We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, good service but a bit tired...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Mariposa to your Saves list
Hotel La Mariposa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great view, good service but a bit tired...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The best feature of this hotel is its location. This is one of the original hotels built on the hill overlooking the Manuel Antonio National Park and the views are outstanding - both of the park and of the Pacific sunsets each evening. The pool is beautiful and worth spending some time at - even if your primary focus is to get to the park and to the beaches nearby. The hotel is located near the Park (but not walking distance) and near many restaurants, etc.

The hotel itself is well maintained but getting a bit tired due to its age. Expect some limitations to things like hooks and shelves in the room - this is not a 4 star location. Wifi access was available but intermittent and difficult to get the right password etc. Also - if you opt to stay in a "garden-view" room vs the "ocean view", expect that you might be in a separate building overlooking the parking lot. For us, this was just a bit of a let-down but given we did not intend to spend time in our room anyway - we made the best of it. There was nothing appealing about the view from our room - but a walk up the hill and over to the main building provided the best spot for taking in the views.

Room Tip: If you opt to stay in a "garden-view" room vs the "ocean view", expect that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    210
    73
    38
    33
See reviews for
202
374
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I visited Masriposa for our anniversary veacation. My first impression was wow then I saw the view and it was WOW! Great place, great view, extremely nice and accomodating staff and so many interesting things to see. As a nature photographer I was thrilled at all of the photo ops I had from monkeys, beautiful birds and flowers and even a baby sloth right there at the bar at pool side. We had an ocean view with garden surrounding and it was so peaceful surrounded by nature. Our visit to Costa Rica was wonderful and this hotel was perfect for us. I highly recommend it and if you go say hello to Maria ,Johannes, and Philipp. I miss it already!

Room Tip: If you are not in good shape be sure to ask for a room high up. We had lots of stairs to climb daily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

It was a nice enough hotel, but lacked the amenities to back up the high price tag, especially when there are so many other hotels in the area.
Pros: Service was stellar, the view was amazing, and the restaurant was great.
Cons: the room was spartan: lots of space, but nothing on the walls, thin, terrible mattresses, only a sheet for bedding; the bathroom was full of ants and seemed to be crumbling (the tiles were in bad shape), the shower was dark and had little water pressure, and the in-room Wi-fi was nearly non-existent; there weren't any block-out curtains, so it was bright by 5:30 a.m., and it was extremely noisy.
There were restaurants nearby that were tasty, as well, though getting to a beach or grocery store required hopping on a bus (frequent, so not a huge problem).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We checked in to our room and there were a couple of problems. Once Marie became aware of the problems she resolved it quickly & professionally...to the degree that i was happy. All the nice things said about this hotel by the other guests are true. I will be back..and I will ask for Maria when I make reservations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed @ La Mariposa last April and it ended up being one of our favorite places ! The room was huge and very clean. We had a beautiful ocean view with a large balcony. The included breakfast was a treat every morning. We spent one day just hanging out at the infinity pool all day. The staff was wonderful and took great care of everyone! We loved watching and listening to all the wildlife nearby. La Mariposa is a special place!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very clean and beautiful. Steep but private grounds, amazing pool area. We had breakfast and it was delicious. Very nice place in Manuel Antonio.
The view is outrageous. Fairly close to a terrific beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richboro, PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This property has the best view in Manuel Antonio. Cocktails at sunset are fabulous! The staff is friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet is excellent. Parking can be somewhat of a problem because of the small lot and there are steep inclines to get to the reception area, but it's well worth the climb. Drive or climb down to a quiet and beautiful beach. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view rooms are great and have a wonderful view at a lower cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mariposa

Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Mariposa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica’s abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our “Sunset Bar and Lounge”, while dining in our world-class international restaurant “Le Papillon” With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Costa Rica
Hotel La Mariposa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Mariposa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.