We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Mariposa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Mariposa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very clean and beautiful. Steep but private grounds, amazing pool area. We had breakfast and it was delicious. Very nice place in Manuel Antonio.
The view is outrageous. Fairly close to a terrific beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    202
    71
    37
    33
See reviews for
193
364
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richboro, PA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This property has the best view in Manuel Antonio. Cocktails at sunset are fabulous! The staff is friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet is excellent. Parking can be somewhat of a problem because of the small lot and there are steep inclines to get to the reception area, but it's well worth the climb. Drive or climb down to a quiet and beautiful beach. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view rooms are great and have a wonderful view at a lower cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We and another couple just returned from 4 night stay. We did all bookings directly with Stevan from the Hotel. He coordinated and managed all our excursion and trip needs from having us picked up at San Jose to multiple activities in the area. All activities were on time and with company's that provided personal service. Any requests we made were answered with "yes" and not "I will see if we can do it". Best place in town to see sunsets and have dinner overlooking the ocean. The extra cost to have full ocean views are worth the value. We travel internationally and were very satisfied with the stay.

Room Tip: If a view is your desire and traveling with another family, ask for the connected rooms on second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winlaw, BC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Pretty pricey, good and friendly service, Maria at the front desk is wonderful, the welcoming papaya frappe was delicious, the infinity pool most romantic, and the patio with chairs & hammock off our room was excellent!

Room Tip: We had a standard ocean view and it was lovely. they added a bed for the third person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

At the last minute we decided to change our reservation, cancelling our room in Quepos and booking 4 nights at La Mariposa in the hills of Manuel Antonio. Never a better decision will I make in my life. Nothing could have prepared us for the incredible views and wonderful staff. Initially we had wanted to be closer to Quepos with more activity. But the hills from Quepos to Manuel Antonio were actually full of life, restaurants and cabs. About a 20-25 (hilly, calf burning) walk from the Ocean and the small town of Manuel Antonio, the hotel also offered daily shuttles to the water. The staff helped us arrange our trip back to San Jose and gave us the vacation of a lifetime. We never wanted to leave!!

Room Tip: Garden side room was spacious but no hooks in the bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This property is amazing with views to die for. Unfortunately the standard rooms are very bare with no pictures, lamps, or even a clock. Of course the scenery makes up for it and the service was excellent. Breakfasts on the terrace were delicious and they bring a full pot of coffee to every table. The location is a bit of a challenge if you want to be at the beach all the time, but the hotel buses and city buses can get you up and down the hill. Walking is treacherous, especially at night, where it would be good to have a flashlight. If you just want to float in an infinity pool for days and look out at the Pacific, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Definitely request an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed at Hotel La Mariposa for a family destination wedding. The room was really nice and the view breathtaking. Andrey Jimenez, the event coordinator, was tremendously helpful. The rest of the staff were also so very helpful with anything that was needed. The wedding was beautiful. The food delicious. Everything the hotel did for all of us made for such a perfect wedding weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mariposa

Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Mariposa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica’s abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our “Sunset Bar and Lounge”, while dining in our world-class international restaurant “Le Papillon” With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Costa Rica
Hotel La Mariposa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Mariposa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.