We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, excellent views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Mariposa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Mariposa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, excellent views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a premier room, first floor which gave us a private lawn from which we could explore each morning. Watched the monkeys play just below our unit on the 2 mornings we looked for them, enjoyed bird watching and had a visit from a large lizard on our porch one afternoon.
I love modern but agree that the room could use something to soften a bit. Incredible breakfast with a view each morning and the nicest staff you could ask for. Loved that it wasn't at the end of the road like the Parador where we stayed last time. Much easier to access and there could not be a better view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    438
    196
    68
    36
    32
See reviews for
177
356
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Wow, absolutely fantastic hotel in every respect.

Firstly, the view is out of this world. Definitely pay the extra money and get the full ocean view. We had room 10 and it was amazing. The bathtub was HUGE, seriously 3 people could have fit in! It was positioned so you could see the view while soaking. Perfect. The balcony had a hammock and chairs too to allow you to make the most of the scenery. If you're an early riser, you'll hear the Howler monkeys down in the park below.

The room was not luxurious but was very comfortable and homely. The air conditioning unit was nice and quiet which makes a change from a lot of hotels. The bed was comfy too.

Breakfast was good, with eggs made on demand and plenty of choice. Of course, having breakfast in the open air while looking down at Manuel Antonio National Park was a pretty nice way to start the day.

All of the staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and eager to please. We asked for laundry to be done ASAP as we were leaving early in the morning, and it was delivered to our room, folded and smelling sweet just a couple of hours later, despite it already being quite late in the day.

The swimming pool was gorgeous and never busy. Watching the sunset from here was spectacular.

We enjoyed it so much that after spending a few days in Corcovado, we returned for a final night! The receptionist recognised me and they gave us a discount on the room and upgraded us to a Premier Ocean view room as we were returning customers!! Fantastic customer serivce.

Overall, an amazing hotel and highly recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights(2 adults & 2 kids ages 10,16). La Mariposa in Manuel Antonio was our first stop before heading to Monteverde and La Fortuna.

We had a long flight and we drove from SJO airport to the hotel. We were received with welcome drinks like all the hotels we stayed in Costa Rica.We stayed in room#27 full oceanview. The views were gorgeous and breakfast buffet was delicious with hashbrowns, omlette station, beans & rice, fresh juice, fresh fruits etc. I am a vegetarian but still enough options on their breakfast menu. The staff was very helpful. We were able to see sunset from our balcony and we didn't even need to go anywhere else. Loved this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

La Mariposa is a friendly, comfortable clean and beautiful hotel. The views of the Pacific are outstanding, and it's proximity to the wonderful town and beach at Manuel Antonio (a 5-minute public bus ride away) makes it perfect.

The staff of the Hotel are among the best I have experienced anywhere - relaxed, helpful and genuinely friendly.

Overall, our stay was a delight.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very much enjoyed our stay at La Mariposa. Lovely views from our rooms and the pool area. Great breakfast. The Premier room was very large, modern, a lot of hard surfaces but nevertheless confortable, but the view from the 4th floor less expensive, "full ocean view" room was also fabulous. So, the extra expenditure may not have been needed. Staff was helpful in arranging tour of the area and with directions. Could use more lounge chairs around the pool. Very nice location, but best to have a car -- although there are some restaurants within an easy walk.

Room Tip: Fourth floor of the central building have the best view for the price, but you have to climb the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton Harbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at La Mariposa from March 31st to April 6th. We have nothing but positive comments about our stay. The view from the hotel, as others have noted, was spectacular. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast buffet was delicious, with fresh fruit, granola, pastries, potatoes, beans and rice, and eggs/omelets, and pancakes cooked to order. It was a great way to start the day with such good food, and a beautiful view. The grounds are lush and well kept. The pool area is beautiful as well, and was never crowded, even though the hotel was full while we were there. The hotel is also very centrally located, which makes for an easy walk to the local restaurants and shops ( about a block to the business district).
When researching where to stay in Manuel Antonio, we checked out many hotels. While we were there, we took the time to look at the other hotels as well. I have no doubt that we made the best choice by staying at La Mariposa. I could see where road noise would be a problem at many of the other hotels, as well as being inconvenient for getting around without a taxi. Also the fact that La Mariposa is at the highest point in the area meant that there was always a nice breeze, no matter the wind direction. Many of the other hotels are stuck down in, which made for a lack of air movement.
Sebastion and Maria as well as the other staff at the front desk were very helpful in booking trips and offering suggestions. We had a medical issue with a severe allergic reaction, and the staff was most helpful in getting us the medical attention required. We are most grateful for their help.
It all made for a most memorable vacation, and if we return to Manuel Antonio, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Perfect location, walking distance to great restaurants. Free shuttle to and from beach. Great ocean views. Very helpful front desk will, arrange tours/activites for you...just tell them what you want and they set it up. Swim up bars and great pools. I can go on and on...great place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mariposa

Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Mariposa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica’s abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our “Sunset Bar and Lounge”, while dining in our world-class international restaurant “Le Papillon” With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Costa Rica
Hotel La Mariposa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Mariposa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.