We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Save Saved
You added Tulemar Bungalows & Villas to your Saves list
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bungalows-1 Night Free!
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a Junior Suite Bungalow this past week and it was much more than we could have ever hoped for. It's almost like staying in the middle of a zoo! We saw more animals on the property than we did at Manuel Antonio National Park. The beach is incredible, and we had a blast on the kayaks going out to snorkel in the coral reefs. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for an adventurous and beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hi Dish1021.....thanks for the great comments on your stay in one of our JR Suites........we loved having you with us for your honeymoon......two of our most unique assets are the Tulemar Beach and the amount of wildlife within our 33 acre resort......thanks for mentioning them......the tropical beach is amazing......warm waters, gentle waves, sandy beach.....lots of palms and jungle.....with free lounge chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, boogie boards, towel service, rest rooms and food/beverages......and you'll probably see all three types of monkeys within Tulemar......plus sloths, exotic birds and lots of iguanas......it is like a zoo because we are living in their home....the Costa Rica jungle......thanks again for staying with us and we hope to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,023
    114
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
553
370
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went to Costa Rica in February. We spent 4 nights in the La Fortuna area and then spent 5 nights at Tulemar. We would highly recommend it to anyone. At Tulemar we stayed 4 nights in the bungalows and one night in a buena vista suite. They both were awesome but we liked the bungalow the best. It had the most incredible views! We loved the resort. We stayed there most of the day on the beach. It was never crowded and there were always kayaks, boogie boards, and snorkel gear available whenever we wanted it. We ate a few times at the restaurant on the beach and although service was slow the food was great. We walked to the super joseth and got cereal and milk and had that in the mornings in our rooms. Each night we walked to a restaurant from the resort. Julian was our concierge and always suggested a place or made a reservation for us. We did an adventure tour (ADV park) and had a great time on it. The guides were very knowledgable and the others on the trip were from Tulemar. We also went to the National Park one day and hiked. We got a guide which we normally wouldn't have done but we're glad we did. They were able to see a lot more than we would have ever seen on our own. We spent the rest of the day on the public beach where the waves were much bigger. We rented a surf board and boogie board. It was fun to big in some bigger waves. The waves at Tulemar aren't as big but still fun for boogie boarding. The hike down to the beach at Tulemar wasn't bad and we normally walked back to our room for the exercise. Several mornings we went running through the roads in the resort and saw tons of monkeys and other wildlife. The weather was awesome while we were there and everyone was always so friendly and nice. We had a great trip and highly recommend staying at Tulemar.

Room Tip: We loved the bungalows but be sure to leave your A/C on all day....if not, it won't be able to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Hi Mandy.....thanks for the great review on your stay in the Tulemar Bungalows........Julien loved having you as his guests.....(our personal concierge service makes your trip so easy and fun!).....the Bungalows are very special.......tropical, rustic design with amazing ocean views, surrounded by jungle with lots of opportunities to view the wildlife.......almost like a tree house.....plus all of the amenities of Tulemar.......and it sounds like you took advantage of most.....we always suggest people walk down to our beach.....5-7 minutes.....and you will usually see monkeys or sloths or some exotic birds......or be adventurous and take the hiking trails......if you prefer not to walk.....the resort shuttle can take you both directions......thanks for staying with us and we hope to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

A perfect family vacation! Garden House Is so beautiful and comfortable...the infinity pool, the lovely views of the ocean, and jungle, complete with monkeys,iguanas beautiful birds. The staff was wonderful. I did not want to leave! Also we all took an amazing zip line tour at Canopy Safari...great for all ages,even mine.

Room Tip: I liked being on the ground floor, waking up to the sounds of the monkeys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Jeremy.....thanks for the review on Garden House in Tulemar......it's our "family friendly" villa......5 bedrooms.....sleeping up to 10 guests......with a large pool and sunny deck areas.......perfect for 1 large family or 2 families sharing......and you get all the amenities of Tulemar......our beach, the hiking trails, the resort shuttle and the Beach Bar and Grill.......glad to hear that you enjoyed the zip lines too......one of the most popular tours in the area......always something fun to do here......or maybe nothing at all.....just relaxing by the pool with a cool drink......thanks, again for staying with us and we hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The bungalow was very comfortable and the view cannot be beat. It was prepared with flowers and a whole fruit tray prior to our arrival so everything was perfect. Our concierge was always available to help with lots tips and knowledge of the area. I would highly recommend this bungalow if you're staying in the area. It's a little walk to the beach so you might want to take your vehicle but one of the three pools is right across the street. The beach is phenomenal! Beautiful white sand and staff help you with your chairs. There's a little bar/grill so you can lunch there and enjoy the view with your favorite tropical drink. I would do it again and again. It was the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi Barbra.....thanks for the review and the kind words about your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows........Chris, your personal concierge........loved making your stay a little more special with the flowers and fruit.......(plus a few other surprises).......thanks for booking with me at 4tulemar.com.......and we hope to see you again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

What an amazing view from Casa Panorama! The sunsets everyday into the Pacific Ocean are amazing. The frequent trips from the squirrel and white faced monkeys right to your balcony are memories that will last forever. The inside of Casa Panorama upper is beautiful with all of the amenities of home. Very spacious and also great views throughout. The hikes down to the beach are a lot of fun and great exercise. They are steep and Tulemar supplies a timely shuttle if you would like a ride. The walk down gives you a great opportunity to see squirrel, white faced and howler monkeys roaming the trees above. We also spotted a sloth with her baby, a boa constrictor and a toucan. The beach is private and nice with surprise visits from the monkeys. There are many restaurants right outside of Tulemar and the food is very good. Kapi Kapi, Agua Azul, Cafe Milagro and Victorias were some of our favorites. Kimberly is a great host and knows all of the tours and restaurants inside and out. Just tell her what you have in mind and she will provide all of the information you need to make a great choice. She then sets everything up hassel free. White water rafting and a tour with crocodile man were a ton of fun. The tour guides are really knowledgeable and made a novice white water rafter like myself feel completely safe. My girlfriend and myself had a dream vacation at Casa Panorama and can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Nick.....thanks for the excellent review on your stay in Casa Panorama in Tulemar......I know that you really enjoyed yourselves since you've already booked with us for next year.......Casa Panorama has one of the best ocean views in all of Tulemar....combine that with all the amenities of Tulemar......(the beach, the pools, the wildlife visits, the hiking trails) and the personal concierge service of Kimberly.....and you've got the perfect spot......thanks for mentioning our location too.....right in the heart of Manuel Antonio......from our front gates.....there are over 10 restaurants within a 2 block radius......plus 2 ATM's.....and a grocery store.......thanks again for booking with me and we'll see you next year!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was the most beautiful and relaxing vacation anyone could ask for. Casa Mirador was absolutely amazing. My husband and I stayed here with another couple and were blown away by the gorgeous house,the great amenities, the beautiful views, and the awesome staff. The staff at Tulemar definitely went above and beyond to make our stay one to remember. Our concierge Bill was fantastic. He was very respectful of our privacy but at the same time very attentive to all of our needs. He even made arrangements for us on his day off. David - treated us like royalty at the private beach. He would set up our chairs, offer towels, and provided us with a table for our cooler of beer (i think he mentioned so we didn't have to reach so far for our drinks). Daniela and Al I think are the best bartenders I know. They were quick to mix up drinks pool side that were VERY tasty and refreshing(Coco Loco was one of my favorites and I highly recommend). During our stay we did alot of sight seeing and visited many restaurants but what stands out the most is the Phenomenal food that chef Kris prepared. He came to our house, prepared and enduldged us in the most amazing food! Many mornings we would walk the grounds of Tulemar only to see families of squirrel monkeys, howler monkeys, flocks of red and green parrots, a sloth (that the wonderful grounds crew ponted out to us), and many other critters. Who needs the national park when you can see everything with Tulemar. Every night we would end the night by watching the most magnificent sunset from our balcony. We have only been home a couple of weeks and we are ready to go back. Bill get ready we are coming with the entire family. Tulemar definitely made me a Costa Rican lover. Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Kersten......thanks for your review of Casa Mirador.......the villa with such amazing ocean views......great for 2 couples or a family of 3-6 persons......2 bedrooms-2.5 baths-2 floors......2 large balconies (one with a jacuzzi tub).......living, dining and full kitchen......plus the service of Diego and Bill.....your personal concierge team.......to handle all of the details.......and make your stay easy......glad you mentioned the wildlife.......yes, you can usually see wildlife from your accommodations......but the best way to see the monkeys, sloths and exotic birds is to get outside and walk around......either on our hiking trails (early mornings are best)......or just down to the beach........or up to the front gates.......you're sure to see something......and if there is a sloth sleeping in one of the trees......a staff member will likely point it out to you........and having a personal chef during your stay (even for just one special dinner) is such a wonderful experience.......thanks again for booking with me and we'd love to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed 3 nights May 2012. Family of 4 greatly enjoyed staying at the bungalow. Beach was great and at times we were the only ones on the beach! Having the kitchen facilities together with a separate bedroom made these accommodations work so well for our family.

The kids enjoyed watching the variety of wildlife. Monkeys, sloths, iguanas and more.

Room Tip: Bungalows near the pool are an easy walk to the beach. Leaving the beach is uphill and the shuttle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Molly.....thanks for posting a review for your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows......they really are perfect for a small family......a separate bedroom with two queen beds.......a living/dining/kitchenette......bath......windows all the way around.....set in the jungle with great ocean views.......kind of like a tree house with air conditioning........plus all the amenities of Tulemar.....the beach.....the pools.....the wildlife.......the resort shuttle.......and we're located right in the heart of Manuel Antonio.......10 restaurants, 2 ATM's and a grocery store within 2 blocks of our front gates....thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows, Buena Vista Villas and privately owned villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes and Villa Kiskadee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.