We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly small hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Espadilla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Playa Espadilla to your Saves list
Hotel Playa Espadilla
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 metros antes de la entrada al Parque Nacional, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly small hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in August, good location close to town beach and entrance to national park.
Food at restaurant excellent and we were always treated to cool drink of water when arriving at the pool.
Standards rooms large and clean had everthing we needed. Reception staff book great boat tour for us.

Beaches in the park are fantastic and well looked after.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks for your comment we are glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here as part of a Costa Rica tour (booked through Imagine Latin America who I would reccomend). The hotel is in an amazing position for access to the national park but is somewhat dated. We felt we were staying in a cross between a cabin from 'Dirty Dancing' and a village shop! The rooms were clean and large however and staff were really helpful and polite. The cabins that are across the road and are part of the hotel looked to be nicer than the main hotel but were not available for the dates we required. Public areas were clean - pool cleaned daily etc and you felt like you were in the national park itself as the hotel is surrounded by forest and you can hear the monkeys most nights. Manuel Antonio centre is quite a backpackers/surfers resort and is a bit shabby - this seemed especially noticeable after coming from a more upmarket hotel in Arenal. The area is def worth a visit though and I saw loads of sloths (my main aim for going there). The restaurant does expensive meals but they also do pizzas which are really good value as they easily feed 2 people. In summary, an average hotel in a resort that is a bit scruffy but worth going to for the park and it's wildlife.

Room Tip: The cabins appear to be nicer than the hotel's main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy_200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks very much for your comment, we are not familiar with the concept of "Dirty Dancing" hotel. Since the dirt dosen't dance around in our hotel. We are a 3 stars hotel, not a resort, according to the Costa Rican Tourism Institute so our services need to be understand and measure in this sense. However we feel very happy that you enjoyed our surroundings, cleanliness and service, and that you found our location handy for your trip. Our goal is to provide a decent place to stay were you can enjoy as much as it is possible the proximity to the National Park and beaches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Espadilla for three nights during our trip to Costa Rica. We were unfamiliar with the area when we booked the hotel and booked based on a travel agents recommendation. The Manuel Antonio area was a lot more touristy than we had expected (and we went in the off or rainy season) but the hotel was on a little side street which was very quiet compared to the touristy beach area and nearby park. The location was great for getting to the beach and park and was also a quick cab or bus ride to other Manuel Antonio and Quepos restaurants and sites. The hotel had a nice, smaller pool and the lunch and breakfasts we had at the hotel were very good. The service was great, we ordered way too many pizzas at the restaurant our first day and they held them in one of their refrigerators for us for the next day since we didn't have one, very nice! The receptionists were great too and helped us book spa treatments. The rooms were basic, nothing fancy but comfortable. The bathrooms were small with wooden slatted doors and got very humid, so the room got fairly muggy with showers. Overall I would recommend it for the locaton and service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks so much for your comment, having the opportunity to walk to the beach and park is very handy specially if you have kids, we are very happy that you found our services acceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

My son and I stayed here for 3 nights . Accommodation is basic , nothing fancy. Free breakfast. Walking distance to public beach and Manuel Antonio national park. Got room close to pool , nice view and good WIFI .
Good and attentive service. We have to leave early for the airport before restaurant opens for breakfast, they made us box lunch ( sandwich , fruits , cookies and bottle water ) to take with us .
Thank you !!!
Overall good location.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Magellan1521_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear sir we feel so glad you had a good time while here, and the the box breakfast was a good solution for you. We enjoyed to have you as a guest, and thanks so much for you review.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for one night prior to our tour through the national park.

The hotel room was clean and provided space for three people (double + single bed).

The bathroom provided hot and cold water, but should be renovated. As the humidity is very high we had to run the air conditioning for the whole night, which was very loud.

For dinner we had a menu for 20$ in the hotel restaurant with very good steaks. The breakfast buffet in the morning was also OK.

On the morning our lovely guide (http://es-la.facebook.com/gamaliel.guadamuzpina) picked up at 8 and as the park the park is very close to the hotel, we could start the tour immediatly.

It was no problem to leave the car and our luggage at the hotel site during our tour. There even were showers we could use, although we already had checked out in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twamueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thanks a lot for your review, I'm glad the services we have for our guest after the check out were handy for you. Due to our conservation programs only biodegradable soaps can be used here, since we are so close to the park, we send to you our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I just stayed at this hotel (July 2012). It was way better than we had anticipated. It's located just up the road from the main beach, very easy walking. It feels secluded with trees covering it on two sides. You feel as if you are staying in the park. Our room overlooked the pool and restaurant. It was not loud at all and a very nice room. The pool service was fantastic! As soon as you arrived at the pool the staff brought out a glass of water and asked if you needed anything. They were very attentive and quite nice. The front desk staff was also very helpful. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone needing a place to stay in Manuel Antonio. The only negative thing I can say is that we stayed in a standard room and there was no refrigerator. There was however an ice bucket and you could get ice from the bar at the pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julies326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Gerente at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thanks so much for the comment we are glad you had a great time with us, and we will take in consideration your recommendation about the refrigerator. Your positive feedback is very much appreciated. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Very nice clean hotel. Located 150 meters from Manuel Antonio Park entrance and 150 meters from the beach. So we could just walk everywhere. Included breakfast was good and the restaurant had a to die for pineapple pizza. Hotel trails were close at the time we visited so that was a bummer. Hotel provided towels for the beach.

Hotel was booked by CostaRican Trails.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks a lot for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#19 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#23 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio
Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Ant...
#21 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Inn on the Park
Hotel Inn on the Park
#40 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Bada
Hotel San Bada
#14 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#28 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Espadilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Espadilla

Address: 300 metros antes de la entrada al Parque Nacional, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Playa Espadilla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located within a 2 minute walk from the main entrance of the majestic National Park of Manuel Antonio. Hotel Playa Espadilla offers well equipped and cozy rooms, in the best Costa Rican atmosphere. The hotel`s own Biological Reserve is a special area for those who enjoy to hike and get in contact with nature. Costa Rican owned and runned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Playa Espadilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Espadilla Hotel
Hotel Playa Espadilla Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing