We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay at La Mariposa!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Mariposa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Mariposa to your Saves list
Hotel La Mariposa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Cod
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Loved our stay at La Mariposa!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

After doing a great deal of research, we opted to stay at La Mariposa, and what a great decision it was! The views are nothing short of amazing! We booked a Premier Room, and it was perfect. The views from the room were lovely, and it was very relaxing to spend time sitting out on the balcony.
Upon check-in we had the pleasure of meeting Daniela, Andres, Johannes, and Stevan. They were all so very helpful to us throughout our 6 night stay, and provided wonderful customer service. Thanks, in particular, to Daniela, who made sure we were happy and comfortable with our stay. (You are the best, Daniela!) It was easy to arrange tours, etc. with the knowledgeable staff always available to help.
A delicious and bountiful breakfast buffet is included with your stay at Mariposa. Each day we looked forward to sitting in the open-air dining room, and soaking in the amazing views of the Pacific while enjoying breakfast. Fresh fruit, eggs made to order, pancakes, French toast, yogurt, bacon, plantains, potatoes, etc. were offered on a daily basis, and it was PERFECT!! Luis was a wonderful waiter, whose smiling face greeted us each morning with a fresh pot of Cafe Britt coffee. Luis also made our stay very memorable due to his friendliness and fine service. Thanks, Luis!
One night we ate at the newly opened Bermuda Pizza, which is located on the Mariposa property. Luis was also working there! Sebastiano, the manager, made a point to personally greet us, and even shared a shot of Limoncello after dinner. The wood-fired pizza there was excellent!!! Be sure to go there when at the Mariposa or in the neighborhood. Delicious!
We also ate dinner at the Papillon restaurant at Mariposa, which was delicious. The setting is amazing, particularly at sunset. We had fresh fish and pasta dishes, which were prepared to our liking. Our compliments to the chef!
Speaking of sunset, each evening we'd enjoy sunset with a freshly made cocktail by the pool prepared by Franco and friends. The bartenders were all very friendly and hard-working. Sunsets at Mariposa are unbelievable, as Mariposa is set on the highest point in Manuel Antonio.
The infinity pool at Mariposa is also top-notch. We spent time relaxing in the pool following days that were filled with touring. Night-swimming, and soaking in the jacuzzi were also a treat.
Mariposa is the perfect place to stay when in the Manuel Antonio area. We hope to return next February! Go there...you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view - be sure to get one with a view. A couple of the rooms have jacuzzis out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    206
    71
    37
    33
See reviews for
198
367
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Everything you read or hear about Manuel Antonio and the Hotel Mariposa are true. The sceneries from everywhere are breathtaking but, the best view of all is from the terrace and dining room of the Mariposa Hotel...

My husband and I recently spent one month in Costa Rica starting in Manuel Antonio where I made a reservation for 4-5 days and ended up staying 15 days.

From beginning to end our stay was most pleasurable. From the moment I picked up the phone and got Mariana in reservations it was fabulous; she was helpful, accommodating and extremely pleasant. I was given the room I wanted and later on the opportunity for an upgrade presented itself and was moved to a premier room; rooms are very spacious, very clean, good taste furniture and very comfortable beds that are changed every day. Bathrooms also spacious, very clean and with plenty of towels.

Overall the staff was wonderful, from reservations, to front desk, dining room, swimming pool to the gardeners working the grounds.

At the reception desk I received very helpful advice about what to do while in Manuel Antonio and for the remainder of my trip to Tamarindo.

In the dining room personnel was also very attentive, polite and smiling and the kitchen offers superb choices of food - all delicious. We tried other restaurants in the area but the restaurant at The Mariposa Hotel was by far the best.

The second part of our trip was to Tamarindo and my husband and I were sorry we ever went there and wished we have stayed longer at The Mariposa Hotel where we felt so at home. We plan to go back to Costa Rica, Manuel Antonio and will ONLY stay at The Mariposa Hotel.

You should also know that I am very difficult to please and my expectations are always very high but the Hotel Mariposa met all of these.

Taylors
January 2012

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I recently stayed at Hotel La Mariposa for 5 nights with my wife for our honeymoon. This was the 3rd and last stop on our honeymoon and it was the perfect way to end our trip. We stayed in a premier ocean view room that is huge with a great balcony looking out on the ocean. The view is just unreal from the room or really any spot at the hotel. The room comes with a king size bed, a couch, balcony with 2 lounge chairs and a huge bathroom with a waterfall shower head. The room is modern looking and looks recently renovated.

The hotel has a large infinity pool, 2 smaller pools with swim up bars and a large hot tub. They have great drinks at the bars and the bar menu was very good. The breakfast is included with the stay and was very good. It is a buffet style breakfast, but you can also have eggs, omelet or french toast made to order.

We ate at the hotel restaurant one night and the food was very good along with great service. I got the ahi tuna which was cooked perfectly and my wife got pasta which she really enjoyed. The views from the restaurant are unreal during sunset.

The staff at Hotel La Mariposa was beyond excellent. Everyone was very friendly and made sure that you were enjoying yourselves during the stay.

You can either walk about 20-30 minutes down the hill to the beach or can take the hotel shuttle to the beach. The shuttle is a much easier option to take.

I did not walk around any other hotels in Manuel Antonio, but this hotel is honestly amazing. The room we had was great and the views are the best there are in Manuel Antonio. I highly recommend staying at this hotel. We plan to be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

My fiancé and I were on a quest to find the perfect spot to get married, and we happened to stumble upon la mariposa. We instantly knew this was our spot. The views are beautiful from nearly any room in the hotel. We know this because their wonderful wedding planner, Mariana, showed us nearly every room in the place, each one being beautiful and unique. We stayed for two nights and enjoyed everything about this hotel. The food is amazing, the staff friendly, the rooms are clean, and you can't beat the views and sunsets! The infinity pools are a great place to lounge, and the beach is a close hop skip and a jump away.

We are so excited to be working with Mariana to plan our wedding, she is great and I feel completely confidant that our wedding will be perfect. We can't wait to come back and share this amazing place with our friends and family!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This hotel is all about the view. You walk into a open patio overlooking the entire coast of Quepos. We saw rainbows daily from our room balcony as well as eating breakfast or dinner our on the patio. The drinks were fantastic, freshly made from local fruit and the service was top notch. To attain this gorgeous view the hotel is a bit up on the hill and about a mile or so walk down to Manuel Antonio National Park and the beaches but wel worth it. It really is paradise.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a ocean facing room, though i think they all might be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Just returned from a two week trip to Costa Rica with our last stop being the Hotel La Mariposa in Manuel Antonio. I very rarely post reviews but the hotel and the customer service from the staff was wonderful. The service and help from Franco and Smith was above and beyond. Thanks to everyone there for making the end of a great vacation so memorable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed at this great hotel several weeks ago and it was paradise! The room decor is clean and contemporary. The view from our room (#47) was breathtaking! Service was excellent - Danielle at the front desk was wonderful. Gabriel and Franco treated us (and everyone else by the pool) like VIPs. The gift shop is fabulous (great art by local artists!). The hotel needs a little sprucing up/renovations here and there but everything else was top notch. This is our second time visiting Manuel Antonio and when we come back we will be staying at La Mariposa.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Mariposa

Address: Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Mariposa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most magnificent settings in the world, Hotel La Mariposa stands majestically a top the highest point in Manuel Antonio and is best known for its award-winning 360 degree view overlooking the blue waters of the Pacific Ocean and the Manuel Antonio National Park, in Costa Rica. Nature and luxury flawlessly combine with 60 well-appointed rooms in a Spanish-Mediterranean architectural design and tropical gardens with walkways and trails meticulously landscaped to reflect the natural beauty of Costa Rica’s abundant plant and wildlife. Experience the stunning magic of the legendary Manuel Antonio sunsets while sipping a tropical cocktail at our “Sunset Bar and Lounge”, while dining in our world-class international restaurant “Le Papillon” With over 38 years experience, our personalized service and unforgettable views have made La Mariposa a top choice for the most discriminating travellers, who relish both its intimacy and magnificence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Costa Rica
Hotel La Mariposa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Mariposa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.