We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the great reviews!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Mariposa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Mariposa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the great reviews!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I just came back from my stay at La Mariposa in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. First off, the views are truly spectacular so lets not discredit that from this place. However, that is what you're essentially paying for and I'm sure there are other hotels with the same view in the area if you do your research. The grounds are also well maintained and the location is pretty central to downown areas, restaurants, Manuel Antion National Park, etc. Now, the bad parts. I was there for a wedding (so had no choice really) and was very surprised at the accomodations/services we received. I didn't think it would be bad because of the reviews, but I would say at least 90% of the wedding guests staying at the hotel had issues after swamping stories. Therefore, this is completely not just a personal experience. 1) We booked a full ocean front room with a king size bed. What we got was a king bed AND a queen bed. Not sure why they couldn't be upfront about it when we made the reservation, but I find it very confusing and unnecessary to get two beds when you only request a king. Was told all the rooms in the entire hotel have two beds which I find to be unlikely but not worth arguing. 2) The bathroom was a disaster. Our toliet and shower were not working properly during our entire stay. They came to check on the issue and their way of "fixing" it was to use a plunger for the toliet (gross). Apparently its pretty standard in all of Costa Rica because the water/sewer system is still underdeveloped and you can't throw toilet paper in the toilet. Perhaps the previous guests had screwed things up who knows, but it should have been fixed before bringing in new guests. Then in order to get hot water in the shower, we were told to first run the hot water in ther sink faucet to tweek it. Don't think guests should be learning tricks to use a shower or a toliet in my opinion. 3) We also had a huge ant infestation. We couldn't even leave a glass of water on the night stand because it would become a pool party for them. They were everywhere, on our bed, on the dresser, bathroom, all over my luggage, etc. you name it. Ant party central! I understand we're in a tropical country, etc. but not acceptable in a hotel for the price we paid...sorry. 4) There was a day that they did not come to clean our room and I had to call the next morning to bring us towels and come clean, not acceptable. 5) Construction. Why do they need to start as early as 7am when I'm vacation??. Was definitely on time for the free breakfast since there was not one morning I could sleep in. When I complained to the front desk staff about all our issues, it seemed like they were used to receiving complaints. No apologies or anything, they simply said to email the hotel owner because there was nothing they can do. They barely even give you the courtesy to look you in the face, perhaps embarrassment or rudeness, but not great customer service. Needless to say, overall not a great experience and very surpised people have given the hotel such rave reviews and claim to have stayed at great hotels. This is by far NOT a 5 or 4 star hotel, 3 at most! The only thing that it really has going for them is the view and location but that's it. Good luck and safe travels everyone!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    438
    196
    68
    36
    32
See reviews for
177
356
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I agree with everything everyone says about the views and the location. But in my opinion, the hotel needs some work. We were there for 4 nights in mid April. The positives are the pool (except for the 2 hours they were weed-wacking in the middle of 'siesta' time one afternoon), the overall ambiance, the walking location to a couple nice, quaint, restaurants, and the nearby public transportation, which we had no problems using. Monkeys were cool too.

On the downside, the furniture in our room was OLD, scratched up, with a rock hard bed. There were no chairs in the room, so there was no place to do any work (which some of us have to do) unless you wanted to sit on the bed or an oversized ottoman/backless couch. Internet was ok, AC did not work well, but barely well enough if it ran 24 hrs, and it was loud, which drowned out the dripping faucet in the bathroom. TV was nice to have with Miami networks. Restaurant was unimpressive except for the view and setting. They have shuttle to the public beach, which dropped us off but wasn't there for scheduled pickup, which is when we learned to use the bus, which was 50 cents a person one way for a 10 minute ride. There was a fridge in the room, which froze whatever went in it, and the adjustment knob was gone, so no way to fix that. The large sliders out to a GREAT balcony locked, but didn't seal - minor bug issue. For the price, I thought it was overrated, but don't have any comparisons in the area - our first trip there, and didn't stay anywhere else. None of this ruined the vacation - but once you get over the fantastic views, there wasn't much there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We very much enjoyed this hotel. There were fabulous views from our balcony, and the room was spacious.
My only criticism is the staircase. It's on the outside of the building and is a modified spiral. The steps themselves were a grid so that if you looked down at your feet you could see two or three stories to the ground. With my fear of heights it was tough going up and down to and from our room, but there was no other option. I couldn't help but wonder what they would do if there is ever an emergency situation and they have to evacuate someone from one of the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a premier room, first floor which gave us a private lawn from which we could explore each morning. Watched the monkeys play just below our unit on the 2 mornings we looked for them, enjoyed bird watching and had a visit from a large lizard on our porch one afternoon.
I love modern but agree that the room could use something to soften a bit. Incredible breakfast with a view each morning and the nicest staff you could ask for. Loved that it wasn't at the end of the road like the Parador where we stayed last time. Much easier to access and there could not be a better view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Wow, absolutely fantastic hotel in every respect.

Firstly, the view is out of this world. Definitely pay the extra money and get the full ocean view. We had room 10 and it was amazing. The bathtub was HUGE, seriously 3 people could have fit in! It was positioned so you could see the view while soaking. Perfect. The balcony had a hammock and chairs too to allow you to make the most of the scenery. If you're an early riser, you'll hear the Howler monkeys down in the park below.

The room was not luxurious but was very comfortable and homely. The air conditioning unit was nice and quiet which makes a change from a lot of hotels. The bed was comfy too.

Breakfast was good, with eggs made on demand and plenty of choice. Of course, having breakfast in the open air while looking down at Manuel Antonio National Park was a pretty nice way to start the day.

All of the staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and eager to please. We asked for laundry to be done ASAP as we were leaving early in the morning, and it was delivered to our room, folded and smelling sweet just a couple of hours later, despite it already being quite late in the day.

The swimming pool was gorgeous and never busy. Watching the sunset from here was spectacular.

We enjoyed it so much that after spending a few days in Corcovado, we returned for a final night! The receptionist recognised me and they gave us a discount on the room and upgraded us to a Premier Ocean view room as we were returning customers!! Fantastic customer serivce.

Overall, an amazing hotel and highly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights(2 adults & 2 kids ages 10,16). La Mariposa in Manuel Antonio was our first stop before heading to Monteverde and La Fortuna.

We had a long flight and we drove from SJO airport to the hotel. We were received with welcome drinks like all the hotels we stayed in Costa Rica.We stayed in room#27 full oceanview. The views were gorgeous and breakfast buffet was delicious with hashbrowns, omlette station, beans & rice, fresh juice, fresh fruits etc. I am a vegetarian but still enough options on their breakfast menu. The staff was very helpful. We were able to see sunset from our balcony and we didn't even need to go anywhere else. Loved this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

La Mariposa is a friendly, comfortable clean and beautiful hotel. The views of the Pacific are outstanding, and it's proximity to the wonderful town and beach at Manuel Antonio (a 5-minute public bus ride away) makes it perfect.

The staff of the Hotel are among the best I have experienced anywhere - relaxed, helpful and genuinely friendly.

Overall, our stay was a delight.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mariposa

Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Mariposa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica’s abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our “Sunset Bar and Lounge”, while dining in our world-class international restaurant “Le Papillon” With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Costa Rica
Hotel La Mariposa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Mariposa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.