We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, would return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas
Save
You added Tulemar Bungalows & Villas to your Saves list
Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Mini Suites - From $175!
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, would return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Tulemar is situated on a large hillside property a short ride from Manuel Antonio national park. A free shuttle service will run you around the place (it's that large, and steep) and to local points of interest, restaurants, shops, etc. The private beach has a cabana for lunch and drinks, plus sea kayaks and boogie boards to borrow. Despite being situated in a cove the waves can still be pretty rough but the beach is kept clean. The staff was pleasant, well bilingual and very accommodating. Rooms are private, generally not facing each other and with an ocean view. Our balcony had a table and chairs which was nice for breakfast and the evening glass of wine, plus a hammock. Note that smaller rooms have a half kitchen and not one you can really prepare a meal at. Several good restaurants are within walking distance as is the grocery store and ATM. I was sick our last day and the staff arranged for a local pharmacy to deliver medicine in a driving rainstorm, so excellent service all around. The gym is offsite and costs $15 per day (didn't use, and it's not affiliated), however you will get enough exercise just walking from the beach to your room a few times if you don't call the shuttle van.

Room Tip: If you want to cook, get a larger room with full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to post! We hope you're feeling better, after your illness on the last day. Not the best way to end your vacation, but at least it wasn't at the start! We do have a pharmacy "on call" as well as a 24 hour emergency medical office "just in case". Hope to see you again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,241
    116
    29
    13
    5
See reviews for
665
438
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We rented Casa Panorama North lower, and were blown away with how beautiful our view was!! It was even better than seen online, and it was well kept and very clean. the use of the shuttle on the property (steep hills!) was great when you didnt want to walk to the beach. The beach itself is amazing, so beautiful and quiet, and with David & Daniella there to assist you it cant get any better. Diego & Vanessa helped us get into our house and with booking adventures in the area, and recomendations on where to eat. They were not just great, they were spectacular. Besides the great location- very close to many good restaurants & Quepos as well, the people here make it the best!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Casa Panorama....the name really does describe the views! The villa, the views, our own beach, but especially the people really make Tulemar special! Thanks for staying with us and hope to have you back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

How many 'O's can I put in the word love to express how much we adored this place? From the moment we arrived (excessively early - apprx. 6.5 hours early after a red eye flight) we were taken care of. Dave, a charming fellow Californian (previously), welcomed us and introduced us to wonderful Julian who would be our designated consierge for the duration of our five night stay. Julian gave us a tour of the grounds, drove us into town to get a feel for Manuel Antonio, and dropped us off at a great breakfast place (forgot the name but it is referred to as the "Starbucks of Costa Rica"). We walked the short distance back and hung out at the private beach until our room was ready.

And what a room! My dream of staying in a treehouse felt satisfied. We stayed in one of the bungalows the first night where we had practically 360 degree views of the jungle just inches from our hands and the ocean in the distance. There was no deck but I loved the large space and having a kitchenette. Julian also took us to the store so we could pick up groceries for our attempt at local cuisine. (***Note- Consume as much Lezano (condiment) as you can as you're not allowed to bring it in your carry-on, even if purchased at the airport. Better yet, check luggage and leave a lot of extra space for the big bottles. You'll be glad you did!)

We stayed in Mot-Mot for the last three nights. We loved the porch and the hammock and our in-house pet iguana we nicknamed Tito. Although smaller, it seemed more updated than the bungalow, though they were doing some construction on the bungalows while we were there so perhaps that is changing.

The private beach is one of the biggest sells of Tulemar. It's raked clean and pristine and you don't have to worry about anyone trying to sell you things. David, who hands out towels, bodyboards, kayaks, etc., is just the neatest guy and we were always glad to see him. Kayaking was great. Also, if you're considering doing the fairly expensive snorkeling excursion offered by an outside company, don't. They snorkle very near Tulemar's beach. Purchase your own gear (other than fins b/c Tulemar has those) and take a kayak out just a ways to do it for free. Oh, and if you're from CA, you will LOVE how warm this water is!

Not to be missed: Salsipuedoes (food and live music) and Aqua Azul (delicious!) restaurants within walking distance, Catedral trail at the park, and ADR adventure tour (hands-down the most fun you'll ever have!).

Thank you to all the folks at Tulemar and especially to Julian. You made our second "honeymoon" an absolutely amazing, unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thanks for the great review and story of your stay! After the red eye flight from the West Coast and the shuttle flight from San Jose, I knew you needed COFFEE from Cafe Milagro and a great breakfast! Yes, the Tulemar Bungalows are like living in a tree house (I bought one and live in it year round!) plus you got to spend part of your time in Villa Mot Mot, one of our most popular villas. Thanks for the comments on David at our beach; he really is a great guy and loves to get to know our guests. We're glad you enjoyed your second honeymoon with us and we hope to see you again!

Tulemar Dave (originally from Fresno)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Six of us stayed at the Ylang Ylang villa, my parents, my two boys, and my wife and I. We all agree, this place is special. Really special. We have travelled extensively, my father was an Air Canada pilot for 37 years. We've stayed in all manor of places but Tulemar is our new favourite place by the sea. It was not perfect but where you could find something imperfect you also found a smiling staff offering ways to make it perfect again. Thank you to Mauricio, Dave and all staff who make this incredible place perfect. Our only regret was leaving.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Thanks to our Canadian friends for the wonderful review on Casa Ylang Ylang....it really is a special villa and the favorite of many.....3 suites, each with it's own bath and indoor/outdoor showers.....ocean views.....jacuzzi tub on the upper deck.....plus lots of wildlife visits and the famous Tulemar Beach right on our property....we loved having you as guests and hope to see you and your family back again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed at Villa Mot Mot for 4 weeks while our three teenage kids took intensive Spanish classe at Academia d'Amore which is next door to Tulemar and is walking distance.
Villa Mot Mot was amazing. It is set in manicured gardens within the rainforest on a mountain side that goes down to a private beach. Villa Mot Mot is an octagonal bungalow with glass all aroun and a big balcony. You look out onto lush greenery and have a beautiful view of the Pacific ocean and beautiful sunsets. If feels like you are in a jungle tree house.
The Tulemar complex is full of animals. We saw more animal there than at the Manuel Antonio Park. Our favorite thing was the visits to our balcony by the monkeys. We were often visited in the mornings by white face capuchin monkeys and by very playful titi monkeys. The titis love to play on the hammock and wrestle with each other on the floor.
Both the titis and the capuchins are intrigued by the telescope that is on the balcony as they can see their reflection in its lens. There are alos howler monkeys on the property but we only saw those in the area by the beach. A kinkajou (a member of the racoon family that looks like a monkey with a bear face and has a prehensile tail) visited our balcony one night. We saw plenty of sloths on the property and twice we saw toucans.
There are plenty of good restaurants that are walking distance from Villa Mot Mot and the tour operators will come to pick you up at your front door.
Villa Mot Mot comes with concierge service from Diego and Chris. They are both very charming and made sure that everything was perfect for us. They picked us up at the Quepos airport, took us to the grocery store, laundry etc. and provided us with answers to our questions and information about things to do and places to go. They can book your tours for you and provide you with information regarding the quality of nearby restaurants.
Shuttle service is available to go to and from the private beach,where there is a restaurant, lounge chairs, towels, boogie boards, kayaks, etc. and to and from the entrance of the property. The shuttle drivers are not supposed to leave the premises but if they are not very busy they will take you to nearby restaurants. I walked down to the beach and back up to Villa Mot Mot most mornings for exercise. There is a steep incline and the walk back up is quite a workout. The only negative would be for someone that is in poor health or has difficulty walking as the path from the road to the villa has a small steep section and has some steps. For us the property and the villa were perfect.
Villa Mot Mot is a beautiful modern aircontioned bungalo with a small kitchen, a bbq and daily maid service (they do the dishes) that has accesability to a private beach, restaurants, tours, Manuel Antonio National Park and the town of Quepos and that is within a rainforest that is full of animals.
Our kids Spanish improved considerable at Academia d'Amore and they also volunteered with Kids Saving the Rainforest during our stay. We have traveled extensively with them in the US, Europe and Caribbean and they say that their favorite trip has been this years' trip to Costa Rica. I think that the reason is a combination of staying a Villa Mot Mot, the exicting tours (zip lining, ATVs etc.), the fun that they had at the Spanish school and the fun that they had volunteering at the Kids Saving the Rainforest animal sanctuary. During our four weeks there we made a real connection with the community of locals and expatriate Americans. It was much more than a vacation.
The website for Villa Mot Mot is -----.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Wow! Thank you so much for writing such a thorough review on Villa Mot Mot! You've said it all and now everyone will understand why it is one of our most popular villas! You had the luxury of a months stay and I'm also envious. Hope to see you and the family back again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at Tulemar August 1 - 8th, 2011 in Casa Panorama South lower level and completely enjoyed our stay. The property is beautiful with breathtaking views from the balcony. The grounds are lush and well-maintained and the location is conveniently located to all of the restaurants/bars in Manuel Antonio. When spending time at Tulemar's private beach you truly feel immersed in Costa Rica's natural beauty. But what really made our trip outstanding was the staff. Kimberly, our concierge, was available for all of our needs and offered excellent recommendations. Danielle and Luis at the beach bar were the warmest and friendliest people we have met - even giving me daily Spanish lessons. The Costa Rican people, in general, were extremely kind and hospitable. We are looking forward to returning with our children.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thanks for posting the review on Casa Panorama and Tulemar....we're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.....Casa Panorama is a great villa.....but as you pointed out.....it's the service that really makes the difference....from Kimberly, your personal concierge, to the staff at the beach bar and grill.....we'd love to see you and your family back with us again!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

From the moment I found the website and starting booking this trip everyone has been extremely helpful! I booked through Dave at -------. I was then assisted by Mauricio the house manager. I was able to email him any questions I had and he responded within the hour. We went to the national park, canyoning, sailing and white water rafting. Mauricio assisted with all booking and the companies picked us up at our front door to go on the excursions! The villas were breathtaking! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulemarDave, General Manager at Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Hi...thanks for the quote "Tulemar is where you want to be!".....I love it....and we all agree.....I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Casa Ylang Ylang.....and the services of Mauricio....your personal concierge that we provide.....he really does make the trip easier for you....hope to have you back with us again soon!

Tulemar Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulemar Bungalows & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Bungalows & Villas

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulemar is the premier resort development in Manuel Antonio. Gated and secure, the 33 acre jungle resort is perched on the hillside overlooking the Pacific, but continues down all the way to our own beach. It includes the Tulemar Bungalows, Buena Vista Villas and privately owned villas such as Villa Mot Mot, Casa Panorama, Casa de Frutas, Casa Las Nubes and Villa Kiskadee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Tulemar Bungalows And Villas
Tulemar Hotel
Tulemar Bungalows & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.