We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Beautiful Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Mariposa to your Saves list
Hotel La Mariposa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$156 (USD)
Certificate of Excellence
Brandon, Mississippi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We traveled to Costa Rica in July of 2012. When we arrived in Manual Antonio, we had relied on a local to get us a hotel. He had booked us at the Hotel California. Once we arrived there, we immediately began to look for a new hotel to stay at. We went right in to the La Mariposa hotel to inquire about rooms & got one immediately. We were so happy to be changing hotels! We absolutely loved La Mariposa. The views from the room & from the main dining area were the most beautiful views that we had the whole time we were in Costa Rica. The main dining area is open, which I absolutely love! The food was really good & the drinks from the bar were the BEST! Caebo (may not be how to spell his name) was the BEST bartender in all of Costa Rica & made the BEST mojitos!! The rooms were really nice, or at least our's was. They have an infinity pool, which was one of my favorites places to be. The swim up bar was also an infinity one. If I ever get back to Manual Antonia, I will for sure stay at the La Mariposa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    229
    76
    38
    35
See reviews for
217
404
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This medium size hotel has many charms. First, there is no elevator; however the architecture with black wrought iron outdoor stairs belies the modern interiors in the higher end rooms. These spacious rooms have absolutely spectacular views of the MA Park, platform beds, rain showerheads, the most comfortable daybed for admiring the view without oing outside and watching TV.

Like many things in CR, the workmanship is subpar. In this case, the rooms were never sealed up or caulked, and with so many cracks and creases geckos check in and out at will despite keeping all doors shut and the AC on. It is one thing to hear howler monkeys and birds from a distance, it is another to hear geckos grunting in your enclosed room all day and night--not pleasant. Although one certainly gets used to it and geckos are friendly to humans, if you are not used to slithery creatures, they do startle you. When we confronted management, they did not seem to care saying this is part of Manuel Antonio. So there you go, this is part of Manuel Antonio so be forewarn because not many guides will tell you this--noise geckos make.

Otherwise, the pool is also quite nice and long.The food is actually quite good for a hotel except for beakfast but that is not unusual. The hotel is in close proximity to other restaurants within walking distance. Free bus shuttle to the main beach. You can see hawks soaring literally right in front of you because the hotel is at the highest point of a bluff. Very good service. Lovely design. Good mix of Americans, Costa Ricans, Europeans, families, and couples. Excellent service from planning to departure except for the handling of the geckos.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room and accept geckos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We loved La Mariposa. The views from this hotel are so incredible. Where ever you go on the property--your room, the pool, or the dining room, you look out on to the ocean.We had a room on the fourth floor- it was amazing to sit on the balcony and watch the sunset or the birds flying over the forests and beach. We saw Capuchin monkeys, iguanas and toucans right by the pool. We had a good workout climbing the stairs, and walking up the driveway to the hotel. There is a path very close to the hotel which takes you down to the beach (15 minute walk) and you can then stay there or walk along to the main beach in town where you can get lounge chairs. The weather was glorious this past week and ocean clean, warm and lovely to swim in. The hotel is very well situated--a short walk to good restaurants near by or a quick bus ride into town and off the main drag so it is set back from the road and quiet! There is a hotel shuttle that you can ride in and back to town 4 times a day as well. Dinner at the hotel was great. The breakfast is fine (fruit, eggs, yogurt, granola etc) , although not as comprehensive as the breakfast at Hotel Arenal Manoa, which was absolutely incredible. If we came back to Manual Antonio, we definitely would come back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Spent one week in Manuel Antonio at La Mariposa. The hotel is between Quepos and Manuel Antonio. Great location, the staff is great and polite. Rooms are very clean and well located. The food is expensive but good. The sunsets are unbelievable. You can eat in many very good places walking distance from the hotel. One of the restaurant that I highly recommend is Victoria's very very good Italian food. Also, the mirador is a must for coffee lovers they also serve lunch and dinner. If you have no car you will need to use the shuttle to go to the beach or a 15 minutes hike. Another restaurant that just re opened is right next to the Mariposa don't remember the name but its a pizza place cooked in a brick oven its was great. Hope this helps you make a decision and have a great vacation.

The beaches in Manuel Antonio are beautiful.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the sea it's unblievable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in room #62. It had incredible views, was very clean, and the bed was comfortable however the AC blew right over the bed and we had to turn it off because we were getting frost bite! The included breakfast did the trick and of course the views from almost anywhere on the property were amazing. The restaurant / bars all close at 10PM turning the place into a ghost town. We would have rated this a 4 star if the rates were a little lower.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just returned from 8 days in Costa RIca, six of which were at La Mariposa. When you walk up the steps and enter the main hall by the restaurant prepare for a view that takes your breath away. I have traveled all over and can honestly say this is one of the most beautiful view I have ever had at any property. We loved having the free breakfast here while enjoying the view every morning. We ate dinner here once. Food fine, but not as good as some of the the other places we tried.
The pool area is not that big, but very nice and again the view make it all worthwhile. We usually are beach people, and we did shuttle to the beach a few times, but often just preferred to enjoy this pool. They could have used a few more chairs and perhaps another shaded area. Saw lots of capuchins and igunas at the pool as well. I was surprised by one of the reviews I read because we found the service to be quite good. The front desk staff was amazing. Stevan in particular was extremely helpful, always remembered our names and said hello as we passed the desk throughout the day. He helped us organize several outings, spent a long time with us reviewing restaurant choices, and everything was handled well. We used WiFi every day throughout the day and only had difficulty a couple of times for brief periods. As far as the rooms I would stress that you should definitely go for the ones outside the main building. We had number 7 on the side of the building and the view was phenomenal. It was quiet as well. There was a hot tub on the deck and best of all monkeys just a few feet from our porch most days. Room was very clean, but I feel like it could use a refreshing, but then again we had just come from Nayara in Arenal so we were spoiled. We did see that there were some other rooms a bit nicer than ours also outside the main building and would probably ask for them next time. Their view was about the same as ours.If you are picking a hotel on room alone, this may not be your top choice, but we loved it and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Definitely get room outside the main building. Ask for the newer more modern rooms with the great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We paid $290/night for an ocean view room during our visit in Dec 2012 (2 of us + our 2 yr old), first time in Costa Rica. The room itself was awesome, they put us in a corner room so we had a 180 degree view of the ocean. The room was huge, beds comfortable. The location itself is ok, but by no means within walking distance to the beach. The pool is nice, breakfast o-k.

For such a wonderful hotel the service really did not live up to my standards. From the reception through check-out we did not feel welcomed. The way I put it to my husband, "I feel like they are reluctant to serve us"...Im not sure if they are sick of tourists or if they are snooty and reserve their best service to the high-class, whatever it was, the $70/night b&b we stayed in MonteVerde made us feel more welcome. I doubt also that we were the only ones feeling like this because we saw other guests who loudly complained.

Also, we ordered dinner one night from the high-priced restaurant and the food was atrocious starting with the "garlic bread" (sandwich bread + butter), "penne" primavera (they served us spaghetti instead) to the inedible creme brulee (first time, this is the worst creme brulee Ive ever had, could not eat a 2nd bite). But they are probably better at local food than western, since my friend came for happy hour and reported that some fish dish they had was ok.

To sum it up the hotel was beautiful and comfortable but the service did not live up to it. If you eat here dont order western food.

Food tip: Must eat lobster at Mar Luna restaurant.
General tip: Instead of driving to the beach outside the park, take a cab instead (6-7 bucks to/from hotel). A friend who drove said there were people dressed in vests collecting "parking fees" when there's not supposed to be any according to the local cops. They allow it bcoz the people "watch your cars for you".

Room Tip: Corner room gives the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel La Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mariposa

Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Mariposa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica’s abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our “Sunset Bar and Lounge”, while dining in our world-class international restaurant “Le Papillon” With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Costa Rica
Hotel La Mariposa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Mariposa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.