We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay and well situated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Espadilla

Save Saved
You added Hotel Playa Espadilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Playa Espadilla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 metros antes de la entrada al Parque Nacional, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Comfortable stay and well situated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Pleasantly surprised. Our hotel was located 5 minutes walk from the gates of Manuel Antonio NP, was comfortable and aesthetically pleasing. The restaurant was especially nice in it's outdoor setting and the grounds were immaculate. The rooms are a bit smaller but ample enough, the bathroom is tight with older fixtures, all very serviceable. The AC though was a bit oddly located and blew over the top of our bed. I guess we could have fixed the direction more and just didn't. the front desk staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Seems like all rooms were well situated and decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    68
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
28
62
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Manuel Antonio is worth the visit because of the National Park, and this hotel is located just a very short walk away from the park entrance.
Staff was very helpful and nice. The pool is somewhat small if you like to swim a little bit, but is fine in the end.
Restaurant is great... the food was very good and within reasonable price ranges.
Rooms are not that great, they're basic but that doesn't mean they're bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Strengths:
- located at 3 minutes walk from the national park, beach and restaurants/shops.
- Huge king size bed
- Air conditioning
- Fridge in the room for your own use
- Breakfast buffet when busy but a la carte otherwise.
- Happy hour on cocktails/beers (4 to 7) at the bar pool
- Staff very friendly and professional
- The swimming pool is small but very refreshing after a day trekking.
- We have seen several bird species, frogs and monkeys in the hotel's garden.
- the National Park ($10/16) is worth it, we have seen sloths, monkeys, toucans, crabs, racoons, ...

Could be improved:
- difficult to rest when the day comes up due to the light coming in through the windows, the fridge is noisy but can be switched off.
- poor wifi in the room (but we were told there isn't, so better than nothing), good wifi in reception and pool areas.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

There was no hot water so couldn't shower . After complaining to the staff we got to go to the sister hotel to shower down the street ! We complained 3 times about no hot water and was given excuses and no solution. We had to ask if there was anywhere we could shower and finally was told we could go next door.

I was surprised out travel agent booked this place.
There is a lot of choice of places to stay so don't stay here.
The rooms are poorly furnished. The door doesn't have a latch so you have to luck it with a key otherwise it stays open.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I recently stayed here with a group of 70ish people from my school. We really enjoyed it.

The rooms were basic but sufficient - we had everything we needed and slept well. We didn't stay in rooms long anyway.

My students loved the pools. I did not enjoy how warm they were, honestly. When it's hot out, I want a pool that's refreshing, not one that feels like a hot tub.

The food was good - breakfast was GREAT and dinner was okay.

The best part of the hotel was the location, in my opinion. We could walk everywhere we wanted to go and also got to see monkeys right on the property!

I would definitely recommend this hotel for people on a budget who want a hotel that is sufficient, safe, practical and convenient.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Excellent location very close to the park. Good overall comfort with A/C. Good buffet breakfast. We chose this hotel because of its location that can be beaten, the car stays at the car park and everything can be done on foot, from visiting the park to go to the beach or restaurants at night. The only downside is that everything in this area is overpriced including the hotel that has no real charm and can be noisy at night.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the swimming pool away from the 'main street' where there was a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Hotel Playa Espadilla, Manuel Antonio – 4.5 out of 5
This beach is a fun place to be – the surf may be dangerous (beware rips) but the sunsets are to die for and there’s a really cool atmosphere at the edge of the national park. Hotel Playa Espadilla is set just far enough back from the lively beach front (we watched squirrel monkeys on our way back in the dusk) with its own forest surrounds which bring the wildlife to your door. Go out quietly at dawn – there was a white-tailed deer on the lawn. Maybe because this is a touristy area the staff lacked a bit of the beautiful Costa Rican charm but they were courteous and the benchmark had been set very high elsewhere. The pool is small for swimming but quite big enough to float under amazing tropical stars or drink exotic cocktails from the cool of the water at the bar.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Playa Espadilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Espadilla

Address: 300 metros antes de la entrada al Parque Nacional, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Espadilla 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located within a 2 minute walk from the main entrance of the majestic National Park of Manuel Antonio. Hotel Playa Espadilla offers well equipped and cozy rooms, in the best Costa Rican atmosphere. The hotel`s own Biological Reserve is a special area for those who enjoy to hike and get in contact with nature. Costa Rican owned and runned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Playa Espadilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Espadilla Hotel
Hotel Playa Espadilla Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Espadilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.