We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Rate on Bungalows!
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A wonderful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stay here in a bungalow close to the restaurant and pool! This bungalow was not newly refurbished like some of them are. But the room was still very nice and comes with a mini kitchen twin bed and pull out bed as well as two queen beds in the next room.
The water heater and pressure was bad, not enough hot water for four people.

My only complaint is there is no jacuzzi at any of the four pools in the resort! I know it's hot there but all the hotels we stayed at had a jacuzzi! And when you are zip lining hiking etc you get sore muscles, and the pool was cold!

But I still have to say this place saved our vacation!
Location is great! - walking distance to grocery store and good restaurants

Private beach! With free kayaks and towel service and food etc

The best thing for us was all the wild life ! We saw more wild life in the four days we stayed at Tulemar then the 10 days at the other hotels/parks/ etc combined

Tulemar was a wonderful end to our vacation!
Our concierge never checked in with us except at our check in. We did not need him but if we did it would have been nice for him to check in. But in short I have to say again that I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi bowiebow......thank you so much for the great review.....I'm so sorry your concierge did not make contact....he could have handled the issue of the water pressure/hot water.....and he could have made your stay even more enjoyable......you are right....there are no "community" jacuzzi's in the resort.....but 17 of our suites have a private one on the balcony......glad you enjoyed our beach.....the wildlife.....and our location.....(over 10 restaurants, 2 ATM's and a grocery store within 2 blocks of our front gates)......thanks for all of your kind words and we'd love to have you back with us......I'll make sure you have a great concierge!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    985
    111
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
525
361
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Bottom Line (at the top): DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE! Fantastic hospitality and location with immaculate grounds, private beach, four pools, and ample wildlife right outside your front/back doors!

Details:My boyfriend and I (20somethings) visited Tulemar in early September 2013. We stayed at Casa Panorama South Lower, which is a 1B/1B lockoff apartment with private entrance, full kitchen and outdoor grill, and large balcony with unobstructed ocean views! All communication prior to arrival is handled through Kimberly Barron, who was SO welcoming, attentive, and helpful throughout our stay. We felt as though we were her personal guests! Upon arrival, she met us at reception, drove us around the property in the dark so we could get a start on getting our bearings and then, after allowing us as much time as we needed to settle our bags, she took us to the local market (walking distance) and then offered to bring our groceries back to the unit after dropping us off at a spot for dinner! What a doll! The Tulemar staff were also all wonderful: very polite, attentive, friendly, and timely.

The property is quite large and on steep hills (believe the reviews, I thought we would walk...but not after we killed our calves the first day!), but the shuttle service was accessible and prompt! We shuttled up to reception, down to the beach, and back again. Casa Panorama South is located very near the Family Pool and fairly near the main pool with the restaurant and bar. Since we traveled in low season, Tulemar was only running one shuttle (still no delays) and some of the bars were closed (not a problem because no crowds). We highly recommend the low season travel! Although we were told that we saw unseasonably great weather, including fabulous RED sunsets from our balcony, the area holds true to rumors that it rains in the afternoon, usually from about 3pm-6pm. NBD! You have most pools and restaurants to yourself and It's a tropical paradise so you're ready for a nap by then anyway!

Other perks:
Location: Shuttle/Walk to the top of the property and you are within 5min or less walking distance to more than 10 great restaurants with a variety of cuisine (vietnamese, mexican, typico costa rican, fish&chips, fish/steak, falafel, froyo, etc!). Also walking distance to the main grocery market and an alternative. Then, at the bottom of the hill within the property is a fabulous beach! Shoutout to David at the beach stand who was so friendly, helping us set up towels/chairs, a kayak, and boogie boards! The waves were enough to boogie board, but also conducive for easy wading in the luke warm water! Slightly rocky, as other reviewers have noted, but not enough to disrupt the experience (no hideous water socks necessary!).

Animals: I can't believe it took this long into my post to get to the animals!!! They were so abundant on the Tulemar property. Just outside of Casa Panorama South, down the hill before the first intersection, there is, as Kimberly called it "A major monkey thoroughfare!" AND SHE WAS RIGHT! Daily we saw troops of white faced monkeys crossing in this area and feasting on fruits and cicadas! They get so close to you that you have to be prepared with cameras at all times! We also saw two sloths, including a pregnant one, troops of squirrel monkeys, howler monkeys (which you can hear semifrequently throughout the grounds), weird anteater raccoon things, and lots of birds and iguanas! The abundance of animals was a constant reminder of the rainforest paradise that is Tulemar.

Needless to say....we will be back and we have already recommended Casa Panorama South at Tulemar to all of our friends back home!

Room Tip: Casa Panorama South Lower - everything you need out of a condo style hotel room! Very clean, beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi kristinbot.....WOW! Thanks for the excellent review on your stay in Casa Panorama at Tulemar! Kimberly, your personal concierge, is amazing.....she devotes so much time to her guests....as you experienced......always available to make the trip easy and special......thanks for your comments on our beach, the pools, the weather, the wildlife, shuttle service and our location.....right in the heart of Manuel Antonio......within easy walking distance to over 10 restaurants, the grocery store and 2 ATM's.....thank you so much for booking with us directly and we'll be ready for your return!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Tulemar was a great getaway for my husband and me! We spent four days enjoying our time away from the rest of the world. From our bungalow we saw monkeys and a HUGE sloth - as close as you can imagine! I'm a city girl and loved the experience. The grounds are beautifully kept. The entire staff staff is very accomodating, warm and knowledgable, but Julian is exceptional!

The prices are on the high side at the restaurant, but the convenience of being able to charge everything to your room was great. Even some of the local restaurants were on board with the policy.

We will definitely be back. Thank you for the memories!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi Imblsd.....thanks for the great reviews on your stay in one of Tulemar Bungalows......we loved having you with us.....Julien, our young Frenchman, enjoyed being your personal concierge......(guests love him!)......you are right about the wildlife......Tulemar encompases 33 acres of jungle along the mountainside......we have all three types of monkeys.....(howler, white face and titis)......both 2 and 3 toed sloths.....exotic birds.....reptiles.....and all sorts of other wonderful creatures........you're sure to see something from your room.....or the beach.....or our two hiking trails.....or just sitting by one of the 4 pools......I'm glad you enjoyed your mini-vacation away from Jaco and hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is an amazing property and bungalow 405 is a terrific place. We have seen monkeys, sloths, and so many unbelievable creatures, we are in heaven on earth! The hosts are all very friendly and accommodating. Only drawback.. Cocktails are SO EXPENSIVE!! Double Northern California! I would adjust the prices if they wish to keep their guests on the property.
I will definitely come back, love it here

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
HI Ctimber.....thanks for the great comments on your stay in Tulemar........you are right.....LOTS of wildlife.....all three types of monkeys.....sloths.....exotic birds.....you're sure to see something everyday.....from your bungalow.....or walking to the beach.....or on our hiking trails....or at the pools......and you're also right about expensive cocktails......but no more expensive than comparable resorts in the area......so check out the "happy hour".....half priced drinks from 5-7 nightly.....or explore the local restaurants and bars.....there are more than 10 within two blocks of our front gates......thanks, again, for the review and we'll be ready for your return!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Honestly, I just cant say enough about the customer service here! Julian went above and beyond the scope of expectations to make sure we were happy. This is hands down the best vacation we have ever been on thanks to him! Tulemar is spectacular and well be back time and time again! Thank You again Julian your a great person and because of you well be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi Taylor S......thank you for the great comments on Julien......your personal concierge......as new arrivals (for a 10 night stay!).....you've been able to appreciate just what our concierges can do to make your trip special.....Julien....our young Frenchman......has been with us for a few years now.....moving to Costa Rica after finishing school.....marrying a Costa Rican.....and now with a family......he wants everyone to enjoy Costa Rica as much as he does.....so he handles all of the details....takes care of any little problems that may pop up.......and provides suggestions for your dining/tours/activities......or a quick trip to the grocery store.....you've been great guests and we hope you enjoy the rest of your stay!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Tulemar has gotten better and better. Every staff member, as usual, was courteous and attentive. We chose the bungalows which were clean, have a spectacular view and the grounds are vast yet well-manicured. During our visit without leaving the property, we saw sloths, toucans, howler and white-faced monkeys, iguanas, various birds and plenty of animals on the private beach. We had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant and the food was quite good. Definitely going back. Great memories!

Room Tip: For bungalows, open one side and air condition the other, but use the screens to keep animals out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi velare......thanks for the great review on your stay in one of Tulemar Bungalows......so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you think we're getting better and better....I agree......from the four pools.....to our Tulemar Beach (with free lounge chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, boogie boards, towels)....to the hiking trails.....full service restaurant.....resort shuttle.....and our friendly/helpful staff.....we want all of our guests to feel like you do.....and thanks for the tip about the Bungalows....even though they don't have balconies......during the morning thru sunset......I open the windows and screens ALL the way around.....and let the breezes blow thru.....it's like sitting on the front porch......and since they were the first units built in Tulemar.....they have some of the best views on the property.....a great spot to watch the ocean.....sunsets.....and wildlife......thanks, again, for posting the review and we hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Tulemar was hands down one of the nicest properties (if not the nicest!) I have EVER stayed at (and I have travelled a lot). Their attention to detail is impeccable. I booked our reservation a little late and they were able to find us accommodations in three different rooms for four nights. Bill Bennett made our moves seamless and truly went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. He greeted us upon arrival, showed us to our first room, helped us, brought us fresh fruit, and showed us around the property. He gave us restaurant recommendations, tour advice, and answered all our questions. Each day when we left to do something (i.e. leave for a tour) he moved our luggage and groceries to our next room and made everything SO EASY for us. It was a treat! Al also helped us a lot and answered our questions and made sure we were comfortable.

Even from the moment I booked the reservation, Dave was so helpful on Tulemar's online chat helping me figure out the different rooms/different nights, gave us advice about driving to Tulemar, and answered my many questions. Then, Vanessa contacted me giving me the information how to travel there, what to expect, and information on tours. She made it very easy to start setting up tours before we arrived. Even after we left, we had an issue with a tour company charging us the wrong amount and she immediately helped us, called the company, and continued to follow up with us.

Our favorite place we stayed at Tulemar was Mot Mot Hideaway. Absolutely amazing! I wish that could be my permanent home! It's newly re-modeled with beautiful reefal limestone floors and walls. The balcony is HUGE with an outdoor kitchen (grill, refrigerator, wine refrigerator, sink, storage, etc.)....and not to mention hammock and amazing large lounge chair!!!

One night while we stayed at Mot Mot Hideaway, we had a chef (Chef Tito) come prepare us one of the best dinners we have ever had! He was so friendly and his food was amazing! It was such a treat to be spoiled and cooked for on that amazing balcony! I highly recommend everyone do this one night during their trip!!!

The staff at the beach were so friendly. They always check on you and see if you need anything. One day we were there almost to sunset and were going to walk back up hill....then it started POURING so they sent a shuttle so we didn't have to walk in the rain.

For pool time, we visited the upper pool. We had dinner there two nights. While it was a little expensive, the service and quality/taste of the food was AMAZING. We loved it and therefore didn't mind the prices. And, you can't beat the view. We also ate breakfast there a couple mornings which was also great. The bar is fantastic. There are happy hour specials every evening and the view is stunning. Daniella was fantastic - she always asked about our day, if we need anything, how our stay is, etc. She also makes some of the best mojitos we have ever had (and we live in Miami!). She was very friendly and helpful and definitely went above and beyond to make sure our stay exceeded our expectations. Janet was also very attentive and helpful during our stay.

I really could continue writing forever. Tulemar is a gem. We wish we could have stayed longer. I have never stayed somewhere with that level of service...and individualized service tailored to what you want to do and your needs. We will definitely stay there again the next time we go to Costa Rica.

Thank you Bill, Al, Vanessa, Diego, Dave, Daniella, Janet, and everyone at Tulemar for a great trip! We LOVED it! Can't wait to come back!!!!

Room Tip: Mot mot hideaway was our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi KLJdolphin.......wow....thank you so much for such a great review.....with so many details.....we really appreciate you taking the time to post your story.....moving between 3 different rooms in 4 days is not what anyone would hope for in a vacation.....but that was what we had open for your dates and you accepted the suggestion......(we would not have suggested it if we couldn't make it easy and fun for you!).....Mot Mot Hideaway is truly a gem.....I wish we had a dozen of them.....it is very popular for couples....it stays booked almost 100%.....one of the reasons that the moves were accomplished so smoothly was your concierge team.....Diego/Vanessa/Bill......they provide the services for 4 of our villas in Tulemar and they are amazing......thanks for the comments on our food/beverage services too....from the private chef we arranged for dinner in your suite.....to the beach bar/grill....and our full service restaurant/bar located at the main pool area......they do a great job.....(and are lots of fun!).......thanks, again, for booking with us directly and we hope to see you again....in ONE villa this time!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows, Buena Vista Villas and privately owned villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes and Villa Kiskadee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tulemar Bungalows & Villas to your Saves list