We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property with wonderful hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Save
You added Tulemar Bungalows & Villas to your Saves list
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Mini Suites - From $175!
Colbert, Washington
1 review
“Great property with wonderful hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Family of eight really enjoyed ourselves. Were set up with fantastic tours, the beach is beautiful, someone was available 24 hrs a day to help with any question.

We would love to return someday in the future to enjoy the incredible weather!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
HI TerryZig.....thanks for the excellent review on your stay with us in Tulemar.....glad that you enjoyed our choice of tours and excursions for your family.......we've been here long enough to know the best local guides and operators.......and I agree.....the weather is the best......warm and sunny year round.....(even thru our rainy season we get lots of sunshine)......shorts, polo shirts and flip flops.....that's my wardrobe.....hope to see you back again soon and thanks for the review!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,239
    116
    29
    13
    5
See reviews for
665
438
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The location, rooms, view and beach are all among the best that I've seen, but it is the service that really puts the Tulemar experience over the top.
From the concierge, to the beach staff, to the property manager, the staff were all warm, friendly, and helpful from the moment we booked, making sure that we received high quality service and attention leading up to and during our entire stay. Tulemar felt like a true vacation-relaxing, easy, enjoyable, great service, and worlds away from reality.

Diego, Vanessa, Bill, Al, David, Daniella, and all of the Tulemar staff were attentive to details large and small, making every effort to be sure that we experienced Costa Rica's finest local flavor, including the best tour guides, personal service at the Tulemar beach, and assistance making reservations for meals and transportation. They were knowledgeable when suggesting restaurants and activities. Thanks to the kind hospitality from Tulemar, we saw, ate, and experienced the best of Manuel Antonio.

Other reviews have covered the facilities pretty extensively so here are Favorites, Tips & Things to Consider:

1. Tulemar Beach-not to be missed, we went nearly every day to swim, read, and/or watch the sunset. Friendly staff, umbrellas, towels, kayaks, delicious lunch (fish tacos!) and drinks.
2. North Trail-on the Tulemar property and worth checking out. We took the trail a few times and saw monkeys, butterflies, and other animals, not to mention, a beautiful view overlooking the beach. Not a rigorous hike, we even did it one day in flip-flops on the way to the beach (better to wear walking shoes though).
3.Drinks from Daniella at the Tulemar Cafe bar-best in all of Manuel Antonio, especially the frozen margaritas. Happy hour specials from 4-6pm, complete with a view of the sunset.
4. Quepos farmers market-small and lovely and worth checking out, especially on a Saturday (a good suggestion from Diego). One could even pick up fruit and veggies here to cook or snack on back at Tulemar.
5. Gaia Hotel resturant-we had a delicious dinner here, the best dining experience during our vacation. If you need a break from mahi mahi (you will), this is a great way to change it up. NYC service (and prices), including a course of peppermint dry ice to clear our senses between courses.
6.Cafe Milagro- had we discovered this earlier in the trip, we might have ended up here every day. Delicious breakfast options, wifi, and awesome coffee. Worth a visit, and we bought coffee beans here from their shop to take home.
7. Surf lessons - Diego's guys offer top quality service and a very fun experience. Each person taking a lesson was paired with a surf instructor, so lots of individual attention. Great experience for beginners-they were patient and good natured, even as we got knocked around by the waves. It was also nice to see the public beach and get a feel for the strip with the restaurants and businesses near the beach.
8. The Boat Tour was amazing because we saw dolphins and whales (!), and less amazing because it was essentially a booze cruise, complete with wrist bands for drinks, dance music, and snorkeling alongside 50 of your closest friends. Not exactly on par with the tone of Tulemar, though certainly a real treat to see the animals.
9. Tour of the Park-worthwhile. We saw lots of animals that we would not have seen otherwise, and really enjoyed our tour guide that Bill arranged, Estelle. We also got to take some pretty incredible photos of the wildlife on this tour which we would not have gotten anywhere else. We went in the morning, and heard that it was perhaps less crowded in the afternoon, though warmer.
10. Super Joseph grocery store-we made many trips here, very easy walk from Tulemar and nice to pick up a few things so we could be well equipped.

Looking forward to visiting Costa Rica again, and would absolutely come back to Tulemar

Room Tip: Virtually every room has a great view. It might be worth looking for an option that's a bit fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hi Mark A.....wow.....thank you so much for all the great tips/suggestions.....we really appreciate that and I'm sure guests searching for a place to stay will find them valuable as well.....thanks for the kind words on all of our team here at Tulemar....from Diego and Vanessa to the shuttle drivers.......and the resort itself.....I love Cafe Milagro too.....(we have their coffee in the mornings....it's the best).....just a note.....there are several boats that provide the snorkeling/dolphin watch.....I dislike the 2 larger booze cruise boats as well......there are smaller ones.....more intimate.....less party.....more nature and relaxing.....next trip!....thanks again for staying with us in Tulemar and we hope to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We got married in Costa Rica in January 2014. We decided to invite a few close friends with us to unwind at Tulemar several days before the wedding, before heading to our wedding location. We rented Villa Mot Mot, both upper and lower units. We debated staying 3 or 4 nights, but my husband insisted that we stay 4 nights and I am glad he did.

Pre-arrival and arrival
Prior to arrival, we coordinated with Vanessa, Diego's wife. She was very responsive in responding to our various questions and requests, with the exception of a few emails that went unanswered. They have a very systematic way of answering emails. All emails contain a note not to change the subject title of the email. That was fine, but one time I sent a new email and in response, was instructed not to send emails that changed the title. I was a bit confused, since it was a brand new email. I admire their need for organization, but it was a bit much.

Tulemar had arranged for our transportation and we were relieved that the driver was there waiting for us when we arrived. It was well-planned and the shuttle was comfortable and large enough for our group (8 people). Our driver stopped at Crocodile bridge and we had guanabana smoothies (sour sap) and plantain chips, and they were delicious. This is a must-see stop.

When we arrived, we were assigned Bill as our concierge. We were a bit confused since we had been talking only to Vanessa before our arrival. It was a disorganized when we arrived. Bill offered us a tour of the grounds, but then told us he was busy welcoming other guests. But he did end up taking us on a short tour. Then he told us he did not have time to take us to the beach and went halfway down and was going to turn around, but ended up taking us to the beach after all. Several of our guests commented on how disorganized our arrival was. We were a bit surprised. We would have figured that if they knew several groups were arriving in one day, they would have been better prepared to accommodate all the groups. I inquired about Vanessa, as I wanted to meet her and thank her for her service in person, but we never heard from or saw Vanessa during our trip. That was a bummer.

We did, however, meet Dave (the owner I believe) and a few others at the office and we were given a warm welcome with a cold beverage.

Now on to the great things!

Our stay
We had such a great time at Tulemar. The rooms were clean, comfortable and we liked that our concierge asked us when we wanted the rooms cleaned so that it was most convenient to us. We had a problem with airconditioning in the upper unit but they quickly took care of the issue thankfully, as it gets pretty hot.

The views--now matter where you are staying--are just stunning. The photos of the beach do not do it justice. It is exclusive to the property, which is also a plus. The property is guarded by a security gate, and it feels very safe inside the property. The grounds are well-maintained and you can tell they put a lot of effort in maintaining it. It is quite large. We discovered that the place has 4 pools (though we were told by our concierge that there were only 2). Each pool was a bit different and we liked the variety.

One of the best things is that this property feels like a natural extension of Manuel Antonio National Park. There is WILDLIFE everywhere! One day we had capuchin monkeys on our balcony. Another day we had howler monkeys in the tree next to our villa howling at dusk and dawn. Another day, while attempting to do hill repeats on the super steep road to the beach, I came across so much wildlife that I just stood still for a while (and my workout abruptly ended but it was worth it). There were capuchin monkeys everywhere in the trees on one side of the street and some were running across the street or jumping from the trees. On the other side of the street were the adorable squirrel monkeys. I also saw a troop of coatis cross the street. If you want to see the wildlife, best to try in the morning around 7-10am. I saw them at 8:30am. I also had an encounter with 2 capuchins that were 5 feet away. One had jumped on the others back and they both grinned their teeth at me while leaning back. It was so adorable that I could not resist laughing (though it appeared they were trying to be scary). Of course I didnt have a camera with me. Bring a camera with you at all times on this property!

Despite some initial hiccups, the customer service was very high. We mainly contacted Diego if we had any requests or questions. They give you their cell phone numbers and you can call at anytime. Very responsive. We called about rides to places, to confirm activities, and for recommendations on places to eat. They make a real effort to know your name and your interests. They handle all sorts of transportation and activities. We also preordered groceries to our villa prior to our arrival, which was a convenient option, especially for a group our size. The level of service in Tulemar sets this place apart from other places in Costa Rica.

Lastly, we did the Rafiki river rafting tour, arranged through Tulemar, which we highly recommend. Our group loved the tour company, guides, the delicious tipico lunch, and the river rafting itself. That day we also hired a private chef, also offered through Tulemar, and that was probably the best meal we had in Costa Rica. Our chef was Kristopher and we had a delicious meal on our balcony watching the sunset. For a group of 8, it cost us $500 (including food and tip) and it was well worth it. We all still talk about the incredible meal we had that day.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay in Tulemar and would return. We are hoping to return and try another one of their villas or casas, which are simply amazing.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hi Christine H......how nice to hear from you.....I hope all went well with your wedding in Jaco......we loved having you with us......I'm so sorry about your arrival......it sounds a little hectic and unorganized....we had 27 arrivals that day and it seemed most arrived at the same time.....I'm glad things went smoothly afterwards.....Vanessa is Diego's wife.....she's an "on-line" concierge.....working from home and taking care of the family....Diego/Bill/Al handle the on site concierge service for Villa Mot Mot.....I wish Vanessa could visit Tulemar more often as well......we're happy to hear that you enjoyed the tours we arranged and the private chef services.....having a complete meal prepared for you....while you dine on the balcony.....with a moonlit ocean view.....is a treat.....thanks again for booking with us and posting the review....we'll be ready for your return!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed at Casa Mirador (Upper) just before Christmas and it was just amazing. Getting to Tulemar can be a bit confusing but our concierge Diego and Vanessa his wife provided great directions and the drive was well worth it. The private property owned by Tulemar is just beautiful and secure. The home we stayed in Casa Mirador was a wonderful location that provided absolutely beautiful views. Spent many mornings on the back porch looking out over the ocean. Can't say enough about the house. The private beach is really such a wonderful perk for the location, we saw a sloth the first time we stepped onto beach. The beach has nice lounging area's in and out of the sun. One day we used the kayaks and went across the bay. Walking to the private beach area can be difficult if you have limitations, but is doable if you are used to walking distances. If not, then take the shuttle and skip the walk. Leading up to our trip Vanessa, was such a great help to me. She helped me book tours and offered suggestions once I described what our family was looking to do while in Manuel Antonio. Her help was very valuable to me since I hadn't ever been to Costa Rica and knew very little about the area. Vanessa also helped us coordinate a private dinner with Tito the Chef, Tito was entertaining while he cooked and the food he made was just amazing. It was well worth the money to have him cook and talk with us. If we go back to CR this is the place we will stay and we will book Tito again to cook!!!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms in the Upper Mirador, both have excellent views and great back porches off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hi Tracie T....thanks for the excellent review on your stay in Casa Mirador in Tulemar.....Casa Mirador has one of the top ocean views in all of Tulemar....it's spectacular......and with 2 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, living, dining, full kitchen and a large balcony, it's a perfect fit for a family.....plus you have all the amenities of Tulemar and the personal concierge service of "Team Diego"....to make sure you have a fun and easy trip......thanks for booking with us and we hope to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I understand why this resort is #1 for the Manuel Antonio National Park area. My husband and I stayed here for three nights after a week's cruise on the Wind Spirit and we discovered that there is hardly a need to leave the property. My husband and I are not the adventurous/excursion types (monkeys); we are the beach/cocktail/book types (sloths)...absolutely no offense to you excursion types. You have everything you need to relax: 4 pools (including one adult pool), a private beach with bar and restaurant, nature trails, plenty of wildlife and a balcony with a hammock to retreat to at the end of the day (and to start the day with coffee, mimosas and your book). One thing I really liked about this place is that housekeeping doesn't knock on your door each morning. Instead, your concierge (ours was Brian) calls you each day to schedule the best time for housekeeping to refresh your room. For our last full day, we debated whether to visit the Manuel Antonio National Park or just enjoy the resort and we decided that the resort offered everything the park did...plus privacy...so it was no contest. But, if you need/want to venture out, there are restaurants, bars and grocery stores on both sides of the resort and the national park is just a few miles away. We enjoyed our stay very much and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Hi deaken7......thanks for the review and for showing a different side of Tulemar.....the "sloth" side.....you are right.....you can spend your entire stay at the resort and just relax and enjoy nature....the amazing ocean views.....the Tulemar Beach.....our 4 pools......the hiking trails.....the resort restaurant.....the beach bar and grill.....or the balcony/deck of your villa....with a book.....or a friend.....and if you do want to leave.....we're there to help.....with our personal concierge service.....or just walk out of our front gates to one of more than 10 restaurants.....2 ATM's.....or the grocery store......all within a 2 block radius.....thanks for staying with us and thanks again for posting a review .....we look forward to your return!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Tulemar is everything you could want in a resort. The staff is incredible and the property pristine in every respect.
The beach is so wonderful - warm, perfect swimming water and great drink and food abound. The shuttle-buses give you options and are very prompt.
I will return..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
HI FredfromLongIsland.....thanks for the wonderful review.....we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay......thanks for the kind words about our beach, the food/beverage service and our resort shuttle....we appreciate you booking with us directly at 4tulemar.com and look forward to your return!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My wife and I chose Tulemar for our honeymoon spot, after much research done about the entire Central American region, and we couldn't have been happier with our choice.

The registration and booking process was easy, as the resort provides a personal concierge for you who stays in constant contact. Our concierge was Ashley, and she was super helpful and very nice. She answered all of my questions (of which I had many), as I had never been out of the country before this trip, called us daily at our bungalow to see if we needed any help, reservations or dinner suggestions, and even gave us a ride to the local grocery store to get some supplies.

We also noticed that EVERYONE on the property was very nice...which is not the case in most hotels. Every day we were greeted with smiles and a nice "hola" or "buenas dias" from goundskeepers, maids, shuttle drivers, etc. Our bungalow was kept very clean every day, and any time we needed a ride to anywhere on the property, all we had to do was call reception and a driver showed up within minutes to take us wherever we wanted to go.

The private beach was gorgeous. Staff made sure to make you comfortable, providing chairs, umbrellas, beach towels, and even toys for the kids, as well as kayaks and snorkeling gear for the more adventurous types (as we were told the best places to snorkel were directly off Tulemar's private beach). The bar and lunch area on the beach was very nice, and each meal we had there was terrific, as were the random visits from local native Titi and Capuchin monkeys and the occasional sloth.

The restaurant right next to our bungalow was great. I personally recommend the breakfast burrito (Delicious!). With a breathtaking view of the ocean and sunset, and a beautiful pool area, you couldn't beat it! The bar staff there was nice (as were all the people in Tulemar).

My wife and I would like to thank everyone at Tulemar for making our stay special, and we hope to one day get to return with our kids to let them see how beautiful Costa Rica is.

Room Tip: Bungalows have the best view of the ocean.....and I can't even describe the beauty of the view i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hi Joshua F.....we're so glad that you chose Tulemar for your Honeymoon.....it is a very special place.....so romantic.....Ashley loved having you as her guests....she really enjoys her guests....and understands just how much or how little assistance each wants.....Ashley knows the best local guides, tours and activities and the best local spots to dine....she can make your stay so easy and fun......thanks for the wonderful comments on our restaurants and the Tulemar Beach....the perfect spot to spend a lazy afternoon....under the palms......feet in the sand....with a cold drink....and the warm, tropical waters....inviting you to swim.......thanks again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows, Buena Vista Villas and privately owned villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes and Villa Kiskadee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.