We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best view on Manuel Antonio bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Mariposa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Mariposa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The best view on Manuel Antonio bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have been here for 1 week in August 2012.
The hotel is located on the cliff right behind Manuel Antonio. The view of the bay is outstanding one of the most impressive we have ever seen. Breakfast area is on the terrasse, so that you can enjoy the view every morning.
The room was big, not special, but nice and clean, with private terrasse.
The swimming pool area and the accurate gardens are gorgeous.
Hotel shuttle, or private car, was needed to reach Manuel Antonio.
The area is full of very nice restaurants and cocktailbar, but our favourite has been the new Pizzeria closed to the hotel (inside Hotel), lead by Sebastiano, a real Italian "pizzaiolo". His pizzas were great 'cause the ingredients were fresh and some of them directly imported from Italy.
The hotel team was polite and nice, a part the hotel supervisor, that was a bit too hasty in his attempt to be 110% efficient.

Room Tip: To enjoy the best viev, ask a room in the main building above the swimpool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    202
    71
    37
    33
See reviews for
193
364
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torre-Pacheco, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed at La Mariposa in Oct for 2 nights in room 30. Wonderful friendly staff at check in, I was early so I waited at the amazing pool whilst my room was getting ready. Nice complimentary cocktail and a swim! Then I was shown to my room, I was blown away by the view. Nice and clean room, good a/c, nice bathroom and large comfy beds. Pay the extra for a room on a higher floor you will not be disappointed! The staff were great and I loved the location of the hotel too. Easy to walk out around Manuel Antonio and grab the bus to the beach if you wish. You can also walk down to the beach from the hotel. Just can put into words the view, this is what the hotel is all about Would I stay here again...YES!

Room Tip: Room 30, is all about the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

My wife is from the Coffee farms of Costa Rica, in Feb of 2011 while visiting family we heading out to the beach for the weekend. This hotel is stunning. You can not beat the view from the pool, and the drinks made with FRESH fruit were so smooth. Might be heading here again in Feb 2013.

Mood around the pool was nothing crazy. A few kids, but still nice enough to soak up the rays with a book. Food was nothing to brag about, but plenty of options in the area, and the desk will hail you a cab if you don't want to walk.

DO NOT miss the Sun Set from the pool!!!

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in November, 2012 and were thrilled. They gave us an upgrade-we had rented two rooms-the upgrade gave us a joint balcony that looked out onto the ocean. The views were spectacular. The rooms were very large and comfortable. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful. They made special arrangements for our daughter to arrive from the airport. The food was good-especially breakfast (which is included). There is nothing better than sitting on the balcony looking at the view while eating breakfast or sipping a cocktail. They gave us good recommendations for food in the area. One of the best things was to learn about a beach that was out of the way-hard to get to-but worth it. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view-it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

According to one of the attendants that works in the pool bar; hotel rules are that you are not alloud to drink alcohol that was bought outside of the hotel at the pool. We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon and brought an expensive bottle of wine from United States to enjoy at the pool we were approached by very rude staff who advised me and my wife that if we wanted to enjoy our wine we needed to go inside our room and close the door ..otherwise he would be happy to sell us drinks from the pool bar .....horrible never again how can place charge so much per night and force you to buy drinks at their bar ...thieves !!! Never agains..also the view was amazing and rooms were a little dated ..the pool was amazing but hard to enjoy when the pool wait staff continued to watch you like hawks to make sure you are not sneaking your own alcohol in cocacola bottles ..I swear they came up to us every 15 minutes asking us if we needed something and looking at our gear to see if they could see a bottle of alcohol !!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We booked ourselves Full Ocean View Room (2nd costliest of all rooms) and we reached there it seemed like partial ocean view. Upon complaining we were told this is what it is and only possible upgrade is to premium ocean view room but with $40 extra. Regardless, whatever view ended up getting was spectacular. View from the restaurant and pool is mesmerizing. We were even told by three of our tour guides that its located at highest point of the mountain and offers best views in MA.

Maria was great and helped us with all our bookings and even the guys at restaurant were great that helped us with food customization (we being vegetarians). Small complains were that the water force was so less in the bathroom it was difficult to get soap off, few of the lights wont work, no wifi range in the room and couple of front desk members were rude and ridiculous when approached with this difficulties.

However, VFM was great and the privacy we got on our patio was amazing.

Room Tip: Full Ocean View Rooms are great because 2 out of 4 of those have Jacuzzi on patio, and complete priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Let's get the obvious out of the way first: Hotel La Mariposa has one of the most spectacular views I've ever seen at any property around the world. The hotel has been featured in "1000 Places to See Before You Die" and clearly deserves it for the location alone. The view spans both north and south along the coast, with Playa Espadilla curving around to meet Punta Catedral in Manuel Antonio NP, little islands dotting the bay, emerald green jungle covering every inch of land you can see and fiery sunsets over the Pacific to ice it all off. Incredible.

Don't make the mistake we did and "cheap out" on the standard room option though - this is clearly the place to splurge on the suites - there's a big step-up in quality. That's the only negative thing I can say about this wonderful place - at this price point I would expect a lot more out of our room. To put it plainly, you'll be paying 4-5 star prices for a 3-star room if you go standard. The decor felt dated and well...empty (not minimalist just empty). Our bathroom had a nice big basin-style sink (probably new). But in the process of restoration, they must have forgotten to install a soap-dish. We ended up just putting the soap in the sink - the nice hardwood counter had already been stained by previous guests whom had evidently just left the soap beside the sink. The bed was decent (coil mattress), but a thick mattress pad would go along way to improving it. Our safe, while functional, was not bolted to the wall or secured in anyway, so one could simply pick it up and walk out the door with it. These are small things to gripe about - I'd hardly mention them if the place were a 3 star property, but I expect more from a luxury hotel. Bottom-line: spend the extra ~$30 on the suite and get the updated room with the superior view to make the steep price of admission worth it.

Let's get to the good things though!
Wifi was fast and free (included in our rate) throughout the hotel. The breakfast is large and generous with several options (go for the Tipico/Costa Rican breakfast) to accompany fresh fruit and breads/pastries. The infinity pool with the million dollar view is hard to beat! There are also two smaller pools with swim-up bars. Playa Espadilla is a 20min walk downhill along a quiet road, with Manuel Antonio village and park entrance another 20min walk along the beach. Alternatively, the taxis are reasonable, and a frequent bus stops along the main road at the turn-off to the hotel.

The staff are fabulous in all sections of the hotel. I broke my sunglasses near the reception area and without so much as asking a staff member appeared at our door 15mins later with some superglue and fixed them! How's that for service?

All in all, we had a great time at La Mariposa. I'm sure we'll be back again at some point, and we'll be staying in one of the upgraded suites when we do!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mariposa

Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Mariposa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica’s abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our “Sunset Bar and Lounge”, while dining in our world-class international restaurant “Le Papillon” With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Costa Rica
Hotel La Mariposa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Mariposa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.