We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden House at Tulemar=Perfect for Families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Rate on Bungalows!
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Garden House at Tulemar=Perfect for Families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We shared this magnificent home with another family in April. Garden House was perfect for the adults, perfect for the children and made our escape from the cold north something remarkable and special. The four children (range 10-14) each commented they would rather return to Tulemar than go to Disney, Atlantis in the Bahamas, or a cruise. The kids have it right.

Garden House is a gem of a house with more than enough space for eight people. We easily could have invited a third family and the home would still be expansive and comfortable. The bedrooms are spacious and the living area fostered great interaction and relaxation for all. I have not slept so soundly in years. The house was clean, safe and comfortable. A nearby grocery store will deliver or it is a quick walk from there and back. When we loaded up with a week's worth of supplies, the kind young man who bagged our groceries gave us a ride back to the house. This type of kindness was typical of all our experiences at Tulemar.

The pool at Garden House makes this property stand apart from others at the development. The infinity pool overlooking the ocean provided hours fun, beautiful sunsets and complete relaxation. The pool was warm and clean and simply inviting. Our days started and ended in the pool each day. Most days troops of monkeys would swing by the trees and often stop to eat from a tree right near the pool. What a great treat this was!

The beach at Tulemar is amazing and private. Although we were at the property over Easter (a typically busy time), we were often one of the only groups at the beach. Breakfast at the beach (Have the french toast) is not to be missed! The attendants at the beach are attentive and friendly. Every employee at Tulemar made us feel welcome and truly appreciated as guests.

When renting Garden House you are given the services of a personal concierge, Thomas or Hazel, who will arrange everything you ask. We were able to arrange airport transportation, order groceries to be in the house when we arrived, hire a cook for select breakfasts and dinners, and book fabulous excursions simply by the exchange of a few emails. We were greeted at the house by Hazel who made sure we were comfortable and who was available all week to answer questions and help make our trip a complete fantasy vacation.

At booking the property owner will contact you directly and provide good advice and prompt responsive service. Our security deposit was refunded immediately upon our return along with an invitation to rent the home again.....and we will.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi Aaron W.....thanks for the great review on your stay in Garden House.....one of our premier, private villas in Tulemar.......so glad you enjoyed your stay......Garden House really is a great choice for 8-11 guests (1-2 families).....lots of sleeping arrangements.....a great pool......wildlife.....and all the amenities of Tulemar.......we'd love to have you back with us again.......thanks for booking with me at 4tulemar.com and we'll be ready when you are!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    982
    111
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
523
361
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

When we booked at Tulemar,only the bungalows without decks were available, except for one unit that far exceeded our finances. So based on the website photos and descriptions, we held our breath and opted for one of those older bungalows. "Older" meant that first built had the choicest locations, so we were at the top of the hill on which his resort compound is situated and had a stellar view of the jungle, the ocean and beaches below. That the unit was older was apparent in the hand built nature of the carpentry, for one thing and to tell you the truth, I found that charming, unique, and authentic. It was like staying in the ole' family summer cabin of our dreams. It was large (enormous actually), very nicely furnished with modern furniture and decor-- just like the pictures-- but to me, it had a homey, comfortable feel that I think may have been lacking in the newer units. I loved it. It is surrounded by full length windows on every side (except the bathroom, of course, and the kitchen, where the windows are waist up). Surrounded by mature tropical plants so close you could have reached out the windows and grabbed them, it felt that we were in a jungle tree house. The ceiling is quite high and seemed to dome up in the center, like a yurt. One entire side overlooked the ocean and because the bungalow was so high up, we had the advantage of cooling breezes whenever we cared to open all the windows. All of the windows slid open to screens and on the last day, I discovered that even the screens could be slid aside. There was a downhill shortcut to what is called the "family pool" that threads through the jungle on steps and trails. A longer trip takes you down to the beach which is just the most pleasant place to eat breakfast. When it's time to go uphill, a shuttle will mysteriously appear. On one morning walk down to the beach, we saw capuchin monkeys sailing through the trees and across the road way. On another morning, a sloth was down at the beach luxuriating in one of the trees. The family pool is nicely situated with an infinity edge and places to sit and watch the sunset by the bar. The bar, incidentally, serves sandwiches, burgers and the most wonderful real fruit smoothies with an early afternoon Happy Hour just when you want it the most. There is not an onsite restaurant for dinner, but many nice restaurants are available right outside the compound, within walking distance, and several will deliver dinner which you can eat in your own view dining area. Of course, there is also the kitchenette with fridge, burners, etc but since we had no kids along, why bother?! Faced with the same choice, knowing what I know now, I would not hesitate to make the same decision. There are many, many enchanting spots to sit outside, if that's what you crave, in sunshine or in rain, but you would be hard-pressed to experience the charm of this "jungle rustic" bungalow at Tulemar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi DiamondQueen.....thanks for the excellent and detailed review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows......I really appreciate the time you spent and your descriptions.......we try to be as honest and open as we can about all of our properties without overselling them......and raising expectations too high......but I feel exactly as you do about the Bungalows......they are 20 years old......and they do have a rustic, homey feel to them.....with amazing views.....I actually bought one and live in it year round......and I do the same thing as you mentioned.....I open all the windows and all the screens and let the breezes blow in.....it's like sitting on your front porch.....with jungle/ocean views.......thanks for the comments.......and we'd love to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful time at Tulemar. Dave and Mauricio are incredible!! Everything was excellent - every recommendation, all aspects of customer service, and of course, the accommodations. I would not hesitate to refer any of my friends to Tulemar and would definitely do it again.

Room Tip: Casa de Frutas or Villa Kiskadee are magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Jake.....thanks for the great review on your stay in Villa Kiskadee......one of our premier, private villas in Tulemar.......we loved having you and your family/friends with us.......Villa Kiskadee was perfect for your group......4 suites.......each with ocean views.....and balconies......plus the social areas have one of the BEST panoramic ocean views in all of Tulemar......plus the most wildlife visits.....due to it's secluded location......and Mauricio, as your own personal concierge.......thanks, again for posting the review and we hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

So relaxing and I needed it. Walking through the front doors and seeing the breathtaking view of the Pacific Ocean was just what the doctor ordered. Waking up each morning to the sounds of the monkeys in the trees around the house and doing my Yoga exercises by the pool with all the wonderful birds and wildlife around was just such an ideal setting. After having breakfast on the pool deck, I would walk to the beach, which was 5 minutes from the front door. It was so great to be able to walk down to it whenever I wanted and often a couple of times a day, and the beach itself is just incredible with a friendly and helpful staff.

The pool at the house was so great and inviting and warm, we could just jump in it day or night.

The tours that I took were great; the sunset sail tour, a horse back riding tour, Canopy Safari Zip line tour All were amazing and ever so much fun and all of the staff and guides offered such great service. I have traveled the world and I can say that this country does really appreciate their tourists.

I plan on returning in July, this time with my daughter, to share with her the wonderful experiences I had in Tulemar.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Hi Draha H......thanks for the wonderful review on your stay in Garden House....one of our premier, private villas in Tulemar.......your description was perfect.....and I'm happy that you'll be returning in July......Garden House is really our best villa for larger families......it sleeps 10 (or maybe 11 with little kids).......it has a big pool too with big sunny decks.......and great ocean views......plus all the amenities of Tulemar.....thanks again for posting the review and we'll see you in July!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a way to end our visit to Costa Rica. Incredible views, warm welcoming staff. Especially Orlando, who provided us with so much local information about where to eat, where to shop and other fun local knowledge.

The villa was nice, a little older than I had imagined, but the property was breath-taking. Lots of Monkeys, sloths, beautiful tropical birds.

The best things however was the incredible view of the rocky Pacific Coast.

Te private beach was great.... so many shade trees that some days we even went without sunscreen in the Tropical Paradise.

I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi Robert R....thanks for taking the time to post the review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows......we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.....and that Orlando took such good care of you......Tulemar is very special......from the amazing ocean views in the Bungalows.....to the amount of wildlife you'll see......and our Tulemar Beach......plus a perfect location in the heart of Manuel Antonio.....yes....the Bungalows are 20 years old......we describe them as "jungle rustic".....but they look exactly like they do in the photos.....if not better......thanks, again, for staying with us and we'd love to have you back!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed in Tulemar Bungalows the first week of April. We have been to Costa Rica on several occasions and the beauty of this property and the service we received we unsurpassed. We booked through Dave and had Chris Madrigal as our concierge. Chris was extremely helpful in organizing our transportation and our daily activities. We hiked in Manual Antonio, chartered a fishing boat out of Quepos, took the adventure tour through the jungle and took private surfing lessons.

The restaurants in the area are great. Our favorite was Cafe Milagro...we ate there for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is an easy walk from the property and the coffee is muy rico.

The Tulemar property is a very special place. The homes are perched high on a hill and a trail leads to a beautiful private beach. If you don't feel like walking there is a private shuttle on the property that is ready to pick you and your gang up for the ride to or from the beach. There are kayaks, lounge chairs, and boogie boards for your use at the beach. When we go back to Costa Rica we will definitely go back to Tulemar.

Pura Vida

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
HI DBWITT.....so glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows........they really are great for a small family......like a treehouse in the jungle......with great ocean views......rustic, but with all the amenities.......and having Chris as your personal concierge makes it even more special......he can take care of all the details.....like transportation from San Jose to Manuel Antonio.....and your tours/activities or fishing boat.....even dining suggestions or a trip to the grocery store.....glad to hear you also enjoyed the Tulemar Beach.......warm, tropical waters......lots of palm trees......and always a monkey or two hanging around......plus free lounge chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, boogie boards and towel service......thanks for booking with me at 4tulemar.com and we hope to see you back again....(Chris says "Hi"!).

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We ( mom , dad , 9 year old and 73 year old grandma) spent a week at Tulimar and had an awesome time. The property is beautiful.the private beach is really nice. You can even have breakfast or lunch ( or just drinks ) at the beach. There is a shuttle service that will take you back to your bungalow. I enjoyed the hiking trails . I saw bats, sloth, 3 kinds of monkeys, lots of birds including vultures , a variety of lizards and crabs on the property. We saw monkeys from our balcony ! The wildlife is more accessible that at the Manuel Antonio National Park!
The bungalow was just as beautiful as the photo on the website. It was luxurious and clean too.
Chris ( our concierge ) arranged everything to make our trip stress free and fun. He arranged our transportation from the airport , dinner reservations and our many activities. We went horseback riding, zip lining ( twice) and whitewater rafting. Chis was really great and took care of us .
Another great thing about the location is there are many really great restaurants close by ( some walking distance) .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Michael C.....thanks for the great review on your stay in Tulemar.....so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and the amenities.....like our beach.....the hiking trails.......the resort shuttle......and all of the wildlife......the abundance and variety of wildlife really makes your stay unique and exciting......and you're correct....our location is very handy.....we're right in the heart of Manuel Antonio......within walking distance to over 10 restaurants.....2 ATM's and a grocery store......thanks for the remarks about Chris.....your personal concierge......everyone loves Chris.....he really works hard to handle all of the details of your stay and to make sure you have a wonderful stay.......thanks for booking with me at 4tulemar.com and we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
Luxury, Pool, F...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 778 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#8 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Beach, Mid-rang...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Romantic, Beach...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Mariposa
Hotel La Mariposa
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows, Buena Vista Villas and privately owned villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes and Villa Kiskadee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tulemar Bungalows & Villas to your Saves list