjoy the adventure. Our son used his GoPro and we were glad we bought the picture discs as well so we could have pictures of all of us and they were really high resolution photos. We waited years until our kids were old enough to go on a trip like this and it was a fantastic trip! We will definitely return to Tulemar (and Chris) in the future.

Room Tip: We were up at the top of the hill in a villa with a fantastic view. It seemed a bit close to the of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi Yvette N....thanks for the wonderful review on your stay in Villa Cielito in Tulemar.....one of our 2 bedroom premium villas.....yes....this villa has one of the best panoramic ocean views of all the 2 bedroom villas.....just spectacular......plus it is convenient to the front gates.....easy to walk to so many restaurants.....or the grocery store.....or ATM's......plus you get the personal concierge services of Chris......one of our Tulemar stars......so many people rave about Chris....and now you know why......he works so hard to make sure everyone has a great trip.....and he always has a surprise or two for his guests.....plus he knows the best tours/activities/guides in the area.......thank you so much for booking with us at tulemar.com.....the only place to book Villa Cielito.....(and Chris!)......we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Our family had a wonderful time at Tulemar. From the easy pre-arrival emails on what to do to the warm brownies delivered to our bungalow, it was great. Private beach, monkeys, butterflies guaranteed.

Room Tip: Stay away from Bungalow 117 - right by the road and the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Hi Hilary E....thank you so much for the review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows.....so glad to hear that you had a great time in Tulemar......and thanks for your comments on Ashley.....your personal concierge......our personal concierge team really does make a big difference in your stay......from helping to arrange your transportation to the Manuel Antonio area.....to suggestions on tours/activities......dining options......help to solve problems like lost luggage or no sun block......maybe just someone you can trust to answer a question.....they can do it all....at no additional cost......it's all part of our service at Tulemar.......thank you so much for booking with us directly on our web site here and we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The private concierge Michael was very helpful and a great idea. He is always there to help you plan trips and rings to check up your ok.
Amazing contemporary 2 storey bungalows. So stylish.
Only criticism would be the restaurant was not impressive and pools too. But the food was good.
Only about 10 minutes from Manuel Antonio Park.
The whale trip was too big for my liking. We were told we would be on a catamaran. Didn't realise it was a huge boat with 85 people on board. It wasn't the yacht style catamaran I was expecting.
Would definitely stay again and but would go to marina and hire a smaller boat which wouldn't gave cost much more (4 in party). Iguana Tour company highly recommended for tours.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
HI concepta747......thanks for posting the review on your stay in one of our Two Bedroom Premium Villas.....so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us......and thanks for your comments on Michael....he is one of our newer concierges and already a guest favorite......I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy the catamaran tour.....but as you mentioned.....there are many different options available.....from very small to the very large.....we book them all...I apologize that Michael didn't understand what you were looking for......your comments about the pools and restaurant leads me to believe that that you were booked into Tulemar by a travel agent.....often times they've never been to Tulemar and don't really understand what we are all about.....we're not one of those resorts with the huge pools and music thumping and all you can eat buffets......we're a residential resort....with individual and unique accommodations......lots of wildlife all around......hiking trails......the Tulemar Beach.....4 resort pools (including one adult only)....and our restaurant....with one of the most amazing ocean views around....the resort is quiet and relaxing......you can check it out in detail on our web site at tulemar.com......and we'd love to have you back again....thanks for staying with us!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows, Buena Vista Villas and privately owned villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes and Villa Kiskadee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;