We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden House by the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Save
You added Tulemar Bungalows & Villas to your Saves list
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tulemar Mini Suites-$220!
Paso Robles, California, United States
1 review
“Garden House by the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were on vacation with one another family with teenagers, so the age range of the people in our group was pretty vast. Garden House by the Beach was just an ideal choice, as one person in our group had issues dealing with stairs. The bedroom on the main floor, which could be entered without dealing with any stairs,made this house our choice. We all love swimming and could not have been happier with the large pool and the convenience of just jumping into it any time of the day, and enjoying the fun of swimming in it late at night with the stars above. The house afforded enough room to give us all our privacy and with televisions in all the rooms. Loved the fact that each bedroom had its own AC so that each of us could control our own temperature environment The maid was great and never in our way, and the house manage, Thomas and his assistant, made us feel like the house was really our own home during our stay., Great to have some food and drink already at the house when we arrived so we did not have to rush out to the store before settling into the house. The teenagers were never bored. Jumped into the pool upon arrival. The beach a short walk within the guarded private community, so it gave them just enough independence. They did not have to wait for all of us to be ready to go out the door. They could just go enjoy the waves and we would meet up with them at our own convenience and pace. We could use the free shuttle which was also handy as it is uphill climb back to the house, but great exercise when you are up to it. The beach itself was wonderful with the fact that you do not have to open your wallet to pay for every single thing you wanted to use, such as the kayaks and boogie boards and snorkeling equipment, Also great was the convenience of being able to have food service right at the beach, although a little pricey well worth the convenience of being able to be served a meal right on the beach with the entire family under the shade of the palm trees overlooking the Pacific. Really a treat. The bar service was also amazing with drinks brought to us right at our lounge chairs, and the service was great even setting up umbrellas for us when we arrived and helping rearranging our lounge chairs for our group. Cannot say enough on how this was an ideal location and house for a family vacation with great memories that will last a lifetime for all of us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi dlevine007.....thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay in Garden House.....one of our private villas in Tulemar......we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.....Garden House really is our "family friendly" villa.....with accommodations to sleep up to 10 (or maybe 11) guests......perfect for one large or a couple of smaller families......plus it has one of the largest pools in Tulemar........plus great ocean views.......and access to all of the amenities of the resort......our beach.....the hiking trails.....the resort shuttle......plus personal concierge service.....thanks for booking with us and we hope to see you back in Tulemar again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    116
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
642
426
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We recently got back from a 3 night stay in a one bedroom villa at Tulemar (our Villa was the Ocelet). It was absolutely amazing! We are a family of 4 - 2 adults and 2 children ages 9 & 13 - and the one bedroom villa worked wonderfully for us. The views of the water and surrounding rain forests are stunning. The villa was very spacious and clean. The deck was great - had it's own hammock which my daughter loved! Sitting out on the deck and just enjoying the surroundings was awesome. We were treated to a pair of titi monkeys visting us on the deck one afternoon as well as sightings of a Kinkajou and Toucan.

As others have said, the beach was great. Very small and private. Dave at the beach was a tremendous help in getting whatever you needed. The kids enjoyed afternoons of boogie boarding (very warm water!) and searching for hermit crabs. My daughter also spent some time in the family pool which was a nice size.

One of the highlights of our visit was having a personal chef come to the Villa to prepare a meal. Chef Jose and his assistant Robbie prepared the BEST meal we enjoyed on our vacation. It was absolutely amazing. They were also very fun to have - our kids loved talking with them and peppered them with many questions which they were great in answering. I can't recommend them enough if you can do this!!

Hiking around the various Tulemar paths is also amazing. The North Beach path in particular has some stunning views and I saw many animals along the way.

All of the concierge help we needed at Tulemar was wonderful as well. Emily was awesome in assisting us prior to our visit and helping to arrange outings.

I would highly recommend Tulemar on your visit to the Manuel Antonio area. Our kids already want to know when they can go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi Wisconsin Badger......we loved having you and your family with us in one of our 1 Bedroom Villas......the large balcony is perfect for watching the sunset over the ocean or "hosting" a visit by the local wildlife......David at the beach is a treasure........he remembers everyone from years back and is always around to provide lounge chairs, umbrellas, kayaks and boogie boards.......Emily, your on line concierge, is originally from Houston, came to Costa Rica as an English teacher in the local schools and now helps to plan the trips down for other North Americans.......she also knows all the best tour guides and activities including Chef Jose......what a treat for your family......we love him too......thanks for taking the time to post the review and we'll be ready for your return!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We spent 3 fabulous days at Tulemar enjoying the wonderful beach, gorgeous house, friendly service, and ideal location. The beach and cafe are so special- not crowded but enough people you feel secure to swim in the water. We walked to three fantastic dinners. It was a great place to end our CR trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi Caitlin....we loved having you with us in one of our Tulemar Bungalows.......thanks for mentioning our "ideal location"......we are right in the heart of Manuel Antonio........there are 10 restaurants within 2 blocks of our front gates....as well as 2 ATM's......and a grocery store.......plus you have all the conveniences of the resort.....our beach....the pools....the resort shuttle......the hiking trails.......and our personal concierge service to help with all the details of your stay.....thanks for booking with me and we hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We spent four nights in a two bedroom villa at Tulemar in early April. I can't say enough nice things about our stay. The service was impeccable, as was the villa and the grounds. For us the best part was the wildlife and the birds. We had monkeys right around our house on several occasions. They were not at all aggressive, and actually let us take pictures as they ate fruit from trees just a few feet away.
We will definitely go back to Tulemar at the first opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi Pat......thanks for the wonderful review on your stay in Tulemar......we are so fortunate to have so much wildlife within our 33 acre resort......all three types of monkeys.....both types of sloths......plus exotic birds and reptiles........all in your "backyard".......we try to inform our guests of the dangers of feeding the monkeys......it is such a temptation....but besides the health issues.....(on both sides).....it can make them aggressive......when they don't get fed.....we sure appreciate your respect of the animals......in order for everyone to enjoy and their well being too.....thanks for coming to Tulemar and we'd love to have you back!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We just got back from an amazing vacation at Manuel Antonio, and we loved every minute of it. We stayed in the Red Frog Casa (one of the three-story villas) with six adults and three young children. Because my son is only 9 months old, our concierge (Bryan) acquired a crib and high chair for him. Additionally, Bryan added netting around the balcony to make it safer for such a small child. We were greeted by squirrel monkeys soon after arrival, and my older kids (ages 3 and 5) jumped into the hot tub immediately. The villa and Tulemar property are so delightful, my kids wanted to stay all day! We enjoyed some excursions to the Fincas Naturales and the Manuel Antonio National Park, but we were happy to hike the beautiful Tulemar trails and play on the beach most days. The private beach was perfect; we enjoyed eating on the beach and meeting other guests. We also used the boogie boards and kayaks to enjoy the ocean. We spent every afternoon at the spectacular family pool. The drinks were delicious, and both kids and adults loved the water. It was an easy walk from our villa, and my kids had fun meeting other kids at the pool. We usually ate breakfast at the villa, and there are several local restaurants that are less than 5 minutes away. We also ordered takeout, and delivery to Tulemar was exceptionally convenient! All in all, we could not have asked for a more perfect vacation. Even with three small children!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi Liz....thanks for sharing your experience at Tulemar.....so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our 3 bedroom villas......and that Bryan took such good care of you.....Tulemar sounds like it was "perfecto" for your family......the villa, our beach, the pools, our hiking trails.....all made for a great stay.....we'd love to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in the Buena Vista 3 Bedroom Villas for a week at the end of February. We had a group of 10 adults, with 6 of us staying in the 3 story, picture perfect villa. First, the staff at Tulemar is amazing, but we absolutely fell in love with Julien our concierge for the week. He arranged excursions, taxis, dinner cooked in our villa by a chef, massages in the room and helped us with any other needs we had. Julien showed us that vacationing in Costa Rica is all about Pura Vida. Tulemar is a gorgeous property with multiple pools for those that like to lounge around, but the private beach with free kayaks, snorkeling equipment and boogie boards is where the action is! There is a great snack bar down at the beach, so you can enjoy breakfast and lunch with cocktails in the Costa Rica sun. There are multiple restaurants with amazing food in walking distance from Tulemar, so you will never go hungry! We were all very sad to leave, but would highly recommend Tulemar and it's staff to anyone that is looking for an amazing trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Moose09....thanks for the great review on your stay in one of our 3 three bedroom villas and Tulemar......we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your personal concierge.....Julien....(our little Frenchman)......Julien moved to Costa Rica right after graduating from school in France.....learned Spanish and English.....married a Costa Rican.....and now has a wonderful family.....and works for us exclusively.......Julien knows the best tour guides, massage therapist (that come right to the villa).....private chefs.....and can even arrange surf lessons......Julien also teaches kick boxing.....if you are interested!......having a personal concierge really makes the trip easy and so much fun.....plus you have all the amenities of Tulemar (our beach, the pools, the shuttle, the hiking trails)........and the perfect location.....right in the heart of Manuel Antonio.....thanks again for booking with me and we hope to have you back again.....Julien will be waiting!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our 6th trip to Costa Rica and our 2nd (but definitely NOT the last) stay in the Tulemar Gardens. We stayed @ the Casa de Frutas for Spring Break this year and couldn't have been happier!! We were greeted at the house by Dave and Mauricio and they already knew all 6 of us personally by name! Instantly, we felt like old friends! Walking up the steps to the main level and seeing the amazing sunset view of the Pacific ocean literally takes your breath away! Casa de Frutas is simply gorgeous, VERY open and quite comfortable. The layout and design of the house is perfect...well done Dave!! A welcome fruit basket and juice drinks awaited us, as well as some monkeys walking a tight-rope right off the balcony! The two suites downstairs were perfect for our 4 teens to have their own space to hang out....they loved playing cards, hanging out by the pool and going sloth searching. Mauricio took personal care of us and did a fantastic job of organizing all our activities (zip line, jet ski, horseback riding, etc) and dinner reservations. In fact, he was in contact via email months/weeks ahead of time so that we would make the most of our time there. Additionally, he spoiled us with wonderful surprise treats like warm homemade brownies, sarongs, authentic coconut water (aka, agua de pipa), and a traditional home-cooked tico style breakfast. So yummy!! Mayela, Sandra and Christian all took wonderful care of daily housekeeping, laundry and kept the private pool spotless during our stay. Besides the amazing accommodations, another thing we really appreciate about Tulemar is the private beach. A shuttle runs to/from your house/villa all the time. There's great food (especially breakfast), kayaks, and just enough people to make it interesting, but definitely not crowded or loud. We always feel very safe and secure in Tulemar, however it's very easy to walk to shops/restaurants or grab a 5-minute cab ride to the marketplace and beach. We loved every minute that we stayed there and were sad to say goodbye to our Tulemar "family". We love you all!! Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi Sandee.....we loved having your family (and their friends) with us in Casa de Frutas....one of our premier private villas in Tulemar......the kids were so active......they kept Mauricio busy with all of their tours and adventures.....we're so glad you enjoyed your stay in Casa de Frutas.....the Bali Modern architecture, the design, the ambiance, the luxury, the AMAZING panoramic ocean views and the tropical, open air design make it very special.....it is featured in this issue of the Manuel Antonio Magazine too....and then add to that the amenities of Tulemar......our beach, the hiking trails, the resort shuttle......and our location right in the heart of Manuel Antonio....makes it such a great choice....(as you found out).....and we're so happy that you found a piece of real estate in the area and plan to build your own home here too.....but in the meantime....we'd love to have you back at any time!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows, Buena Vista Villas and privately owned villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes and Villa Kiskadee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.