We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Espadilla

Save Saved
You added Hotel Playa Espadilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Playa Espadilla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 metros antes de la entrada al Parque Nacional, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
IJsselstein, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was the second time we visited the hotel. Nothing changed :-). Friendly staff and along the pool they brought us water for free! In the morning we saw whiteface monkeys on the roof of the restaurant. The beach is nearby and the entrance of the national park around the corner. A perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We appreciate a lot your comment and feel honored to have you as a guest for the second time hope is not the last, have a great day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    68
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
28
62
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very good location just 5 minutes from beach or the National Park. It has a nice patio restaurant with good food, and some lush gardens. But it is way expensive for what it offers. Family-owned (with extended members "monopolizing" the area), the staff seemed uninterested, even unhelpful. Rooms have an odd layout: surrounded by verandas providing limited privacy, and a bathroom added to the inner corner of the room.

Despite pricey, you may feel nickle-and-dimed at every corner (e.g., no shampoo, extra towels charged) - much under the disguise of an "environmental" orientation. If you don't mind paying more this might be a good option, but you can get similar options at a better price nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks so much for your comment we aprreciate a lot you choose our hotel as your option while stay around here, I know the proximity to the National Park and beaches made it very comfortable for you. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Nice hotel! Really nice and helpful staff. Great location close to the park and the beach. Good bar next to the pool where we had drinks in the afternoon. It would be good if they provided some place to hang wet towels and swimwear though, we really missed that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks so much for your comment we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in August, good location close to town beach and entrance to national park.
Food at restaurant excellent and we were always treated to cool drink of water when arriving at the pool.
Standards rooms large and clean had everthing we needed. Reception staff book great boat tour for us.

Beaches in the park are fantastic and well looked after.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks for your comment we are glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here as part of a Costa Rica tour (booked through Imagine Latin America who I would reccomend). The hotel is in an amazing position for access to the national park but is somewhat dated. We felt we were staying in a cross between a cabin from 'Dirty Dancing' and a village shop! The rooms were clean and large however and staff were really helpful and polite. The cabins that are across the road and are part of the hotel looked to be nicer than the main hotel but were not available for the dates we required. Public areas were clean - pool cleaned daily etc and you felt like you were in the national park itself as the hotel is surrounded by forest and you can hear the monkeys most nights. Manuel Antonio centre is quite a backpackers/surfers resort and is a bit shabby - this seemed especially noticeable after coming from a more upmarket hotel in Arenal. The area is def worth a visit though and I saw loads of sloths (my main aim for going there). The restaurant does expensive meals but they also do pizzas which are really good value as they easily feed 2 people. In summary, an average hotel in a resort that is a bit scruffy but worth going to for the park and it's wildlife.

Room Tip: The cabins appear to be nicer than the hotel's main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks very much for your comment, we are not familiar with the concept of "Dirty Dancing" hotel. Since the dirt dosen't dance around in our hotel. We are a 3 stars hotel, not a resort, according to the Costa Rican Tourism Institute so our services need to be understand and measure in this sense. However we feel very happy that you enjoyed our surroundings, cleanliness and service, and that you found our location handy for your trip. Our goal is to provide a decent place to stay were you can enjoy as much as it is possible the proximity to the National Park and beaches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Espadilla for three nights during our trip to Costa Rica. We were unfamiliar with the area when we booked the hotel and booked based on a travel agents recommendation. The Manuel Antonio area was a lot more touristy than we had expected (and we went in the off or rainy season) but the hotel was on a little side street which was very quiet compared to the touristy beach area and nearby park. The location was great for getting to the beach and park and was also a quick cab or bus ride to other Manuel Antonio and Quepos restaurants and sites. The hotel had a nice, smaller pool and the lunch and breakfasts we had at the hotel were very good. The service was great, we ordered way too many pizzas at the restaurant our first day and they held them in one of their refrigerators for us for the next day since we didn't have one, very nice! The receptionists were great too and helped us book spa treatments. The rooms were basic, nothing fancy but comfortable. The bathrooms were small with wooden slatted doors and got very humid, so the room got fairly muggy with showers. Overall I would recommend it for the locaton and service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks so much for your comment, having the opportunity to walk to the beach and park is very handy specially if you have kids, we are very happy that you found our services acceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

My son and I stayed here for 3 nights . Accommodation is basic , nothing fancy. Free breakfast. Walking distance to public beach and Manuel Antonio national park. Got room close to pool , nice view and good WIFI .
Good and attentive service. We have to leave early for the airport before restaurant opens for breakfast, they made us box lunch ( sandwich , fruits , cookies and bottle water ) to take with us .
Thank you !!!
Overall good location.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear sir we feel so glad you had a good time while here, and the the box breakfast was a good solution for you. We enjoyed to have you as a guest, and thanks so much for you review.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Playa Espadilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Espadilla

Address: 300 metros antes de la entrada al Parque Nacional, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Espadilla 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located within a 2 minute walk from the main entrance of the majestic National Park of Manuel Antonio. Hotel Playa Espadilla offers well equipped and cozy rooms, in the best Costa Rican atmosphere. The hotel`s own Biological Reserve is a special area for those who enjoy to hike and get in contact with nature. Costa Rican owned and runned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Playa Espadilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Espadilla Hotel
Hotel Playa Espadilla Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Espadilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.