We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Manuel Antonio Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Save
You added Tulemar Bungalows & Villas to your Saves list
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tulemar Mini Suites-$220!
Brownsville, Texas
1 review
“Beautiful Manuel Antonio Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Tulemar has gotten better and better. Every staff member, as usual, was courteous and attentive. We chose the bungalows which were clean, have a spectacular view and the grounds are vast yet well-manicured. During our visit without leaving the property, we saw sloths, toucans, howler and white-faced monkeys, iguanas, various birds and plenty of animals on the private beach. We had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant and the food was quite good. Definitely going back. Great memories!

Room Tip: For bungalows, open one side and air condition the other, but use the screens to keep animals out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi velare......thanks for the great review on your stay in one of Tulemar Bungalows......so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you think we're getting better and better....I agree......from the four pools.....to our Tulemar Beach (with free lounge chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, boogie boards, towels)....to the hiking trails.....full service restaurant.....resort shuttle.....and our friendly/helpful staff.....we want all of our guests to feel like you do.....and thanks for the tip about the Bungalows....even though they don't have balconies......during the morning thru sunset......I open the windows and screens ALL the way around.....and let the breezes blow thru.....it's like sitting on the front porch......and since they were the first units built in Tulemar.....they have some of the best views on the property.....a great spot to watch the ocean.....sunsets.....and wildlife......thanks, again, for posting the review and we hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    116
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
597
398
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Tulemar was hands down one of the nicest properties (if not the nicest!) I have EVER stayed at (and I have travelled a lot). Their attention to detail is impeccable. I booked our reservation a little late and they were able to find us accommodations in three different rooms for four nights. Bill Bennett made our moves seamless and truly went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. He greeted us upon arrival, showed us to our first room, helped us, brought us fresh fruit, and showed us around the property. He gave us restaurant recommendations, tour advice, and answered all our questions. Each day when we left to do something (i.e. leave for a tour) he moved our luggage and groceries to our next room and made everything SO EASY for us. It was a treat! Al also helped us a lot and answered our questions and made sure we were comfortable.

Even from the moment I booked the reservation, Dave was so helpful on Tulemar's online chat helping me figure out the different rooms/different nights, gave us advice about driving to Tulemar, and answered my many questions. Then, Vanessa contacted me giving me the information how to travel there, what to expect, and information on tours. She made it very easy to start setting up tours before we arrived. Even after we left, we had an issue with a tour company charging us the wrong amount and she immediately helped us, called the company, and continued to follow up with us.

Our favorite place we stayed at Tulemar was Mot Mot Hideaway. Absolutely amazing! I wish that could be my permanent home! It's newly re-modeled with beautiful reefal limestone floors and walls. The balcony is HUGE with an outdoor kitchen (grill, refrigerator, wine refrigerator, sink, storage, etc.)....and not to mention hammock and amazing large lounge chair!!!

One night while we stayed at Mot Mot Hideaway, we had a chef (Chef Tito) come prepare us one of the best dinners we have ever had! He was so friendly and his food was amazing! It was such a treat to be spoiled and cooked for on that amazing balcony! I highly recommend everyone do this one night during their trip!!!

The staff at the beach were so friendly. They always check on you and see if you need anything. One day we were there almost to sunset and were going to walk back up hill....then it started POURING so they sent a shuttle so we didn't have to walk in the rain.

For pool time, we visited the upper pool. We had dinner there two nights. While it was a little expensive, the service and quality/taste of the food was AMAZING. We loved it and therefore didn't mind the prices. And, you can't beat the view. We also ate breakfast there a couple mornings which was also great. The bar is fantastic. There are happy hour specials every evening and the view is stunning. Daniella was fantastic - she always asked about our day, if we need anything, how our stay is, etc. She also makes some of the best mojitos we have ever had (and we live in Miami!). She was very friendly and helpful and definitely went above and beyond to make sure our stay exceeded our expectations. Janet was also very attentive and helpful during our stay.

I really could continue writing forever. Tulemar is a gem. We wish we could have stayed longer. I have never stayed somewhere with that level of service...and individualized service tailored to what you want to do and your needs. We will definitely stay there again the next time we go to Costa Rica.

Thank you Bill, Al, Vanessa, Diego, Dave, Daniella, Janet, and everyone at Tulemar for a great trip! We LOVED it! Can't wait to come back!!!!

Room Tip: Mot mot hideaway was our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi KLJdolphin.......wow....thank you so much for such a great review.....with so many details.....we really appreciate you taking the time to post your story.....moving between 3 different rooms in 4 days is not what anyone would hope for in a vacation.....but that was what we had open for your dates and you accepted the suggestion......(we would not have suggested it if we couldn't make it easy and fun for you!).....Mot Mot Hideaway is truly a gem.....I wish we had a dozen of them.....it is very popular for couples....it stays booked almost 100%.....one of the reasons that the moves were accomplished so smoothly was your concierge team.....Diego/Vanessa/Bill......they provide the services for 4 of our villas in Tulemar and they are amazing......thanks for the comments on our food/beverage services too....from the private chef we arranged for dinner in your suite.....to the beach bar/grill....and our full service restaurant/bar located at the main pool area......they do a great job.....(and are lots of fun!).......thanks, again, for booking with us directly and we hope to see you again....in ONE villa this time!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We chose this resort as the location for our wedding and a week long vacation for our family and friends. We could not have made a better choice. We occupied two villas, Garden House and Casa Las Nubes, and a few of our friends stayed in the bungalows. The villas were very close to each other which was great for our group of 20. Diego, our concierge at Casa Las Nubes, took wonderful care of all of us by stocking our fridges with food before we arrived, taking us into Quepos to shop, and organizing group tours. We spent a wonderful day surfing with him and his helpers.
The beach is on the Tulemar property and not open to the public so it is not crowded. They have a bar, towels, kayaks, snorkels and boogie boards available for use. It was the perfect spot for our wedding ceremony and reception. We pretty much had the beach to ourselves!
We ate mostly in Manuel Antonio restaurants or in our villa but we did visit the poolside cafe for lunch one day and my mahi mahi burger was great.
We saw many monkeys and iguanas. There was a sloth with her baby that was living between our villas!
The villas themselves are incredible, spacious and clean. For a family with children we would recommend Garden House over Casa Las Nubes. Every morning I woke up at sunrise because I was so excited about my surroundings. The views are unbelievable. I wish we could have stayed much longer.
We will definitely be returning to Tulemar and we highly recommend it!

Helpful hint: If you are staying at Garden House, the concierge, Thomas Franz, is useless. You will need to seek assistance elsewhere.
Questionable event: There was a case of money and expensive sunglasses going missing. The owner of the villa immediately offered to pay back anything that went missing which was nice. It would have helped if the concierge, Thomas Franz, had acted when we reported that the safe had broken.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi PookandBear.....we LOVED having you and your guests with us in Tulemar for your wedding.....thank you for writing the review of your stay.....Garden House and Casa Las Nubes do work well together.....since they are neighbors in Tulemar......perfect for larger families and groups......thanks for the kind words on Diego and his staff....they are wonderful.....and I know they made things easier for you......(Diego's surf school is very popular as well!)......I'm sorry you had an issue with Tomas, the concierge from Garden House.....the owner has since replaced him and he no longer works in Tulemar......the owner's daughter now handles things personally.......I loved your comment about waking up early each morning because you were so excited about your surroundings.....I've lived here 10 years now and I still feel the same way......thanks again for booking with us and we look forward to your return.

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Was amazed right away upon arrival at Tulemar! The property is gorgeous and full of wildlife! Our wonderful concierge, Bill, picked us up from the airport then gave us a tour of the resort before taking us to our room... the moment we walked into the Villa Mot Mot upper we knew immediately we had chosen the perfect place to celebrate our ten year anniversary! It was beyond words! Besides the beautiful property full of lush landscaping, monkeys, sloths, and every color of bird imaginable... the staff goes above & beyond to make sure all of your needs are met and your stay is unforgettable! We have so many good memories from our week there (like our daily visit on the patio from the squirrel monkeys or drinking our morning coffee while we watched humpback whales jump out of the water) we could go on and on... we will defiantly be going back!!

Room Tip: In our opinion, the Villa Mot Mot upper, had the best view & the most wildlife visits to the pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Jeff and Brandy4.....thanks for the great review on your stay in Villa Mot Mot in Tulemar.....we loved having you with us.....you were great guests....very active......and so social.....by the end of the week all of Tulemar knew you.....thanks for letting us be a part of your 10th anniversary as well......glad you enjoyed Villa Mot Mot.....and Bill, your concierge.....and all of the wildlife visits......thanks for booking with us directly and we'll be ready when you plan the big trip back with your family!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just got back from a trip to Costa Rica and had a wonderful time in Manuel Antonio. My friends and I stayed at one of the three story villas and everything was perfect. Our personal concierge Andres was wonderful, and helped us with everything we needed from arranging a private dinner to recommending good nightlife. Overall really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hi V L......thanks for the review of your stay in one of our Buena Vista Three Bedroom Premium Villas......we're so glad that you enjoyed Tulemar......and thanks for the nice comments on Andres.....your personal concierge......when you book directly with us.....you'll get the services of a personal concierge.....that can help with all aspects of your visit....from transportation to the Manuel Antonio area.....to your tours/activities......dining options...even surf lessons or spa treatments right in your villa......the 3 Bedroom Premium Villa was a good choice for your group.......3 bedrooms/3.5 baths (everyone loves those indoor/outdoor showers) 3 floors/living-dining-full kitchen and that large balcony with a jacuzzi and ocean views......and all of the amenities of Tulemar......33 acres of jungle, wildlife and the Tulemar Beach (free lounge chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, kayaks, towels, food/beverage service).....4 pools....hiking trails....full service restaurtant......resort shuttle........and our location....right in the heart of Manuel Antonio.......10 restaurants, 2 ATMS and a grocery store within 2 blocks of our front gates.....thanks, again for posting the review and for booking with us at 4tulemar.com.

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Villa Mot Mot is spectacularly situated, and beautifully decorated, with every amenity our family of 5 possibly could have wanted. We enjoyed the beautiful beach, nature trails and pools. Before we had even gotten to our villa, Bill had already pointed out 2 sloths and a boa constrictor leisurely crossing the road. The daily monkey show on the Villa's deck was a highlight of our trip; we also saw several iguanas, lizards and birds on the premises. Diego's surf school is a fantastic choice, and all of the other tours (zip lining and white water rafting) that Bill arranged for our family were first class. Every last staff person at Tulemar was exceedingly professional and warm. I would give this resort 6 stars if it were an option!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
HI 25DDB......we loved having you with us in Tulemar.....so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Villa Mot Mot......the location, the ocean views, the design, the personal service from Bill and Diego.....and all of the wildlife visits.....really make a very special and popular villa.......(I don't know when you were there enough to see all the animals, your family was so active!)......Bill and Diego do a great job in making sure everything is perfect for your stay.....I'm happy that you also got to experience Diego's new surf school....it's really a lot of fun.....thanks for the wonderful review on your stay and thanks for booking with us directly.....we'd love to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, MN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I feel bad about this review because 2 of our 3 nights were excellent. My overall rating is reduced because of the last night. I tried to write two reviews but I couldn't do 2 reviews on the same property. We stayed at Tulemar for 3 nights, the first two in Villa Mot Mot which was the wonderful part and a Premium Bungalow for the last night which was not so wonderful. The first two nights in Villa Mot Mot could not have been any better. Very cozy inside, secluded on the outside with fabulous outdoor furniture, fantastic views, Bill the concierge was great, we had monkeys playing on our deck, the grocery delivery was fantastic, there were books and dvds in the villa, great dishes with real coffee cups, binoculars and umbrellas to borrow, the beds had comfy comforters on them and it was just a really great unit to rent that had everything you could ever want in a property in that price range. We moved the third night to a Premium Bungalow which was stark in comparison. The deck was wide open overlooking the walking path, the inside was not that great and was sparse, the deck furniture was not very nice, the beds had a thin comforter on them, there were few dishes in there and they were "standard" nothing special and no books or dvds in the room. On a positive note there was still a nice view and we still had some monkeys come visit us. I tried to justify it in my head that it must be a cheaper unit. I could not believe when I looked at my information that I had paid over 500.00 for the one night in this unit when it was no where near as nice as Villa Mot Mot which was cheaper. I have to say Tulemar should take note of what the owner of Villa Mot Mot is doing because she is doing it right. As far as the employees go, they were all nice, the pool we went to was nice as was the beach. I just was disappointed in my 500.00 villa after being spoiled in Villa Mot Mot. So the wonderful was VIlla Mot Mot, the grounds and the employees. The not so wonderful was our Premium Bungalow and the price.

Room Tip: Villa Mot Mot was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
HI bunnymom....thanks for the review of your stay in Villa Mot Mot and the Premium Bungalow.....and for the comparisons......as you know....each property in Tulemar is privately owned.....and the owner can be very involved in the design/decor/amenities and the pricing........such is the case here.....as you experienced and as you have read in the reviews......Villa Mot Mot is a very popular villa for all the reasons you mentioned.....the owner of our Premium Bungalow has different ideas......as you can also see by reading these reviews....we've not had one complaint on the Premium Bungalow (pricing or otherwise)......our guests are happy with that experience too......but when comparing against Villa Mot Mot.....there is no comparison.....the reason you spent the last night in the Premium Bungalow was that Villa Mot Mot was full....and the Premium Bungalow was not....(which makes the point)......I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us....thanks for the nice remarks about our staff....service and the pools......and we hope to have you back with us again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows, Buena Vista Villas and privately owned villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes and Villa Kiskadee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.