We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Save
You added Tulemar Bungalows & Villas to your Saves list
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tulemar Mini Suites-$220!
Lone Tree, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolute Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We just got back from a week at Tulemar and had an amazing experience. We rented a bungelow and really enjoyed the accommodations. We had a semi-kitchen with 2 burners, a fridge and microwave - which was very helpful so we could eat breakfast and lunch at the resort. The private beach was the biggest attraction for my family and it was beautiful. To access you could either take a resort van or we walked down the steep drive most of the time. The walk to the beach is gorgeous and you are actually walking through a jungle. This place is worth the price especially for the beach access!! I couldn't drag my 7 and 9 year old out of the water! The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and helped us with all our needs - either at the beach or by helping to book tours. We used 2 of the 4 (I believe) pools and both were close to our bungelow and very relaxing. Hands down, when we come back to Manuel Antonio we will be staying at Tulemar!!! One last thing, we woke up to a family of monkeys on our roof when night which will always be a lasting memory for my family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Hi shgardnercolorado......thanks for the review of your stay in Tulemar and the Tulemar Bungalows.....so happy to hear that your family enjoyed the visit.....the Bungaows are a perfect fit for a family like yours (or just a couple!)......separate bedroom with 2 queen beds......living/dining/kitchenette......windows all the way around with dramatic ocean views.....surrounded by jungle.......(with an occasional monkey on the roof!) .....just like they look in our photos......plus our beach really does make it easy and fun to spend time in the warm, Pacific waters.....I'm glad to hear that you walked down (about 5-7 minutes)......you really do walk thru the jungle and almost always will see some wildlife......thanks for booking with us at 4tulemar.com and we hope to see you again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    116
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
597
398
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lone Tree, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great place, private beach is worth the cost. No body haggling you and great service on the beach. We went in tw morning during the rainy season, as it usually rains in the afternoon. Beautiful place to be. Surrounding places to eat are great as well

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi Shawn....thanks for posting your review on Tulemar and your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows.....we're so glad that you enjoyed your visit.....thanks for mentioning our beach....it really is amazing......so secluded and tropical........and you are right about the nearby spots to dine......our 33 acre resort is located right in the heart of Manuel Antonio.......just walk outside our front gates to a choice of more than 10 great restaurants plus a grocery store and ATM.....the perfect location! We hope to see you back again soon.

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I can see why Tulemar continues to win the Tripadvisor awards. What a perfect place to stay! This was the first stop on our 2 week Costa Rica trip.

The grounds are very large at Tulemar, from the road to the beach--there were several villas and houses in which you could stay. Each villa is large with a sizable bedroom and a kitchen/dining area. While we were here for only 3 nights, you could easily stay for a week or more. We ate out most meals, but the convenience of the kitchen would have made a longer stay very nice. Each villa is spaced out nicely, so there is a strong sense of privacy--even with wrap-around windows in the villa. The views were incredible from the villa, and stepping outside you always felt like you were in the middle of the rain-forest with birds, lizards, etc active in the trees and plants surrounding you.

All staff, whether at check-in, groundskeepers, security gate, beach bar/restaurant staff--were all incredibly friendly and helpful when needed. We wanted to get the names of the staff, since they were so great. Brian Miranda @ the reception desk (he was very accommodating & was so helpful with questions), Daniela @ the beach bar (fantastic Pina Colada & great conversation), Louis (we think, sorry--the friendly Irish guy) @ the beach bar/restaurant, and David @ the beach (he set up all the chairs & umbrellas while we were in the water).

We walked from our villa down to the beach--quite the adventure on the super-steep roads! There is a shuttle that you can take, but you can also drive your car down from to the beach area. The private beach was absolutely perfect. Not crowded at all (though we did go in the 'rainy season' aka 'green season'--nice tourist spin, huh? -- but it rarely rained anyways, and only overnight), there were plenty of beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, sea kayaks, and the beach bar/restaurant was right there as well.

A bit more about the beach: plenty of open space, water was much warmer than I expected for the Pacific, the rocks on the one side were great for climbing on to get close to the little crabs, and the rain forest literally came all the way down to the beach. It was like a little oasis--very relaxing. The beach bar/restaurant was fantastic as well! The beer-battered fish & chips were out of this world good. I was VERY surprised. We also had grilled Mahi Mahi, which was delicious as well. To top it off we had a jumbo-sized pitcher of Pina Colada. We weren't expecting it to be that big--especially for two people! It certainly made the hike back up to our villa quite the challenge--we thought it would be smart to burn off those calories vs. taking the shuttle. We were nuts.

We never used any of the pools, but they definitely looked nice. There are some hiking trails on the property as well, and I wish we would have taken advantage of this. Regardless, the abundance of vegetation and animals all over the property is exactly how I pictured Costa Rica.

I have already recommended this property to anyone and everyone going to Costa Rica & Manuel Antonio. It seems anyone who has been to the Manuel A area, already knows how great this place is!

While we stayed here as a couple, which couldn't have been more perfect, this property would make an incredible family vacation spot--great for kids.

When we return to Manuel Antonio, we will stay at Tulemar bungalows--most definitely!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi Justin S....thanks for the wonderful review on your stay in one of our Tulemar Bungalows......you covered it all.....from the ocean views....to the beach.....to our amazing staff......thanks for booking with us here and for spreading the word.....we'd love to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I am so fortunate to have traveled to Costa Rica and no less to an amazing destination in Tulemar! I traveled with family and friends and can't think of a more fantastic magical place to have traveled. The views were absolutely breath taking, better than any magazine or photograph could have captured. The entire experience was unbelievable from the amazing staff; Mauricio especially truely exceeded my expectations, the private beach below and the stunning house. We even splurged one night on a personal chef, Desiree Brassert...all I can say is I was part of the clean plate club and was asking for seconds. Absolutely declious and amazing!
I will definately be back! Nothing else compares to this trip! I have been to Eurpoe, Italy, Hawaii, to name a few. Costa Rica by far exceeds these previously traveled destinations. Thank you Mauricio for making this trip an experience I will never forgot and I will most certainly be back in the near future. To those who haven't had the opportunity, all I can say, is that you are missing out on a truely amazing experience and travel destination! Until next time, "Pura Vida."
Nicole Stoney

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, Owner at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hi Nicole,

It was a pleasure having you and your friends with us at Casa de Frutas in Tulemar......you were great guests.....and the villa was a good match for you.....3 suites.....amazing ocean views......luxurious design/decor......private pool.....and the services of Mauricio.....your personal concierge.....who will make your trip even more wonderful........thanks again for taking the time to post your review and we hope to see you back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Chris and his staff were very hospitable. All the positive reviews we're correct. Chris set us up with a fishing trip, canopy and park tours. He is very good with email, from preparation of the trip to our final drive back to the airport Everyone in costa rica is extremely friendly and most speak English. I'm a pilot who flies all over the world and I can tell you from first hand experiences that CR beats any destination hands down for environment, activities, people, food, etc. I can understand why there are more xpats retired in CR than any other location!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi Krossfalcon.....it was our pleasure having you and your family with us in Tulemar.....thanks for the review and kind words.....one of the best things about booking with us directly is that we'll assign a personal concierge to you.....to assist with everything.....from your transportation from San Jose to Manuel Antonio.....to your activities (Chris really knows the best tour guides, activities and fishing boats in the area!)....they will make your trip so easy.....handling all of the details......and any problems that may arise....(like getting your suitcase from San Jose when it didn't arrive with you!).......thanks again for booking with us and we hope to see you again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Wow!!! We loved this place! The views, location, and amenities were amazing. We traveled with our kids (ages 10 and 8) and they loved it. Stayed in one of the more simple bungalows and while there was no outdoor deck, we still enjoyed the sunset and views every night. The views are amazing. We saw a bunch of monkeys, sloths (including baby sloths!) right from our bungalow! We walked to Cafe Milagro every day for breakfast (great breakfast). You will love this place. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Our little bungalow was great for a short stay. Might consider a larger bungalow if staying a week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi MominBoulder.....thanks for the review on your stay in our Tulemar Bungalows......the Bungalows are located on the hillside....surrounded by jungle....with great ocean views.....giving you the chance to see both wildlife....and the panoramic ocean vistas......a perfect combination.....the Bungalows are great for a small family....one bedroom (with two queen beds)....bath...and a living/dining/small kitchenette.....glass all the way around....you feel like you're in a tree house....and yes we do have larger two and three bedroom properties along with our private villas....something for everyone.....all with ocean views....and access to the Tulemar Beach....hiking trails....free resort shuttle......and over 10 restaurants within a two block radius of our front gates.....including Cafe Milagro....everyone's favorite! Thanks for taking the time to post a review and we'd love to see you with us again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Treat yourself to this unmatched experience, all the way around! The property, house, staff and private beach are all amazing! Feel the beautiful outdoors from inside your kitchen with the all open main living space. Keep the master bedroom open as well or close up and chill out with the crisp air conditioning. The private negative edge pool offered gorgeous views overlooking the ocean. A+++++ I will definitely return someday!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hi Stacey AZ.....thanks for your review.....I'm not quite sure which of our larger, private villas you stayed in....Casa Las Nubes, Villa Kiskadee or Casa de Frutas.....your description matched all three......but we're so glad you enjoyed your stay.....they really are amazing.....surrounded by the jungle.....lots of wildlife visits....ocean views.....and a personal concierge to make your stay effortless.....thanks for taking the time to post and we hope to see you again, soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows, Buena Vista Villas and privately owned villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes and Villa Kiskadee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.