We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Mariposa to your Saves list
Hotel La Mariposa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Middletown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Return Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

So awesome we are returning once again. We loved the experience of all the friendly workers and the spectacular view. The bartender by the pool was always friendly and welcoming. Great location and short walk to many restaurants. Not on the beach but amazing view of Manuel Antonio. Pura Vidal La Mariposa will be back in less than 2 weeks!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    208
    72
    37
    33
See reviews for
198
369
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparta
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

From our room on the top floor of the main building, we had a 180 degree view of the ocean, the sunset, and the lovely, fragrant grounds of this well maintained hotel. The front desk and all the staff are friendly, helpful, and classy. We didn't mind the winding spiral stairs up to the third floor, but that might deter some. Our beds were giant kings and so comfortable. We chose not to eat at the restaurant partly because of the prices, but for a special occasion it would be lovely. The breakfast included with our room is very generous and delicious, not just a continental but a full breakfast. This hotel was a perfect way to end our whirlwind trip through Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Room 36 has the view of a lifetime!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilrijk, Antwerpen, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

When you are looking for a high-quality hotel with an amazing view out of your bed, from the terras or out of your private jacuzzi. You must book this hotel. It provides you this magic a trip to costa rica deserves. Money well spent!

Room Tip: Room 10 is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hotel LaMariposa has the best views ever. It is a beautiful old style Spanish hotel. We stayed in a premier ocean view room and received a corner room that had two king beds and a balcony that went all around on two sides. We found the beds to be very comfortable - not the usual hard beds in CR. we had a flat screen TV and a quiet, high capacity air conditioner. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Upon checking in we received a tour of the property and a complimentary welcome drink. The restaurant food sw good but a bit overpriced. All in all we would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

In one 4-night stay, we experienced no AC; failed attempt to repair AC; no wi-fi 3 of 4 days (even the neighborhood bar had connectivity); no hot water; and flooding from the floor (we were NOT ground level) during a torrential storm on our last night. Only after the storm subsided (with water rising in the room), were we moved -- to a room with conspicuous waves of ants. Problems happen in any hotel. I know it was adjacent to rain forest. Each problem was more or less handled, but only after our persistent (and polite) efforts to resolve. The accumulation of issues was not what we paid for. Nor worth the price. At checkout, staff owned no responsibility for anything, including our flooded-out last night. Not even a 'comped' drink came our way for the accumulated inconveniences. The view is grand but just as enjoyable if you buy a drink as a disconcerting stay at La Mariposa.

Room Tip: Stay at Si Como No
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Location is great with amazing views over the National Park. We booked a premier ocean view room. The initial room we were put in (52) looked nothing like the photos of the room we booked. We complained and after much debate they moved us to another room (57) that had much more modern and higher quality fixtures (always ask for one of these rooms they are far superior to the rooms in the older block).

The Pool area has incredible views, breakfast was disappointing and did not eat in the restaurant as although the reviews were good the prices were much higher than other options in town.

In summary if you get one of the modern ocean view rooms , this place is well worth the money. Staff were friendly and helpful though with any additional activities or information we needed especially the guys and girls on reception.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had planned to stay 2 nts at this hotel & added an extra one, that's how nice this was. We were upgraded to a corner rm on the 2nd fl of the main building which was fantastic. It ws huge, but who wanted to be inside when there was a balcony with an amazing view to the ocean? The staff was great, with excellent service all over the place. The rm included breakfast, which was delicious, varied and abundant. We also had dinner at the rest & we found it very good. And again, the servers were so nice & helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mariposa

Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Mariposa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica’s abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our “Sunset Bar and Lounge”, while dining in our world-class international restaurant “Le Papillon” With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Costa Rica
Hotel La Mariposa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Mariposa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.