We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Mariposa to your Saves list
Hotel La Mariposa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$156 (USD)
Certificate of Excellence
Ness Ziona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

very good hotel... good location. very helpfull crew. verry nice and clean room. free Wifi and computer in the loby. Bar in the swiming pool......................... good breakfast with fresh fruits.......................................

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    230
    76
    38
    35
See reviews for
217
407
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our experience at this hotel was wonderful. It is not the "modern" hotel of the USA. We stayed in room 31. We had a perfect view that encompassed the entire beach. The room was spacious but very plain. The beds were very comfortable. The shower was great with plenty of hot water. The staff was very accomodating. They made us feel like family. Everyone we came in contact with was there to help. The grounds are kept perfect. NO elevator in main building but it was fun going up and down the stairs, you saw something different each time.( the stairs are outside. ) This is a rain forest. There are bugs but if you keep the door shut they stay on the outside. A perfect escape from reality.

Room Tip: Stay in old building. Ocean side view. Corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I spent 10 days in Costa Rica and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Enjoyed is not the proper word....we LOVED Costa Rica! After staying at the Treehouses Hotel in San Carlo and the Springs at Arenal in La Fortuna, the concierge at The Springs recommended that we spend the last 5 days of our trip at La Miraposa in Manuel Antonio. When we arrived and walked into the reception area the view from the terrace was indescribable! We got a 3rd floor corner room with a wrap-around terrace that offered us breathtaking views of the Pacific, Manuel Antionio Park, and the mountains northeast of Quepos. Throughout our stay, we started every morning with a tray of local coffee on the terrace and ended each day watching some of the most beautiful sunsets we've ever seen. Because it was considered the off-season (August 31st thru September 4th) the rates were fantastic! We loved the staff! Our bartender, Luis entertained us every night. Our waiters, Marcos, Allen and Smith always went above and beyond in their service. They actually treated us like we were visitors in their homes. They even endured my wife's lame attempts at Spanish without embarrassing her. Steven and Maria at the front desk helped us with one thing or another every day. Since we had not been to Costa Rica we had a lot of questions and they patiently answered each and every one.
Our stay at La Miraposa was a memorable one and we hope that we can return again.
"Pura Vida"!

John & Susan Halliwell Mather

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The staff was great. Setting up trips, very friendly, very nice, and fun. Had an issue with bugs in the room one night, but ITS THE JUNGLE what do you expect. THey made my Honeymoon perfect!!! Thank you.

Room Tip: The Ocean View Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Let me start off by saying that I loved Costa Rica! The Manuel Antonio Beaches were amazing (don't pay for a tour, just take lunch and snacks bc the beach itself is amazing and you'll want to stay there all afternoon)! This hotel has an amazing view from the restaurant and from the infinity pool. I believe I stayed in room 33 or 36. I was not impressed by the hotel rooms at all. I have stayed in nicer rooms for much cheaper. It is not worth the amount of money it costs. Go have breakfast, lunch or dinner here and enjoy the view, but don't waste your money staying here. The hotel staff was not very accommodating and they were rude. Anytime you asked them anything they ignored you or made it known that you were bothering them. The only polite worker I encountered worked at the restaurant and he was the only one who had a pleasant demeanor. This hotel is raved about in all the travel books, but it did not live up to those standards for me. Breakfast wasn't that good and neither were the quesadillas. On top of that one of the bar tenders tried to rip me off for those crappy quesadillas. When I spoke to the manager I was given back the money that was owed to me since I had my receipt. He tried to get me because he figured I didn't know the exchange rate. There are no elevators, just stairs. Lights are out early around 11 and it's pretty quite around the hotel after that. There is a bus stop nearby that you can take virtually anywhere you need to. Very convenient. While there our room had an infestation of moths that the hotel staff said was normal. Overall not a pleasant stay and I would not stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

La mariposa was a fantastic hotel we stayed in room 36. If you're going to stay here try to get this room. There is no elevator so walking up the flights of stairs can be a bit tiresome but it's worth it for the view you get with this room! It's a full ocean view room You get a full window view to the south as west with a rap around patio. Excellent for sunsets.

The one problem we had was things at the hotel were expensive. We ordered pizza from the restaurant on grounds. 2 pizzas with 4 drinks came out to be 72 bucks. Still haven't figured out why it was that much considering the pizzas were 12 bucks. The pizza was excellent though.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My friend and I received this hotel accommodation with a package that we bought online. The hotel was very nice. It is centrally located near the national park and nearby restaurants. Upon arrival, we were greeted and welcomed with two smoothie drinks at the swim up bar. The view from the terrance is unbelievable, overlooking the park, ocean and infinity pool.

Our standard room, however, was okay. The room was very basic with a TV, clean bathroom (no tub), balcony overlooking the ocean, and tiled floors. The AC was not very strong, and there was no refrigerator. We had difficulty with the safe which caused us to get help from the front desk several times. We were also greeted by several white-faced monkeys jumping all over our roof above us which was causing quite a raucous. At first it was quite amusing. They were so close, so we were able to take lots of great photos of them playing, but after a while, we asked to be moved to another room, which the hotel staff kindly did.

The breakfast was really good. There was an assortment of fruits, hot items including bacon and pancakes, and even an omelette bar. The coffee was always very good.

Room Tip: Overall, it was a very nice hotel with a friendly staff. I would recommend it, but would suggest upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel La Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mariposa

Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Mariposa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica’s abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our “Sunset Bar and Lounge”, while dining in our world-class international restaurant “Le Papillon” With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Costa Rica
Hotel La Mariposa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Mariposa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.