We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing honeymoon at Tulemar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Save Saved
You added Tulemar Bungalows & Villas to your Saves list
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bungalows-1 Night Free!
Royal Oak, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing honeymoon at Tulemar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent two weeks in Costa Rica for our honeymoon and ended our stay in this beautiful country at Tulemar and it was paradise. We met our concierge Bill right when we arrived and he was the best. He gave us a personal tour of the property, the beach, and the surrounding restaurants and such. Bill and Diego were so helpful with trip and dinner reccomendations and made our honeymoon and stay at Tulemar unforgettable. We stayed in the mot mot lower with amazing views and wildlife right outside our patio. We loved having the outdoor kitchen and cooked breakfast every morning and had cocktails watching the sunset at night. The private beach was amazing and Daniella at the bar makes the best drinks. We enjoyed walking ( the trails are great too) to the beach enjoying the views and seeing the animals and taking advantage of the shuttle back up. We will be back and would like to bring our families next time! Pura Vida

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hi Courtney....thanks for posting the great review on Mot Mot Hideaway and your stay in Tulemar.....I love that you made so many comments on our staff.....from your personal concierges to Daniella at the beach......they really are special and do make your entire stay special as well.....we're also happy that you enjoyed Mot Mot Hideaway......which was just completely renovated......(new photos will appear in mid-January on our web site).......we're happy that you were here for your honeymoon and we do want to have you and your family back with us!

Thanks, again....

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,023
    114
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
553
370
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ashland, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

When we arrived there were cold mango drinks waiting for us. Our guide Chris was there to greet us and show us to our room. We loved our room including the fresh flowers that adorned our table. The views from our room were breathtaking and the private beach was an added bonus. There were monkeys everywhere, pools, and restaurants minutes from your room, truly an amazing place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Hi Sonja.....so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Tulemar.....in one of our Tulemar Bungalows.......yes....the ocean views from the Bungalows are amazing......and all the little extras that Chris, your personal concierge, provides.....from the treats.....to the flowers......to the advice on tours and activities.....make it very special.....thanks for staying with us......and we hope to see you again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We had the most amazing stay at Tulemar. We specifically stayed in the Casa De Frutas Villa which was spectacular! The location was perfect; easy access to the various pools, private beach, and walking distance to other restaurants and shops in Manuel Antonio.

The complimentary shuttle service served us very well getting back and forth to the beach as well as around the complex.

There is wildlife and natural beauty everywhere!! It is truly the most beautiful place.

The staff was absolutely amazing. Helpful, knowledgeable, and would go out of their way to make our stay more comfortable, relaxing, and fun. Mauricio, Fabian, Eduardo, Jose, Christian, Mayella, and Sandra made our trip fabulous.

This was an incredible place to stay. I highly recommend staying here!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
HI Dmlurie.......we loved having you and your family with us at Casa de Frutas.....one of our premier, private villas in Tulemar......the location and the amazing ocean views really do make it special......combined with the wonderful staff and all of the amenities of Tulemar.......our beach, the hiking trails, the wildlife, the resort shuttle......make Casa de Frutas one of our most popular villas.....thanks for staying with us and we hope to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is my third time in Costa Rica and the Tulemar is by far the best hotel we've stayed in! The setting can't be beat. This property is not for someone who doesn't like to walk up and down steep hills all day. We love the exericse we get just walking to and from the beach or pool, but not everyone woudl ; - ) Beautiful private beach, lovely service, jr suite 204 has a great view, and is very comfy for 2. jr suite 203 is good too, and has a day bed and trundle, for a child. Can't say enough wonderful things about staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Hi Cardine.....thanks for the great comments on your stay in one of our Jr Suites......we're so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and posted the review......the JR Suites are great for a couple......and some do have an extra bed for a small child.....I also enjoy the exercise, walking down to the beach and back.....but we also have a free shuttle......just in case you'd rather have a ride......we hope to have you back with us again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife, six year old son and I spent the Christmas holidays at Tulemar and we all agree that it was one of the best family vacations we have ever had. Tulemar is one of the few places where the reality lives up to the marketing and the brochure photos. The bungalow we stayed in was exactly what we hoped for and we had some of our best meals at the beach side restaurant. The best part of the stay though was the staff at Tulemar and their top notch service and hospitality. We had the very good fortune of having our stay planned for us by Chris, the concierge, who strived everyday to make our stay an enjoyable one, even taking us to the grocery store on the evening we arrived so that we could stock up our fridge. We would highly recommend Tulemar as a family destination

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hi JHC.....we loved having you with us....so glad you enjoyed your stay in the Tulemar Bungalow......and thanks for your kind words about Chris......one of our very popular concierges......he really does want to make your stay special and easy......thanks too for your comments on our beach bar and grill.......their fish sandwiches and cheeseburgers are the best......again.....thanks for booking with us and we hope you'll be back soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Casa de Frutas was absolutely perfect. The house Is gorgeous and there is nothing you could possibly need that has not already been thought of and provided for. Mauricio is a wonderful host and the rest of the staff could not be nicer. A first-class week in every respect.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thanks for the comments on your stay in Casa de Frutas.....one of our premier private villas in Tulemar.......the design, decor, luxury, amazing ocean views, personal concierge service by Mauricio and all of the amenities of Tulemar make this villa a favorite......(check out our web site to see which Academy Award winning actress recently stay here!).......for 2-8 guests......this is the perfect choice......thanks for staying with us and we'd love to see you again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The best views, beach, staff. We saw the monkeys, humming birds, and a sloth. Lunch on the beach was fantastic, not a great selection but good and the best location.

Thank you so much was there for 3 days around October 31.

I will go back

Thank you very much

Frank

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thanks for the great review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows......so glad you enjoyed yourself.....you are right.....lots of wildlife in Tulemar.......and thanks for mentioning our Beach Bar and Grill.....I love it too....nothing like sitting under the palms.....feet in the sand.......with a great fish sandwich or burger and a cold drink......in October (the slower season), we do have our "lite" menu....but we have the full menu back now......I'll pass your comments on to Chef Paul and Lou (our server).....they are the best!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows, Buena Vista Villas and privately owned villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes and Villa Kiskadee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.