We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG - The View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Mariposa to your Saves list
Hotel La Mariposa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“OMG - The View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My family and I stayed at La Mariposa about 10 days ago. It was a long ride from Monteverde to Manuel Antonio (about 6 hours) and we just wanted to check in and get to our room. We had booked the full ocean view room. When we got to our room............wow. First off, the room was the size of 2 hotel rooms with an archway in between. Then the balcony....huge (although we shared with the room next door), but OMG what a view! Everywhere you looked, you saw the Pacific Ocean. Perfect sunset viewing too! Air conditioning worked fantastic and we had wi-fi in our room. Breakfast was included. Great selection of food and quite tasty! We did eat twice in the hotel restaurant. Food and service was very good. Only complaint, my daughter is a vegetarian and not a lot for her, especially lunch menu. For dinner, she did order a pasta primavera dish and the french onion soup was really, really good, as was the chocolate lava cake. Staff was friendly and helpful. There are a couple of shops and restaurants within walking distance. The beach was only a few minutes away by taxi or hotel shuttle. This was the most expensive hotel out of the 4 we stayed at, but the view was worth it.

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    219
    74
    38
    34
See reviews for
206
387
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

OK - the location and view won us over. Service was excellent - note that these are offseason comments. The front desk was invaluable in suggesting and booking our tours.

Included breakfasts were quite good. Drinks pool side a treat and excellent outdoor facilities.

Internet in the room!!

Tremendous location for walking to great restaurants and the butterfly garden.

We had double oceanview rooms which were not in the hotel proper - great privacy and views.

Everything was clean. Rooms need some tender care - cracked tiles in bathroom, old curtains, old jacuzzi on balcony, and just an outdated feel.

However, this is a great place.

Room Tip: Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutto, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for five days in mid august. I was a little worried planning a trip to a country we have never visited before and after reading tons of great review about this place I decided to book our stay at la mariposa. The staff at this place is amazing! Very helpful even before trip. I emailed with tons of questions about our private transportation from airport and tours I was interested in. They never made me feel like I was bothering them. They even gave me recommendations for restaurants in the area. When we arrived at this beautiful hotel we were greeted and shown around and given welcome drinks at the pool bar. The room we had was amazing! Beautiful view of the ocean. It's a bit pricey but so worth it! Such a romantic feel to it and had a comfy couch right in front of the glass doors so we watched the rain at night while we talked about our amazing day we just had. The breakfast buffet was so delicious and so much to choose from. No need to waste money at the restaurants in the area because the food is delicious. We booked all our activities through the hotel. They work with safe companies they recommend. They arrange everything for you so that you have no worries. We did have one issue with our rafting tour they booked some how got overlooked and we did not get picked up. After we told the guys at front desk we were still waiting for rafting company they were super helpful. They called and found out what happened and were going to arrange for a taxi to take us but we decided we would just cancel and do something else. The guys at front desk called and arranged for a private tour of national park and set up parasailing for after tour. I felt like they really cared about us having a great time and were safe. The whole staff from front desk to waiters everyone was welcoming and nice. The hotel restaurant has great food with beautiful view. There are restaurants within walking distant that are great too. This is a really long review but I just don't want to leave anything out about this amazing place. We can't wait to go back! Thanks again to everyone at la mariposa for making our first time in Costa Rica the best trip ever!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, comes with a price tag, but delivers good quality. The views from the pool and dining area are great, staff is super friendly and accommodating. We had a full ocean view room in the older part of the building. Still very good rooms, but older style (bit colonial style rooms). Balcony is spacious, great view and the jaccuzi was super. Beds are very comfy, not too hard.

The food in the restaurant is pricy but good, breakfast is also good. Buffet-style with enough to choose from. But there are some other nice restaurants at walking distance as well, which is a bliss as most other hotels in this area are too far from other restaurants to walk.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This is one of my favorite hotels in Costa Rica. The view is spectacular, the food and the service is amazing and the National park is just a priceless experience... You must see this place! I can't wait to go back...

Room Tip: Request the ones with the ocean view, sometimes are a little higher in price BUT OH MYYYYYYYYYY IS S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have traveled to many places around the world and have seen many fantastic ocean views. The view from our room and the restaurant at the La Mariposa is the most spectacular I have ever seen. I called it the "billionaires" view. We stayed 3 nights as part of a multi-location family trip. Also went to Arenal and Monteverde. Our room (room 50) was updated and very nice. The view from the balcony was breathtaking. Our family had three other rooms and they were good, just not as updated as ours. But their views were also excellent

Service at the hotel was great. Food and drinks were very good. We enjoyed the pool as well.

The national park and local beach is only 10 minutes by shuttle or taxi. We visited the national park and its wonderful beaches. We saw monkeys, sloths, and other wildlife. We also really liked our excursions; horseback riding in the mountains to a waterfall; the catamaran trip where we saw a mother and baby whale multiple times close to the boat; and a really nice and informative Damas Estuary tour.

Our family also liked the "vibe" of the restaurants and bars around the Manuel Antonio area. A lot of good restaurants and bars in easy walking distance.

But the centerpiece is for sure the hotel and its views. I can easily see coming back here again sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Consider asking for ocean views facing Manuel Antonio Park. The walk from the street to the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay and relax, enjoy the view and the scenery. The staff was super helpful and friendly. We stayed in room 27 and the view of sunset was amazing both nights we wrote here. And the infinity pools are amazing to just hang out in.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mariposa

Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Mariposa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica’s abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our “Sunset Bar and Lounge”, while dining in our world-class international restaurant “Le Papillon” With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Costa Rica
Hotel La Mariposa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Mariposa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.