We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel Stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Mariposa to your Saves list
Hotel La Mariposa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$156 (USD)
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel Stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights earlier this month while on a fishing trip to Quepos. Enjoyed the stay, the hotel, the restaurant, and the courteous staff. The view of the Pacific from the hotel is truly outstanding. Also, the front desk personnel have the knowledge and expertise to accommodate all of your needs. In particular, Mr. Johannes Kohkemper was most professional in addressing all of our needs during our stay. Highly recommend the Mariposa without any reservation!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    236
    79
    40
    35
See reviews for
225
416
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My (now) husband and I were recommended this hotel by two different people for our recent honeymoon visit to Costa Rica. We were so glad we took their advice. Everything was simply amazing, from the views to the service to the room. The bartender at the wet bar set us up on a fishing excursion one day, where we caught a huge snook.. we brought the fish back to the hotel and they gladly cooked the fish for us.. two different ways for lunch, and the rest for dinner!

The hotel is a little ways from the beach & national park, but we had rented a car, and there's also a shuttle that runs a few times a day. We did take a nice walk from the top of the hill where the hotel is down to the beach.

Didn't see any monkeys, but the panoramic view of the ocean was simply stunning. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The views of this hotel alone earn it an excellent rating. The rooms were very clean. There isn't a bad view in the hotel. We saw monkeys from our patio as well as the ocean. The wet bar had a very friendly bartender. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly. The hotel is not really within walking distance to the beach but they do provide a shuttle that takes you to the beach. There are plenty of places to grab a bite to eat on the beach. They will even bring drinks to you while you lounge under an umbrella. The breakfast at the hotel is good. There is wifi at the hotel. I highly recommend the 10 in one excursion with ADR amigos del rio. They are very friendly and punctual. I would definitely go back to this hotel. Also we were upgraded to a bigger room with a full ocean view...free of charge so that was awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked a partial ocean view and were upgraded to a full ocean view room upon our arrival (free of charge). We stayed in Room 46. Loved that we had a private entrance. The views from the room were excellent, although I would have considered our room a partial ocean view. When looking directly off the balcony it was mostly a hill view...the ocean view was to the right. The balcony was really nice. Unfortunately, the windows in the rooms are only frosted, and the neighboring room had a bathroom directly facing our balcony. Doubly unfortunatley, the male and female occupants of the room were busy with each other in the shower our first night there, and it was impossible not to see the action taking place thanks to the poor choice of window placement and frosting. This made enjoying the peaceful evening a bit difficult. It also made us concerned about people being able to easily see into our room when the lights were on as the two bathroom windows and the door were both only lightly frosted. We were very careful as to where we dressed. The bed was very low to the floor and very hard, too. We also had many small insects and two geckos in our room. At this point in our trip to Costa Rica we were learning to live amongst the bugs, so it wasn't that big of a deal. The welcome drink upon arrival was very nice. The bar staff was nice. Pools are beautiful and clean. It is quite a distance from the main part of town and the beaches. We happened to be there on the weekend and driving into town was a pain because of the traffic. If I had it to do over again, I would book at the beach. There are several hotels there that were nice and within walking distance of the National Park, the beach, restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room not facing the pool and bar area. The balconies there were easily viewed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel deserves two stars: One for its amazing views and one for the service of the restaurant staff.

Everything else about the hotel was really lacking, and it was hard to give it any stars after our experience. If you look at other reviews from late April you'll see others had similar experiences.

ANTS: We booked a more expensive room (Room 55) that had amazing views but as soon as we got there we found an ant infestation in the bathroom. Not just a few ants, but an infestation. This means the hotel did not actually check our room before giving us the keys. That was mistake one. Their second mistake was not offering us a different room. When we told them about the ants they acted as if it was nothing and sent a man to spray poisonous insecticide everywhere. The smell was so strong it made me sick to the point where I almost fainted (I actually had a really scary moment). Not wanting the hassle of changing hotels, I insisted that they switch us to a different room so they did. The second one also had ants, both in the bathroom and by the door to the balcony, however, there were not as many so I decided to live with it since I didn't want more insecticide sprayed everywhere. We ended up taping some of the holes with tape we brought from home. This should not have happened in such an expensive room.

POOR SERVICE: The staff at the front desk seemed disinterested and were not friendly. Some examples:

(a) After switching rooms they did not bother to ask if everything was alright.

(b) We stood around waiting to get towels for so long (while the concierge spoke with a woman) the shuttle to the beach left even though it was obvious we would be going as well and the concierge received a call from the shuttle driver (while we were standing right there) asking if anyone else would be coming.

(c) We asked for extra towels since we were soaked from a hike and had to dry our clothing but the concierge actually wouldn't give them to us originally, I had to convince him to! Unbelievable..

SUBSTANDARD ROOM:

(a) The door of the room had a big gap at the bottom, meaning bugs walked in freely. If you want to see wildlife in your room, pick this hotel.

(b) The doors to the balcony were also not sealed which not only meant bugs came in all the time, but there was a flood in our room during a rainstorm! Luckily, we were in the room at the time so we used towels to prevent the water from spreading, but if we had not done so it would have gone past the bed and possibly damaged our stuff. We had to ask for extra towels to keep the room from flooding. Again, the front desk staff acted as if this was completely normal. (Seriously?)

(c) Some more general complaints were (1) the hairdryer was a joke and I never was able to dry my long hair (even after standing there for half an hour). I wish I took a picture of it. It wasn't actually a hairdryer, it was some sort of funnel thing from which air slowly came out. (2) The bed was hard. But that's a small issue. (3) It took on average 1-2 minutes to get warm water from the sink and shower.

PROS:

The good things about this hotel were:

(1) The service of the restaurant staff was great.
(2) The infinity pool is beautiful.
(3) The view is drop-dead gorgeous (however, you can just come into the hotel and take some pictures then leave, you don't have to stay there).
(4) The drinks were delicious and the pool service was great.
(5) Handheld shower in the bathroom (rooms 55 & 54, not all the rooms).

Overall, I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hotel La Mariposa is now officially our new favorite Hotel in MA. We had 2 rooms (rm 28 & 29) that had huge patios over the outdoor dining area. The views from the connecting patios was even better than the awesome views from the pool and breakfast areas.
There are a lot of very good places to eat very close by - some walking distance and some a short car trip. As others have noted, the drinks from the bar are very high priced, there are a ice machines around and I had my cooler full of cold drinks.
The gardens are well cared for and a big variety of jungle plants and lots of wildlife (monkeys, toucans, iguana, frogs, etc...).
We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel has the best views in Costa Rica (in my opinion) - they are like something out of a movie. When you're sitting in the hot tub looking over the infinity pool watching the sunset and there are white-faced monkeys running through the trees --you know you are on vacation. It's in a really good location too - close to restaurants and the beach. We had a fabulous big room with our own private balcony and hammock! The breakfast is also good with lots of choices. Dinner and drinks are $$$, however. The hotel has a bit of a party vibe (at least when we were there) which we enjoyed! We loved meeting other couples in the hot tub every night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#19 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#4 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
#10 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#7 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
1.4 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#16 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mariposa

Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Mariposa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica’s abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our “Sunset Bar and Lounge”, while dining in our world-class international restaurant “Le Papillon” With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Costa Rica
Hotel La Mariposa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Mariposa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.