We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but expensive for what it is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Mariposa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Mariposa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive for what it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel was the first in the area (so I have been told) and that's obvious.
The room was nice but it seemed it had passed its best years.
Really loud fan in the bathroom, wifi not always stable and air condition with buzzing sound ( had earplugs that helped)

The people were very kind and you have a spectacular view from the dining area and some rooms.
It's nice and safe for families .

Altogether a pleasant stay with short distances to the parks, beach etc.

Just a bit overpriced after I saw what else you could get in the area .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    203
    71
    37
    33
See reviews for
194
364
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I'll be brief: Stayed in room 35. La mariposa is an older charming hotel. Generally, I do not care about hotels too much: as long is it clean, moderately comfortable and meets basic requirements for professional service. So to speak, I do not care if staff smiles or greats me every time I pass them by:) I do not travel to enjoy the hotel itself, if you know what I mean.
But if they say to at "La Mariposa": we charge you $200 for the room ant extra $100 for the view - I'll gladly pay it. To wake up and see what I could see from my room is worth much more than that, you will remember it for a very, very long time.
For comparison: for the view from so called "oceanfront" suites in Carribean resorts (Mexico, Jamaica, etc) I would not pay a dime.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Or
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As others have noted this hotel has a great view of the ocean and surrounding area. Our corner room on the third floor (36) had a spectacular view - staff said the best in the hotel. The pool area is very nice - the views from the outdoors restaurant unbelievable. Staff is extremely helpful and speaks excellent English and Swahili (just kidding). Negative comments would be the price and quality of the restaurant and the overall value of the restaurant experience. ($175 for a dinner for 2). Our value white wine was served warm - on a hot day. Our $18 caesar salad appetizer portion was served without dressing and consisted mostly of croutons. The lettuce was limp and warm, and the Anchovie portion of the salad appeared to be like bacon-bits. Anyway - a very poor execution of a Caesar salad - especially at that price. I had the beef tenderloin in mushroom sauce with mashed potatoes and vegies - which was a very modest portion - but tasty. Isabella had the lobster linguine which was fine - but nothing to write home about. Service was OK. The view spectacular. Breakfast buffet and eggs and pancakes to order were delicious. The only other negative comment is about the noise coming from the pool area late at night. There were a bunch of folks yelling at each other in the hot tub at midnight - our room directly above. We were able to hear it even with ear plugs and pillows over our heads. Not good - I'm surprised they allow this to happen as there are probably 30 rooms within earshot of the pool area. Our room was plain but functional. As others have noted there is no art - minimal furniture etc. But really - we were only sleeping in there so it didn't matter that much.

Room Tip: Room 36 is the top floor corner room with the best view - however noise from the pool area at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We took a Full Ocean View Room and got the top floor, right side, wrap around balcony with a 180 degree view of the ocean and bay. It was magnificent. The sunsets - we just couldn't get enough. The room itself was gorgeous, with two king size beds and floor-to-ceiling windows around two sides. The hotel grounds were unbelievable - infinity pool, swim-up bar (with submerged bar stools built into the pool), and a full service pool restaurant. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and delicious and the restaurant had incredible 180 degree views of the ocean. The grounds were lush with flowering trees and bushes and lots of birds, white-face Capuchin monkeys, and lizards and iguanas. The staff was helpful and friendly. We enjoyed four nights and wished we never had to leave. It is truly an experience to cherish for a lifetime!

Room Tip: Get the full view - you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Enjoyed Mariposa so much last year that we returned again this year after spending 3 nights in La Fortuna. Mariposa is a beautiful hotel with amazing views of the Pacific. We booked a Premier Ocean View room, which was bright, modern, and spacious, with GREAT views of the ocean, and a perfect spot for viewing sunsets.
The infinity pool is perfect - again with amazing views. Enjoyed swimming and relaxing poolside with a drink from the poolside bar.
Manfred was very helpful and kind as we went through the booking process for our return trip. (Thank you, Manfred!) All of the front desk staff members were very professional.
The included breakfast was delicious, with eggs made to order, pancakes, fresh fruit, etc., and of course, Costa Rican coffee. Views from the dining area are second to none. Dinners were also wonderful - we were there for 4 nights, and had dinner at the hotel on three occasions. It was so relaxing sitting out under the stars, and Luis, our waiter, was excellent. We remembered him from last year. He made our stay very special due to his kindness and friendliness.
Mariposa is a great choice if you're looking for a hotel in Manuel Antonio. The hotel offers a free shuttle down to the beach 3 or 4 times per day. The beaches in the national park are beautiful, as is the beach where the shuttle drops you off.
Mariposa is located in an area where you can walk to a few restaurants, an ATM, etc., so you don't need to rely on a car or taxi.
Feel free to email with any questions.

Room Tip: We stayed in Premier Ocean View rooms both this year and last year. I think the room numbers were 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you are looking for a beautiful hotel with an amazing view and great service then La Mariposa is the place to stay. The premier ocean view room is gorgeous and spacious. The staff is very attentive and friendly, their buffet breakfast is really delicious and the hotel is conveniently located to the beach and enterence to the Manuel Antonio Park. I travelled to Costa Rica with my 3 1/2 year old son and La Mariposa definitely was the most family friendly of all the hotels.

The only 2 issues I had with the hotel are (1) the howler monkeys at night are extremely loud and will keep you up unless you keep the airconditioning running all night or bring earplugs and (2) the bed is kind of hard and they only provide a thin sheet which means you better bundle up if you want to run the air all night to avoid monkey noises.

But other than those issues, great hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Even before we left home, the staff at Hotel La Mariposa in Manuel Antonio Costa Rica worked to make our vacation terrific! They put us in a beautiful ocean view room -- very clean and comfortable for our family of four (our kids at 12 and 17). They also worked with us via email to determine the tours we wanted and then lined us up with outstanding guides -- incredibly knowledgeable, interesting and fun -- and reliable, friendly drivers. Once we arrived, we were treated to the nicest, most accommodating staff! Front desk, bellmen, waiters, housekeepers - everyone - was friendly, helpful...just amazing! We were treated more like guests in someone's home than tourists. The location is spectacular - the view of the ocean and the natural environment is breath taking and it was very easy to get to the National Park, restaurants, shopping etc. While we did not have dinner in the hotel restaurant, we did have breakfast there daily (included with our room) and then snacks and lunches by the pool. The food was great and worked for adults and kids. I would HIGHLY recommend this beautiful hotel and its excellent service to anyone and everyone. We very much hope to go back and stay at La Mariposa again!!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, corner room so we had a balcony with spectacular, panoramic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mariposa

Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Mariposa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica’s abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our “Sunset Bar and Lounge”, while dining in our world-class international restaurant “Le Papillon” With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Costa Rica
Hotel La Mariposa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Mariposa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.