We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay and great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karahe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Karahe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Karahe Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 km south of Port Quepos, about 500 meters from Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Vanves, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay and great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We had booked a night is this hotel and were so satisfied about it that we booked another night. We had a villa (70$/night) located on top of the resort. Villa 5 which is, we think the best view and also the best way to stay in this hotel. You can have also down the resort the beach front rooms which actually, from our villa you see much more ocean and amazing jungle view with monkeys in the morning playing on your terrace ! Incomparable i think! Really nice helpful and kind staff, totally mutilingual. Good aircond in the rooms, free beach towels (which is great when towel there takes ages to dry because of the climat).
We were on our honeymoon and they kindly had prepared after we came back from the beach, a nice white wine bottle, 2 glasses and a beautiful flower bouquet. Just lovely.
We strongly recommend this hotel for : view, location (5mn from manuel antonio), kind staff, jungle feeling, beach access, safe car park, villas with good air cond and nice pool ! Thank you again for our great stay !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    69
    39
    24
    11
See reviews for
42
73
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for a week and had a nice time. The location is unbeatable - its set in along a quieter stretch of the road and just steps from the beach. It's also a 10 minute walk to Manuel Antonio National Park. We recommend staying in one of the cheaper hillside villas as opposed to the more expensive hotel style rooms down near the beach. The villas are very simple but very pleasant - two beds, a sink, mini fridge, and AC. There are no TVs but who needs one when you are in Costa Rica. It is quite a hike up the hill which is one of the reasons these are cheaper; however, we saw more wildlife walking up to our room everyday than we saw in the national park. We saw a huge resident iguana living under our patio as well as a family of monkeys that would come down from the trees holding their hands out for food - fun to see. Furthermore, the view of the ocean and national park is pretty spectacular. You'd be hard pressed to find better. Breakfast was included in our room rate and although nothing extravagant, it was sufficient - rice, fruit, coffee, toast, eggs, and juice. They do operate an on-site restaurant that we ate at once or twice. It was decent but a bit expensive so we usually opted for cheaper eats down in Quepos. The bus runs up and down the road from Quepos to Manuel Antonio every 30 minutes from 7am to 7pm with a couple later buses as well. A ride costs less than a dollar, takes about 15 minutes, and you can pick it up right down the street from Karahe. It was very easy. From the hotel restaurant you can walk a few steps to the beach which is much less crowded than those further down the road toward the park. Finally, the hotel staff was incredibly friendly and very helpful. They all speak excellent English and are very knowledgable about the area. Although we didn't book any tours through the property, they did help us with transportation back to San Jose. We'll definitely be staying here again. Great people, great location, and quiet peaceful atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The location of this hotel can't be beat! It's not luxurious, but it's clean, the people in the office and at the restaurant/bar are friendly, and it's got a GREAT location! We were very happy with the A/C, and though I wish there had been wifi in the rooms, at least we could get it in the reception area. Also, you will be surrounded by animals! Iguanas, monkeys, sloths, etc. Not a far walk from Manuel Antonio (town & park) and a close bus/cab ride to Quepos.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Chester, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were more interested being on the beach and didn't need too many features, this hotel had all we needed. Basic rooms with AC, nice balconies to relax and a great place to eat. Breakfast was wonderful. No stairs, ramps made getting around with luggage easy. You could walk to the town via the beach, it was lovely. We went during the raining season and it wasn't crowded at all.

Room Tip: Wi-fi in the restaurant and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked a standard room including breakfast and dinner at night for 110$. I would not do it again. The room was clean and large and the view from the little terrace beautiful. The main problem was the food. For the included dinner, we did not have the choice: it was a standard menu and I am sorry to say it but I did not like any of the food. For the breakfast, it was one of the worst gallo pinto I ever tasted.
This is definitely overrated (but maybe this is the case for many of the place in Manuel Antonio).
The only good point is the location, near the park and you have directly access to the beach.
So if you go there, I do not recommend this place for eating. Now I understand why they included the dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This place cant be beat as far as location. With rooms leading down to the beach and very close to Manuel Antoñio park, it is a jewel of a place. Iguanas, monkeys, and birds will be your companions. It offers a lot and thats why I have been going there since 1988.
Now some of the negative. The bungalows in off-season sometimes have a mildew smell. They need to clean them a bit more when they arent being used. The place could use a sprucing up project to bring back the freshness I once knew. All in all, I highly recommend this place

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We didn't enjoy our brief stay here - for many reasons - rooms amenities didn't work, staff was uninterested and uninspired, and the cost was excessive relative to the accomodations and food.
It is conveniently located on the main beach in Manuel Antonio. It is a brief walk to the bar and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karahe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karahe Hotel

Address: 7 km south of Port Quepos, about 500 meters from Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karahe Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern low-rise, beach front resort - Playas Manuel Antonio next to the National Park of Manuel Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Karahe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karahe Hotel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karahe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.