We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to get away from the normal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Mariposa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Mariposa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Tampa, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place to get away from the normal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I visited Masriposa for our anniversary veacation. My first impression was wow then I saw the view and it was WOW! Great place, great view, extremely nice and accomodating staff and so many interesting things to see. As a nature photographer I was thrilled at all of the photo ops I had from monkeys, beautiful birds and flowers and even a baby sloth right there at the bar at pool side. We had an ocean view with garden surrounding and it was so peaceful surrounded by nature. Our visit to Costa Rica was wonderful and this hotel was perfect for us. I highly recommend it and if you go say hello to Maria ,Johannes, and Philipp. I miss it already!

Room Tip: If you are not in good shape be sure to ask for a room high up. We had lots of stairs to climb daily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    437
    194
    69
    36
    32
See reviews for
180
357
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

It was a nice enough hotel, but lacked the amenities to back up the high price tag, especially when there are so many other hotels in the area.
Pros: Service was stellar, the view was amazing, and the restaurant was great.
Cons: the room was spartan: lots of space, but nothing on the walls, thin, terrible mattresses, only a sheet for bedding; the bathroom was full of ants and seemed to be crumbling (the tiles were in bad shape), the shower was dark and had little water pressure, and the in-room Wi-fi was nearly non-existent; there weren't any block-out curtains, so it was bright by 5:30 a.m., and it was extremely noisy.
There were restaurants nearby that were tasty, as well, though getting to a beach or grocery store required hopping on a bus (frequent, so not a huge problem).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We checked in to our room and there were a couple of problems. Once Marie became aware of the problems she resolved it quickly & professionally...to the degree that i was happy. All the nice things said about this hotel by the other guests are true. I will be back..and I will ask for Maria when I make reservations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed @ La Mariposa last April and it ended up being one of our favorite places ! The room was huge and very clean. We had a beautiful ocean view with a large balcony. The included breakfast was a treat every morning. We spent one day just hanging out at the infinity pool all day. The staff was wonderful and took great care of everyone! We loved watching and listening to all the wildlife nearby. La Mariposa is a special place!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very clean and beautiful. Steep but private grounds, amazing pool area. We had breakfast and it was delicious. Very nice place in Manuel Antonio.
The view is outrageous. Fairly close to a terrific beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richboro, PA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This property has the best view in Manuel Antonio. Cocktails at sunset are fabulous! The staff is friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet is excellent. Parking can be somewhat of a problem because of the small lot and there are steep inclines to get to the reception area, but it's well worth the climb. Drive or climb down to a quiet and beautiful beach. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view rooms are great and have a wonderful view at a lower cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We and another couple just returned from 4 night stay. We did all bookings directly with Stevan from the Hotel. He coordinated and managed all our excursion and trip needs from having us picked up at San Jose to multiple activities in the area. All activities were on time and with company's that provided personal service. Any requests we made were answered with "yes" and not "I will see if we can do it". Best place in town to see sunsets and have dinner overlooking the ocean. The extra cost to have full ocean views are worth the value. We travel internationally and were very satisfied with the stay.

Room Tip: If a view is your desire and traveling with another family, ask for the connected rooms on second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mariposa

Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Mariposa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica’s abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our “Sunset Bar and Lounge”, while dining in our world-class international restaurant “Le Papillon” With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Costa Rica
Hotel La Mariposa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Mariposa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.