We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Save
You added Tulemar Bungalows & Villas to your Saves list
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tulemar Mini Suites-$220!
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I spent our 10 year anniversary in Costa Rica. It was our second trip to Costa Rica with the first being our honeymoon. We started our trip at Tulemar in Casa Panorama South (lower). The stay was excellent and I only wish we had been able to stay longer. As other reviewers have stated, the pictures on their website do not do Tulemar (Casa Panorama) justice. Before arriving, we had some reservations about there not being an on premise restaurant / bar, but our concerns were quickly dispelled once we met our concierge, Kimberly. She explained how several restaurants were within walking distance from the front gate in addition to a local grocery. Kimberly also helped arrange all of our transportation around Costa Rica (from San Jose to Tulemar, Tulemar to Arenal, and Arenal to San Jose) at prices much cheaper than our other resorts had quoted. After accidentally leaving some items in the night stand, she arranged to have the items waiting for us with one of our drivers. Back to Tulemar...the onsite shuttle van was invaluable. My wife broke her foot 3 weeks prior to our trip. The path to and from the beach and the front gate is quite steep and I know she wouldn't have lasted long without the van. And the beach, you can't say enough about having a private beach where you can leave your belongs on your chair and go swimming, kayaking, boogie boarding, etc. and not have to worry about anything getting stolen. We loved our trip to Tulemar so much we're already planning when we can get back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Hi BartV......we're so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Casa Panorama......now you know why the name.....the views are panoramic.......sitting on the balcony with a cold drink watching the ocean, skies and wildlife around you.....perfection.....and Kim, your personal concierge at Casa Panorama, makes it all even better (and easier).......plus our beach (amazing), the resort pools, the hiking trails and our location, right in the heart of Manuel Antonio, makes Tulemar a great choice for your stay......hope you didn't miss our beach bar and grill......breakfast, lunch, drinks and snacks daily until 5 PM.....then there are 10 restaurants within a 2 block radius of our front gates for dinner choices! We'll be ready for your return!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    115
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
584
384
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
1,200 helpful votes 1,200 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights in the upper level of Villa Mot Mot. We loved the place and will definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

Villa Mot Mot was beautiful. The pictures on the website don't do it justice. The place is fully air conditioned and has a very nice kitchen with various modern appliances. The wraparound deck is tremendous. The TV is in the bedroom and you get around 6-7 US stations.

The service provided by Vanessa, Diego and Bill was outstanding. They check in with you daily to see if you need help with anything and provide you with great service - much higher than you would get at a hotel. The cleaning service and shttle services were also very good.

The location is very good in terms of access to restaurants and shops. We had no trouble getting around without a rental car. Rental cars would likely be of limited value during high season as parking appeared to be very limited at most places.

Two logistical issues that you should be aware of re Vila Mot Mot. First, the upper unit is not connected to the lower unit. This could be an issue if you're looking for a single unit for a family visit. Second, you have to walk about 10 yards or so up a fairly steep hill to get to the main road and parking area for Mot Mot. It wasn't an issue for us but it could be if someone you're traveling with has trouble getting around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hi JMK.......thanks for taking the time to post your review on Villa Mot Mot.....it really means a lot.....seeing how many hotel reviews you've posted.....you know your hotels! Villa Mot Mot is one of our most popular villas.....jungle, rustic with a touch of luxury and that huge terrace with amazing ocean views......lots of wildlife visits too.....plus Diego and his team to take care of you while you are there.....thanks for booking with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at Tulemar for four nights during the low season when there weren't many guests to share the beautiful views, beaches and pools. After an upgrade from a Junior Suite to a one-bedroom mot-mot, we really enjoyed amazing sunsets, service from the diligent staff, and the ability to use Tulemar as our off-point to many destinations throughout Manuel Antonio.

The room was modern, clean, spacious, and the decks leading out to the Pacific are worth the price of the room itself. Whether it's raining or not raining, the private beach is one of the best in the region. Groceries are easy, and driving to plenty of restaurants in the region is even easier. Tons of monkeys, sloths and a chorus of birds.

The only suggestion that we would make is that the grounds could have an evening bar that guests could congregate at to have a late evening drink, or maybe a cup of coffee. It's hardly a reason not to stay.

We highlight recommend Tulemar to anyone.

Room Tip: The top rooms in the bungelows have better views and more opportunities to see monkeys running from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hi Heath....thanks for taking the time to post the review on your stay in Villa Mot Mot Upper.....we loved having you with us for your Honeymoon......I agree with you....the deck on Villa Mot Mo Upper alone is worth the stay.....it's huge.....an entire outdoor living space with amazing views.......and Villa Mot Mot Lower was just completely renovated......(new photos coming next month).......all new bath and bedroom with a large outdoor terrace that has a complete kitchen and great ocean views as well......Villa Mot Mot was already one of our most popular properties and I know people will love it even more now.....thanks again for staying with us and we'd love to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our personal attendant Johan was the BEST on earth. He made everything we asked for possible and went FAR above and beyond the call of duty. If anyone is thinking of visiting Tulemar, they should request Johan because he made our trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Hi Simone....thanks for your comments on Johan......one of our personal concierges......he is the best.....our guests love him.....and he really does make the trip special......and easy.....glad you enjoyed your stay in the Bungalow and we hope to see you back again, soon!


Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in Tulemar for 7 nights in Casa de Frutas, and we all agreed we wanted to stay there again. Friendly and helpful staff, impeccable customer service, and would highly recommend this paradise to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi David....thanks for the comments on your stay in Tulemar......at Casa de Frutas.....(for the second time).....one of our premier private villas........with 3 suites, a private pool and amazing ocean views.....it's the perfect spot in Tulemar for 6-10 guests.......plus access to our beach.....the hiking trails......the four resort pools....the resort shuttle....and all of the other amenities in Tulemar.....thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to your return!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed in villa 411 for 4 nights. It was a 3 bedroom, with great views. Villa was very well maintained. Private beach was in a nice cove, but down a very steep hill. Recommend having the hotel drive you down and back (its free). It was great getting groceries (esp beer and liquor) delivered as well (10% surcharge). Note the liquor prices in the nearby liquor store were extremely high. Stock up on the duty free liquor when you head for Costa Rica. The room service and local restaurants that delivered were not that good, but it was convenient. Staff was warm and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hi Rich.....thanks for the review......your group was a lot of fun and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay....the Buena Vista 3 Bedroom Premium Villa was a great fit for the 9 of you! Buying premium alcohol at the duty free in the baggage claim area of the San Jose airport is a great tip.......very inexpensive compared to our regular liquor store prices.....so sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the restaurants that provide our room service delivery....we will certainly pass that on to their owners......thanks again for booking with us and we'd love to see you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We (2 adults 5 kids) stayed at Tulemar in the casa panorama south. Superb view, super clean, lots of room. It was perfect for our family. Only a 5 minute walk down to the beach where the kids had hours of fun buggie boarding and drinking fruity drinks at the beach resturant.

I think Tulemar is the perfect location for Manuel Antonio. Only a 5 minute walk to the gate, and then you are into the town... It has many restaurants, stores, grocery store, etc.....

Kimberly the host of casa panorama south was fantastic. She setup the vacation buggy.. tour of the rainforest, and national park tour. We also visited the butterfly/reptile exhibit in town.

Remarkable time… we even went during the “raining season”. Yes it rained a bit most days.. but you are in the rain forest.. it is was we expected. I think it kept the temperature down a few degrees also which was nice.

We want to come back with other family members.
Actually.. maybe you should not book there.... that way its available to us when we go back!!!!

Room Tip: casa panarama south.... off season its only 250.. 2 floors great views etc......
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hi Joel....thanks for posting a review on your stay in Casa Panorama and Tulemar.......we're so happy that you enjoyed your time with us......our location in Manuel Antonio is perfect.......we're "right in the heart of Manuel Antonio"......with 33 acres of amazing ocean views, hiking trails, wildlife, 4 pools and our Tulemar Beach.......free lounge chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, boogie boards, towel service, food and beverages all set in a secluded tropical paradise.......Kimberly, your personal concierge......makes your stay so easy......helping with all of the details......thanks, again, for posting your review and we look forward to your return.

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows, Buena Vista Villas and privately owned villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes and Villa Kiskadee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.