We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Espadilla

Save Saved
You added Hotel Playa Espadilla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Playa Espadilla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 metros antes de la entrada al Parque Nacional, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We were here for 2 nights whilst we visited the Manuel Antonio National Park. Approaching the resort town, our hearts lurched as it looked like a really noisy, touristy venue, but this hotel is a short distance (3 mins) from the front and REALLY quiet.

Reception desk was adequate, the swimming pool is small, but the restaurant and bar have very friendly staff, the breakfast is good and the rooms are quiet and have a/c. We lazed by the pool reading one afternoon and the staff brought us iced water and then happy hour cocktails - very nice. Evening menu was quite expensive but the fish with coconut coating and mango salsa was truly world-class - definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We appreciate a lot your comments and review. Thanks so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    63
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
60
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Repentigny, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The rooms are very nice and spacious. The hotel restaurant was excellent. The hotel is barely 5 mins walk from the beach one way and 5 mins walk to the Manuel Antonio park the other way.

Staff was nice and helpful .We loved our stay.

It was was not, but you do have the breakfast included. Overall pretty good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
So glad you had a good expirience in our hotel thanks a lot for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

To conclude my 4-week vacation in Costa Rica, I offered myself the luxury of a Junior Suite at this hotel, ideally located 300 m from the entrance to one of Costa Rica's most famous attractions: the Manuel Antonio National Park.

The surface occupied by the hotel is not very large, but they used the space efficiently, with 2 blocks of 1-story houses and a restaurant/bar/pool area behind it. You will find all the facilities a 4-star accomodation requires.

The Junior Suites are awesome: spacious, nicely decorated, beautiful furniture and a large bathroom with jacuzzi bathtub. Fans and airco, fridge, large flatscreen TV, WIFI connection,... perfect.
The restaurant and bar also deserve my compliments: very tasteful dishes (the price matches the quality offered), excellent service, nice scenery. Happy hour from 4.30 to 6 pm.
The pool is small but very nice, with a spacious sundeck terrace bording it.
The hotel offers also a tennis court and some hiking trails on their private grounds (although 2 of the 3 are closed due to landslides).

The reception is very helpful, and the staff masters English perfectly.

I enjoyed my stay there and recommend it to anyone seeking a top-end accomodation in the Manuel Antonio / Quepos area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Comments like this make us keep going! We are very happy you had a wonderful time, don't hesiate to call us if you ever come back.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This place was great, it was close to the beach - like a 2 minute walk. The rooms were great, everything you really needed was there. They were nice and bright and very airy. The property was beautiful, the pool was refreshing and the people there were very friendly. I've read the negative reviews and can't side with them at all. We got there hours before we could check in but the clerk at the counter let us leave our bags with him so we could go play at the beach. This hotel is very close to the National Park, and there are TONS of great places to eat near by. If you stay here or in this town you have to Visit Italy and Co, it was the best pizza EVER. You have to eat the hotel's restaurant as well, very good food and drinks.

Room Tip: Rooms by the stairs can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks a lot for your recommendation and for choosing us while you were in CR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Playa Espadilla for 4 days. The rooms are nice and clean and it has great wifi. The bathroom could certainly use updating - it was clean, but old and funky. The pool is very nice and it's in a great location - a 5 minute walk to the "downtown" part of Manuel Antonio. The breakfast buffet was good, but the restaurant meals were absolutely fantastic. The three of us loved it so much we made sure to have at least one more meal there before we left. The staff is very nice and the outdoor setting next to the pool is very relaxing. We've been back home for two months and I can still remember the meals we had at Hotel Playa Espadilla - including dessert/ Yummm. If you're in Manuel Antonio make plans to eat at Restaurant Puerto Escondido at the hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We are glad you enjoy our restaurant that much we feel really honored to have you as a guest here. Thanks a lot for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Have just returned from a 5 night stay at the hotel in February 2012. We had a lovely time here and were lucky enough to have a first floor room overlooking the pool. It had a large fridge, microwave oven and hotplates so could make lunchtime snacks if you wanted to. The pool is small but perfectly adequate and great to relax in after a long walk through the park. Staff always bring you a lovely cold glass of water when you are sunbathing which is most appreciated!!

My only slight reservation is about the breakfast. It is very repetative, scrambled egg,ham, fruit and pancakes every day - no variation. Would have been nice to have choice of different type of eggs and sausages and perhaps some yogurt.

Reception staff are very helpful and souvenir shop has good prices - comparable to shops in town.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but did enjoy happy hour cocktails!!!

The backpackers bar on the way to the beach (Costa Linda) is a very good cheap place to eat at night but you need to be early as it gets full very quickly and their drink prices are brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We are glad you had a good experience in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

very near centre of town, beeches and park. Manuel Antonio however is quite crowded and somewhat touristy. However a walk along beech soon brings you to quieter areas. Beware of rip tides

Beds are very firm, but rooms are adequate with access to small swimming pool, bar and restruant

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVIL, Director de Recepción at Hotel Playa Espadilla, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks for your comment we appreciate a lot your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Playa Espadilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Espadilla

Address: 300 metros antes de la entrada al Parque Nacional, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Playa Espadilla 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located within a 2 minute walk from the main entrance of the majestic National Park of Manuel Antonio. Hotel Playa Espadilla offers well equipped and cozy rooms, in the best Costa Rican atmosphere. The hotel`s own Biological Reserve is a special area for those who enjoy to hike and get in contact with nature. Costa Rican owned and runned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Playa Espadilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Espadilla Hotel
Hotel Playa Espadilla Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Espadilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.