We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best locations in Manuel Antonio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Save
You added Tulemar Bungalows & Villas to your Saves list
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tulemar Mini Suites-$220!
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best locations in Manuel Antonio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Tulemar Bungalows and Villas is one of the few resorts in Manuel Antonio with its own private beach. You can walk down the winding paths and roads through the gated community, take a shuttle or walk the short nature trails to the quiet, crescent-shaped beach which offers both sun and shade (and always an abundance of wildlife sightings--monkeys, SLOTHS, iguanas, exotic birds, crabs and more!). Boogie boards, kayaks and snorkeling equipment are free to use and drinks and food service are also available.

The bungalows and villas are tastefully built into a steep, forested cliff above the Pacific coast. All have full kitchens, so we stocked up on snacks and breakfast items at the small grocery store conveniently located just a block or less from the resort entrance. It was also an easy walk to many excellent restaurants (fresh seafood was superb) and shops. The family infinity pool was never crowded with more than a few families even though we were supposedly there at high season. The staff went above and beyond to be attentive--we had our own concierge to call with questions, ask for restaurant recommendations or help with activities and he checked in with us regularly to see if everything was going well.

Our only complaint would be that our bungalow did not have an outdoor deck to better take in the magnificent views and abundant wildlife around us (all the villas do). The bungalows are the oldest buildings in the development, we were told, and as they are renovated, decks are being added. Next time, we will definitely request one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Hi cOpper....thanks for the great review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows.....so glad you enjoyed your time with us.......with our beach (free lounge chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, boogie boards, towel service)......4 pools......hiking trails......resort shuttle......lots of wildlife......amazing ocean views......and our location.....right in the heart of Manuel Antonio......it really is the perfect place to stay.....you are right.....none of the Bungalows do not have balconies or decks......but every other property in Tulemar does.....lots of options for everyone!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    116
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
597
399
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

First, it is going to be easy to write about Tulemar, but hard to finish. We stayed at Casa Mirador (158). It was a perfect place to stay for our Honeymoon. Everything from the fresh fruit in the kitchen when we arrived, the large bathroom and shower, the comfortable king size bed, and the patio where we spent our mornings and evenings enjoying the wonderful surroundings.
Not only was the villa top notch and beautiful, but the entire staff at tulemar made our stay even better. We were greated at the San Jose Airport by Al (Casa Mirador's concierge). He was so nice and helpful. He stoped on the way to Tulemar to show us crocodile's and more beautiful views, and then stopped at a local market in downtown Quepos so we could buy groceries for our stay (since Casa Mirador has a full size kitchen). The next day we met Bill (our other Casa Mirador concierge). We walked to a local cafe in town and Bill picked us up and showed us around the grounds at Tulemar. He pointed out a large three toed sloth and a pair of blue headed mot mot's, he showed us the beautiful personal beach and the nature trails on the property. He also showed us the family pool (which is right next to 158) and the cafe pool. Both Al and Bill helped us so much and were there whenever we needed them. They would check in on us daily to ask if we needed anything, or if we needed them to schedule any kind of tour. They scheduled both a rafting and zip line tour for us, and the company's would pick us up right at our driveway of our villa. It was so convenient. We also used the shuttle on the property to pick us up at the beach (we would walk down there), and we used it to take us to the front gate so we could walk into down. Our driver was Michael, he was so polite and professional. I could talk all day about the staff, but i could just sum it all up with they were so caring, friendly and professional, and we have never been treated as good as we were here.
There is no doubt in my mind that we will stay at Tulemar again, and we know we wont be disappointed. I highly recommend Tulemar to anyone. Pura Vida

Room Tip: Casa Mirador (158) was the lower half of Casa Mirador. It had a full kitchen, TV space, large bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi Chris....thanks for the excellent review on Casa Mirador (lower).......we're so happy that you spent your honeymoon with us......and thanks for all of the details.......Casa Mirador Lower is a great choice for a couple......large bedroom with a king bed.....bath....living/dining/full kitchen.....and great balcony....to watch the sunsets and enjoy the ocean views......plus you get the services of Diego, Bill and Al as your concierge team......from arranging your transportation to Tulemar......to booking your tours/excursions......to a quick trip to the grocery store or even surf lessons.....they can do it all......plus you get all of the amenities of Tulemar......the Tulemar Beach.....hiking trails.....4 pools.....full service restaurant......and a location right in the heart of Manuel Antonio.....thanks, again, for posting the review and for booking with us directly.....we'll be ready when you're ready to return......maybe with friends/family and stay in the larger Casa Mirador Upper!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Bungalow 122 in September. The unit is well maintained with great views. The building was split into two sections, bedroom/bathroom and living room/kitchen. Although dated everything was clean and in proper working order. The resort is steep but this also allows for excellent views from the pool and individual buildings. The beach is awesome and has perfect sunset views. The beach attendant,David,does a great job with the seating and water sports. David was willing to go the extra mile for the guests and even searched for a sloth for my wife. (He found one two days later) I would not hesitate to recommend Tulemar to anyone traveling to Manuel Antonio

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi pine1010.....thanks for taking the time to post a review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows.....so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.....the Bungalows are really great......perched on the hillside.....surrounded by jungle.....with great ocean views......perfect for 1-4 guests......and thanks for the comments on David....the "mayor" of the Tulemar Beach......he really does take ownership and pride in his work......and he can find those sloths.......(they move so slowly at times they can be hard to spot)......thanks for booking with us directly and we hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked the lower part of the Buena Vista house for 3 days last month. Even though this was not the main house the kitchen was very well equipped and it had everything you could need.
The service at the beach and from the in house concierge were both excellent.
The beach is very nice and private. It is great that they have their own and you don't have to drive off the property like at most hotels in Manuel Antonio to go to a really crowded beach. The pools looked great also although with the rainy weather we did not have time to use them.
We would be sure to try to stay here again if in the area. A longer stay would be great.

Room Tip: Everything I saw looked great. The bungalows looked like they had really nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi oreo55......thanks for the great review on your stay in the lower suite of Casa Mirador......so glad you enjoyed your time in Tulemar.......and at our beach.....the beach at Tulemar is really wonderful.....lounge chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, boogie boards, towel service.....all free......plus food/beverages that you just sign to your villa......plus lots of wildlife......thanks, again, for taking the time to post......and we hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Wow. That's all I can say. I practically lived on Trip Advisor for a few days booking this trip, and I poured through hundreds of reviews. We almost went with a cheaper place, but I'm SO glad we chose Tulemar. Trust me, it's worth the extra couple bucks. These guys are number 1 for a reason.

We stayed in one of the bungalows for 4 nights and loved every minute of it. Nice spacious rooms, gorgeous floor to ceiling views, private beach access, and excellent customer service. Our first lunch by the beach we were greeted by a troupe of monkeys who descended on the bar! They hung out right next to us, swinging from the trees and stealing bananas from behind the bar.

Walking distance to delicious restaurants including Cafe Milagro which was a morning favorite of ours. We will definitely be returning to Tulemar!

Room Tip: We stayed in bungalow 113 and it had the best view :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi Emily....thank you so much for the wonderful review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows.......set in the jungle.....with amazing ocean views (and yes #113 is one of the BEST)......kind of like a tropical tree house with AC....the Bungalows were the first properties built in Tulemar and have some of the best views along the top of the hill.....plus very close to our restaurant......and two of the 4 pools.......glad you enjoyed your lunch at our beach.....another great spot to watch the monkeys play.......thanks, again for posting the review......we loved having you with us and we'll be ready for your return!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

At first glance we thought " pretty cool looking place"
then we get to our bungalow and know immediately
this is going to be an extraordinary stay, and it was.

Immediately during and after check in they had Orlando
in the office that was truly accommodating and funny. He
really did go out of his way to make sure we had everything
we needed. Then we met Michael he showed us around and told
us all the cool things about the property, he was truly very helpful
and very knowledgeable about nature and the property.

This bungalow was truly magical, relaxing, peaceful quite with an
amazing view. In the morning you could see the monkeys on your balcony,
they have fun little trails to the beach with more monkeys, birds, even
Toucans and Sloths..............truly memorable.

There was enough sunlight to get everything done during the day even though
it is "wet season" We did have some rain and thunderstorms, it rained just long enough
to rest and get ready for our next adventure.

Next time we bring the rest of the family so they too can enjoy this
piece of heaven on earth. Truly enjoyable!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hi lokn4sol......thanks for the great review on your stay in one of our villas in Tulemar......we're so glad that you enjoyed yourselves.....and thanks for your comments on our staff members.....Orlando, the personal concierge and Michael, one of our van drivers.....they are wonderful.......yes....with 33 acres of jungle......we have lots of wildlife......3 types of monkeys....both types of sloths......exotic birds......plus hiking trails around the property that end up on the Tulemar Beach......thanks again for staying with us and posting a review.....we hope to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Tulemar is truly amazing--extremely comfortable but also surrounded by lush and vibrant beauty. The room was such a pleasure to stay in--clean, beautiful, quiet, luxurious (even the smallest bungalow, which is what we had). And the view--wow! Gorgeous. The bus service easily took us down to the beach whenever we wanted, and my young kids loved playing in the big ocean waves. The kids also enjoyed the swimming pool close to our room--especially the day a huge troop of capuchin monkeys surrounded us at the pool and later appeared (mom with a baby on her back) outside our room window. The food was great and the service was exceptional. I also strongly recommend the super relaxing massage in the most gorgeous area. What we appreciated most about Tulemar, however, was the excellent and very professional the staff. Chris, our concierge, was always ready to help and to answer questions, and he did his best to keep us happy. When I left there, I forgot a CD that we had bought after doing one of our activities, and Chris somehow got it back to me in San Jose before we left--not an easy feat, but one I am truly grateful for. He had contacted me before the trip, and did so again afterwards, which was very thoughtful. The range of activities that you can do are amazing as well and we did it all--ziplining, rafting, ATV riding, hiking, and more. Tulemar is a very special place and one you will remember forever, and will probably go back to time and time again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi naturegirlsv.......thank you so much for the wonderful review on your stay in one of our Bungalows.....we loved having you with us......it sounds like you experienced it all......the Tulemar Beach.....our hiking trails......the amazing ocean views from the Bungalows......the wildlife....the four resort pools.....the full service restaurant......and our staff.....including Chris....your personal concierge......Chris really wants all of his guests to experience Costa Rica.....he knows the best local guides and tours......and is happy to handle all of the details for you.....from your transportation to Tulemar.....to dining suggestions......spa services.....even a trip to the grocery store.......he'll make your stay so easy.....thanks for booking with us directly......and we hope to see you back in Tulemar again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows, Buena Vista Villas and privately owned villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes and Villa Kiskadee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.