We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Just Doesn't Get Better Than Tulemar!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bungalows-1 Night Free!
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It Just Doesn't Get Better Than Tulemar!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our 6th trip to Costa Rica and our 2nd (but definitely NOT the last) stay in the Tulemar Gardens. We stayed @ the Casa de Frutas for Spring Break this year and couldn't have been happier!! We were greeted at the house by Dave and Mauricio and they already knew all 6 of us personally by name! Instantly, we felt like old friends! Walking up the steps to the main level and seeing the amazing sunset view of the Pacific ocean literally takes your breath away! Casa de Frutas is simply gorgeous, VERY open and quite comfortable. The layout and design of the house is perfect...well done Dave!! A welcome fruit basket and juice drinks awaited us, as well as some monkeys walking a tight-rope right off the balcony! The two suites downstairs were perfect for our 4 teens to have their own space to hang out....they loved playing cards, hanging out by the pool and going sloth searching. Mauricio took personal care of us and did a fantastic job of organizing all our activities (zip line, jet ski, horseback riding, etc) and dinner reservations. In fact, he was in contact via email months/weeks ahead of time so that we would make the most of our time there. Additionally, he spoiled us with wonderful surprise treats like warm homemade brownies, sarongs, authentic coconut water (aka, agua de pipa), and a traditional home-cooked tico style breakfast. So yummy!! Mayela, Sandra and Christian all took wonderful care of daily housekeeping, laundry and kept the private pool spotless during our stay. Besides the amazing accommodations, another thing we really appreciate about Tulemar is the private beach. A shuttle runs to/from your house/villa all the time. There's great food (especially breakfast), kayaks, and just enough people to make it interesting, but definitely not crowded or loud. We always feel very safe and secure in Tulemar, however it's very easy to walk to shops/restaurants or grab a 5-minute cab ride to the marketplace and beach. We loved every minute that we stayed there and were sad to say goodbye to our Tulemar "family". We love you all!! Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi Sandee.....we loved having your family (and their friends) with us in Casa de Frutas....one of our premier private villas in Tulemar......the kids were so active......they kept Mauricio busy with all of their tours and adventures.....we're so glad you enjoyed your stay in Casa de Frutas.....the Bali Modern architecture, the design, the ambiance, the luxury, the AMAZING panoramic ocean views and the tropical, open air design make it very special.....it is featured in this issue of the Manuel Antonio Magazine too....and then add to that the amenities of Tulemar......our beach, the hiking trails, the resort shuttle......and our location right in the heart of Manuel Antonio....makes it such a great choice....(as you found out).....and we're so happy that you found a piece of real estate in the area and plan to build your own home here too.....but in the meantime....we'd love to have you back at any time!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    996
    113
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
533
365
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family stayed at the Tulemar for 3 nights in March 2013. The Tuelmar property is gorgeous - situated on a steep jungle covered hill that plunges into the ocean. Their private beach is spectacular and the pools are nice (hint go to the non-family pool for some peace). Our condo was fine but not great (#117) although others looked wonderful. Be sure to request a balcony (all were sold out for us) but I think this would greatly enhance the room and your experience.

I only have positive things to say about Tulemar - Manuel Antonio is another matter. We have been to CR 3 times to the Nicoya Peninsula, Arenal and Osa Peninsula. MA is the most touristy place in all of CR. We were overwhelmed by the density of restaurants and tourist places on the 2 mile road up to MA (thought we were in Mexico which we hate). The public beach is so crowded and loud - thank goodness we had the Tulemar private beach! We didn't make it to the park as we had spent a week in the Osa prior to MA but I'm sure its beautiful. There is no where to walk in town- just a strip of dirt off the side of the road. I will say that the food was great. So do your research and if you do come to MA stay at a hotel with a private beach so you can get away and rent a car so you can get around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
HI Stephanie....thanks for taking the time to post a review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows......I agree....the views are great.......and a balcony does make a big difference......but our original 14 bungalows (the single level, octagon shaped ones) don't have them......(all of our other accommodations do have either a balcony or deck)......the original Bungalows are still a wonderful place to stay......(I bought one about 7 years ago and live in it year round-you can open all the windows/screens around the bungalow and it's like you're sitting on the porch).........glad to hear that you enjoyed our beach and the pools (there are several to use).......yes......Manuel Antonio can be busy during the peak season (Dec-Apr)......especially at the Manuel Antonio beach.....the vendors and the crowds.....it's fun to go there once and see the park and have lunch at the beach.......but then come on back to Tulemar to enjoy some quiet time at the Tulemar Beach.....and out to dinner at one of the great restaurants nearby......Manuel Antonio really isn't a town......but mostly a 5 mile road that runs between Quepos on one end and the national park on the other........with all of the little hotels/restaurants/shops along the way....but it sounds like you might have missed out on Quepos......lots of places to walk around......along the waterfront....to the new marina.....the fruit/vegetable market on Friday PM and Saturday AM.....some fun little restaurants/bars/shops too.....but mostly Quepos is a "working town".....for the locals that live nearby....to do their shopping/business/government related tasks......it's not a tourist town with a Starbucks and Banana Republic......it's "real"......thanks for taking the time to post your review and we'd love to have you back in Tulemar again.....during a slower time.......I think you'd enjoy it more!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just recently stayed at Tuelmar and it was AWESOME!!!! The service was excellent and we loved the hiking trails that led down to the private beach. There was such a variety of wildlife, and we loved the fact that the bungalow was nestled right in the middle of it all. It is hard to say what the best part of the stay was because it was all so excellent. We can't wait to book our next vacation through Dave and bring all of our friends back to enjoy this experience!

Room Tip: The bungalow is like having your own house with amazing views out of every window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Tyler and Kendra.....so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows......they are great.....tropical and rustic......nestled in the jungle.....with amazing ocean views......I'm also glad that you took advantage of our nature trails.......lots to see.....including all the wildlife and views of the ocean and nearby beaches......thanks for booking with me and we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I got married on the beach in Tulemar in 2009. We have been back twice and have stayed at the Garden House. We are planning to return next winter. It is absolutely amazing! I would highly recommended this home to anyone planning a trip to Manuel Antonio. It has spectacular views overlooking the ocean and jungle. The monkeys usually visit in the morning while we are enjoying the sunrise from the patio. The house has 4 bedrooms plus a smaller room with a daybed. We comfortably slept our family of 7 with room to spare. All of the staff is extremely welcoming and kind!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi Lindsey.....thanks for the review of your stay in Garden House......we loved having you back.....Garden House is a great choice for families......5 bedrooms....with lots of sleeping arrangements for 10 (or maybe 11) guests.....perfect for one or two families.....plus it has one of the largest pools in Tulemar......and great ocean views too.....thanks for staying with us and we look forward to your return!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent 5 nights in Casa Panorama and it lived up to all the reviews. From the second we arrived we were looked after really well by both Bill and Diego. The apartment was spacious with excellent facilities and a view to die for for. You MUST do the north walk, the southwalk is short & less interesting, but the North is great. We saw so much wildlife during our stay and took so many photos. Howler monkeys, spider monkeys, white faced monkeys, 2 and 3 toes sloths, lizards ... etc and the extraordinary land crabs. The private beach is never that that busy and has good shade. Watching the sun set from our balcony each nigh was amazing. The only disappointment was the pool. The only pool is small and occupied by kids and people sipping cocktails, so not a "swimming" pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi Kevin......so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stayed in Casa Mirador/Casa Panorama.......the panoramic ocean views really are amazing......and the large balcony is the perfect place to enjoy them......thanks for mentioning our hiking trails too.....(the North and the South trails).......as you said.....the North trail is the best for spotting wildlife (especially in the early AM) and catching spectacular views of the beaches and ocean......a true delight......Diego and Bill are a great concierge team.....handling all of the details for you......but they should have mentioned there are two other pools for your use.....(besides the one that is closest to the villa).....including one that is adults only.......we hope you'll come back and stay with us again......and take advantage! Thanks for posting your review and booking with me.

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We were at Tulemar last week, the week before Easter, and had a great time. It's all true -- the villa was gorgeous, the view was beautiful, the private beach was wonderful (plenty of sun and shade), the monkeys came to visit in the AM, and the concierge was super-helpful. My 14 year old son loved it as much my 74 year old mother.

Highlights were the zip-line trip and the Manuel Antonio guided tour. But for me the best part was staying at a beautiful place in a beautiful country where we were well taken care of.

I'm a big fan of Tulemar!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi SomersCA......thanks for wonderful review on your stay in Tulemar in one of our Villas......we loved having you with us......Tulemar really does have something for everyone......our resort pools.....our beach....the wildlife......the hiking trails.....personal concierge service to help with all of the details......from tours/activities to your meals......thanks for booking with me at 4tulemar.com.....we'd love to have you back with us!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This place was awesome. It's in a private little 'park' with it's own secluded beach, lots of flora and fauna, and places to walk around. The one drawback is it is very hilly, so the walking is truly a work out--good or bad on that depending on what you want.
The private secluded beach bay can be walked to easily or you can take a shuttle--again it's about 200 yards there but very steep roads up and down. It is only open to those using this area. There is towel service there, beverages, food, kayaks for use, etc... It was VERY nice. Additionally there are hikes through the forest of that area where we saw lots of monkeys up close and personal and there were some great overlooks out over the ocean that would be great for picnics.
The bungalows were very well appointed. wifi free, tv. 2 seperate rooms, updated and extremely clean.
The hotel is located within walking distance of numerous restaurants and a super market.
People were very nice.
In terms of questions below, I don't think there was a fitness center that i know of.
All in all a tremendous experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi Mike.....thanks for your review on Tulemar and the Tulemar Bungalow.....so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.......you're right......Tulemar is like its own little "park"......33 acres......with hiking trails.....lots of wildlife.....flora and fauna.......and a wonderful beach.......all of our accommodations are on the hillside above.....providing amazing ocean views......especially the Bungalows......and we're located right in the heart of Manuel Antonio.....over 10 restaurants within 2 blocks of our front gates.....plus 2 ATM's.....and a grocery store.....thanks, again, for posting your review and we'd love to see you back!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows, Buena Vista Villas and privately owned villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes and Villa Kiskadee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tulemar Bungalows & Villas to your Saves list