We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful resort offers outstanding service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Save
You added Tulemar Bungalows & Villas to your Saves list
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Mini Suites - From $175!
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“beautiful resort offers outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This resort exceeded my expectations. After reading several reviews and viewing pictures on various websites I was expecting it to be nice but it totally exceeded my expectations. The bungalows are beautiful and the views are hard to beat of the ocean and rainforest. The staff treats you like a celebrity. Starting off with Pablo in reservations, Danny (pool bartender), Andreas, and the front desk staff went out of their way to accomodate us. They even drove us around to try and spot monkeys which are around the property. The resort is located on a hillside with steep hills to walk. I personally loved the climb but my husband chose to get a ride, which they are always available to shuttle you around the property. The private beach along with paths through the rainforest are all within walking distance. It is also walking distance to a grocery store,and restaurants.HIghly recommend this resort and I can not wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Wald4.....thanks for the great review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows......we loved having you with us.....Pablo works with us in the office and specializes in reservations and "on line concierge" duties......he has the answers to your questions and is a fun and friendly guy.....our guests love him......and Danny is the bartender in our new pool bar and restaurant.......breakfast, lunch and dinner....all with an amazing ocean view......it sounds like the Bungalows were a good choice for you......they are kind of like the Jetson's house (if the Jetson's lived in Costa Rica)......up on stilts......glass all around......panoramic ocean views.......surrounded by trees......a jungle/rustic decor......with all of the amenities of Tulemar......4 pools.....our beach....hiking trails.....the resort shuttle......and the perfect location.....in the heart of Manuel Antonio.......thanks, again, for booking with Pablo at 4tulemar.com and we'll be ready for your return!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,239
    116
    29
    13
    5
See reviews for
665
438
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed two nights at Tulemar. The staff was very friendly and the property is nice. We had room 206/Squirrel room which was a separate unit/bungalow with two beds. The room was not as big as we thought it would be, but there was a table and chairs, microwave, fridge, safe and closet with some wire baskets for shelves. There were guests in the unit above us but we only heard them when they were on the balcony. The ac worked well and there were plenty of windows. The balcony was small so the hammock wasn’t fully spread out which was dissapointing but it was nice to have a table and chairs on the balcony. There was also a ceiling fan in the room and on the balcony. Furniture was in good condition and the beds and pillows were comfortable. There is a shuttle that takes you around the property and to the beach. Our biggest complaint was that it was quite a walk to get to our room. To get to our room was either down hill or up hill, depending on where you were dropped off by the shuttle. You could use a ramp or some stairs, but it was quite a ways from the drop off or pick up for the shuttle and it could be slippery in the rain. Their restaurants are not open on the property for dinner, but they have some restaurants that are walking distance from the hotel or that deliver. Victoria’s Pizza was very good for delivery to the room when it rained. There is also a big convenience store that is walking distance. We had a hamburger at the beach one day which was not very good and we also had a wrap, while good, was missing some of the ingredients. They have soda, water, suntan lotion, etc. in the room for purchase. If you don’t mind a walk and want a quiet resort, this is a nice place. If you have difficulty walking I would consider asking for a room that is easier to access. There is also free wifi. We saw a lot of birds, heard monkeys (but never saw them) and saw a sloth. There are two walking paths, one shorter walk has a small waterfall. We never used any of the pools. We had a view of the ocean in a distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Hi alwaysfuntotravel......glad you enjoyed your stay......but I'm not sure what is was that you expected......we try to be as clear as possible about our rooms.....(no matter which you select).....our web site for the Deluxe Room....that you were in shows photos and a diagram of the room.....and our bullet points explain that these rooms are located on the hillside and require steps/ramps to access.....I am sorry that your food at the beach wasn't to your liking and we will make sure the restaurant staff is aware....regarding your expectations......I think you might have been booked into our resort by a travel agent......and your information came from them instead of from our web site directly......I don't think we can be any more clear about what Tulemar is and isn't.....right at the top of our web site.....from the short copy...to the 10 points....to the video.....we tell it all......I'm glad that you didn't have a negative experience and did enjoy your stay.

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

A great end to end experience with Tulemar, starting well before the trip. The WEBSITE had lots of useful information. The CHAT-BOT on the website was well-staffed and they answered countless questions about all of Costa Rica (e.g., drive times that needed to be confirmed to finalize travel/flight plans) well before it was even established that I would be a customer there. The STAFF was great: Jason parked his moped to personally walk my spouse and me to the pool he felt was best suited for a rehab lap swim. Marvin holstered his landscaping machete briefly to let us know the monkeys were active nearby. The gate-kiosk guy was a pleasure. Printing boarding passes up at the main building was easy. Only the beach boys seemed a little out of sync at times, but there were some good interactions there too.

The overall facility was low-key and high-quality. Bi-lingual signage directions to/from the beach and walking trails were a nice reminder that you're in a Spanish-speaking country (unlike some of the heavily developed English-only spots between Quepos and the National Park gate). Conditions at the Bandera Azul (Blue Flag designation for clean/safe) beach were somewhat variable with the tides: at times rough, at others serene, but overall a very nice beach we enjoyed on several days. We stayed in one of the private homes (reviewed separately) and my spouse made a new friend - a MASSIVE iguana on the edge of the pool who impassively watched her swim back and forth. A really nice job by the whole team at Tulemar.

Room Tip: Use the chat-bot and/or phone Tulemar to describe your group size, ages and interests and they can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi SERUs....thanks for your great review on Tulemar.....particularly our web site and the "chat bot".....so many people are a little shy about clicking on the "chat" feature......PLEASE don't be intimidated.....you'll be chatting with one of us in the office here......we type in English (or Spanish if desired)......and some of us are SLOW typers.....so be a little patient.....but ask us as many questions as you would like.....when we don't know the answer.....we'll ask everyone in the office until we find out.....our web site also has so much information......about Manuel Antonio......transportation....the weather.....activities.....classes.....dining......let us help.....even if you don't stay with us.....4tulemar.com......thanks also for the kind words on our staff.....the gardeners and security guards too......hope to have you back with us!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Great place in a great location. Bungalows are lovely with a fantastic view. Even better if they had a balcony. Only complaint is the showers. Goes from very cold to scolding hot and not good with young children

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi Scott.....so sorry to hear about the shower.....please drop me an email at dave@4tulemar.com and let me know which bungalow you were in so that we can have it checked out....(or send your last name and I can look it up)......glad you enjoyed the views....they are amazing......and remember.....every property in Tulemar has a balcony or deck except for our 10 original bungalows......hope to see you back with us again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had the most incredible experience at Tulemar in Manuel Antonio. We were taken care of by Bill Bennett who was absolutely amazing and so friendly. The rooms were spotless and the view was breathtaking. We could do as little as we wanted or as much as we wanted, be it hanging on our private beach in the resort, taking surf lessons, exploring the rainforest, zip-lining, and so much more. We absolutely recommend it to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi Martin B.....so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Casa Mirador.....this one bedroom suite (with a king bed) is perfect for honeymoons (or for any couple).......the living/dining/kitchen area is great for relaxing or preparing a snack or even a full meal....(we can even have a private chef for a special dinner!).....and it has a wonderful balcony with amazing ocean views.....and the services of Bill/Diego as your personal concierge team.....thanks for spending your honeymoon with us and we'd love to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I traveled with my family (5 persons) to Costa Rica and our final destination was Manuel Antonio Tulemar Villas. The units are placed in a steep slope which ends in a small exclusive beach. They have plenty of space, beautiful terraces with hot tub, nice furniture and a very well equipped kitchen. Breakfast was served in a beachside palapa. We spent all day in the private beach, having margaritas from the bar. A wonderful experience. We enjoyed watching the capuccino monkeys walking on our villa´s terrace.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi CristianA......we loved having your family with us in Casa del Mar in Tulemar......Casa del Mar is a wonderful villa......two bedrooms/two and a half baths/two floors......large balcony with a jacuzzi.....indoor/outdoor showers in both baths....living/dining and full kitchen.....great ocean views.......and the services of Julien.....your personal concierge.......in addition to all of the amenities of Tulemar......thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just took a family trip to Costa Rica. There is only one word to describe the vacation, WOW. We stayed at Casa de Frutas in Tulemar and I can truly say that no place we have ever travelled or stayed can compare. Everybody was so friendly and the wild life was amazing. The monkeys were so close you could almost reach out and touch one (though it’s not recommended!). If you are a thrill seeker, I highly recommend taking time to go on the zipline tour and the white water rafting trip. After, you can return to Casa de Frutas and relax by the infinity pool. This was by far the best vacation we have ever taken. I’m ready to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Jacob.....we loved having your family with us at Casa de Frutas in Tulemar.....one of our premier, private villas......thanks for taking the time to post your review......Casa de Frutas is the perfect blend of architecture, style, luxury and ambiance......with personal service provided by Mauricio......and an amazing, panoramic, ocean view......it's what you hope a luxurious, tropical villa will be......thanks for booking with us and we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows, Buena Vista Villas and privately owned villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes and Villa Kiskadee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.