We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cabinas and Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa Verde to your Saves list
Hotel Costa Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Cabinas and Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

Costa Verde was a great place for the money. We had a huge casita with AC, kitchen, huge patio, and nice green scenery. The landscaping of they hotel was fantastic and well manicured. The room and maid service were very clean. The rooms all had several ceiling fans in addition to a wall AC unit.
The restaurants all served good food by CR standards and had a campy atmosphere with the airplane and railcar. The pools were all different but each had it own charm.
The staff in the gif shop had to be reminded about proper change though I find this common in CR.

The restaurants at Si Como No were the best in our opinion and Rent a car when going to Manuel Antonio. It is not a walkers destination.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    296
    111
    46
    33
See reviews for
267
297
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2007

Had a nice stay in a "efficiency unit" in C building. Room had nice patio/porch and lots of glass for a very bright room overlooking the rain forest. A sloth spent the day hanging out in a tree right ouside my room. Do not forget to pull the blinds when wanting privacy as other guests in same wing can see right in your room as they walk by. Maid service was excellent. I would highly discourage brining kids below 12 here. The way to the beach is about 3/4 mile down a winding dangerous road with no where to walk. Anyone taking young kids on this walk should be arrested for child endangerment. The cheapest and best way to the beach is via bus which stops across the street from the hotel. I would be very careful with my kids waiting for the bus on this street. I saw some close calls as there are some crazy drivers n this road. Hotel had 3 restaurants(2 had basically same menu) though the Par Avion was up the street about 1/8 of a mile. Office staff though certainly not folksy, were professional and usually helpful. Next time would probably stay at a place closer(many,many to choose from) to the beach and national park and the Marlin Restaurant which though very informal had in my humble opinion the best food of all the restaurants I ate at there.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — walking up hill to get to the room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

I stayed in one of the regular Costa Verde rooms, which seemed to have more privacy than the rooms in the Costa Verde II building. Costa Verde II is part of the entire Costa Verde complex, but the II building has beautiful views of the adult pool and ocean beyond. I was afraid of staying in the II buiding because it doesn't have air conditioning, but we spoke to people who stayed in that building and said it wasn't hot on the rooms. Our room was in the same building as the Restaurant Anaconda and had views of the jungle, which was very pleasant. We couldn't hear any noise from the restaurant. Our room was quite large with two queen beds, a dining table area, and a little area with a fridge and stove-top -- all very clean. Our room did have a television, but no phone, which was fine by me. We spent all of our time at the adult pool outside the Costa Verde II building. The other pool we went to didn't have any views at all and the walk from our room to either pool was about the same. I highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Liked — Relaxing atmosphere and views
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

We were in an air-conditioned studio in building A. It was about a 4 minute uphill walk to our room from the front desk, but we didn't find that anything to complain about. The room was a bit small, but had such a great jungle feel, almost like a log hut. The bed was SO comfortable, the balcony had an amazing view of trees & ocean, and the shower was positioned in a way to make you feel like you were showering outside! In fact, during a very powerful rain storm, i opened the window curtain & showered as if the rainstorm was pouring down on me (there is so much visual privacy that opening shades while dressing or showering feels quite comfortable). One night the lights & power went out and we quickly realized that the old-style candles in the room were not just there for romantic purposes. That was a bit freaky, but added to the exotic experience (and only lasted a few hours). We were very thankful to have brought a small, portable flashlight from home. Not just becaue of the blackout, but because it gets really dark in the jungle at night! Iguanas lounged in front of our doorstep daily, and we spent both nights with a lizard in our room. The Area A pool was almost always empty, so we had privacy when we went in for that one dip. We did 3 tours set-up by the helpful front desk staff ( i read reviews that the staff was not friendly here, but my expereince was very different-they were friendly, helpful, playful, and patient). The hotel held our luggage in lockers on the day of checkout so we could do one last tour after checking out, and not have to worry about our bags.

The tours: ATV, canopy (short one), and (dolphin/sunset) boat tour. They were all so much fun, very well-organized, and pricey. We saw tons of dolphins on the boat tour, but we were advised not to enter the water when we stopped to snorkel due to the "mal mare" (type of jellyfish). I was really looking forward to snorkeling, so that was dissapointing, but everything else on the boat tour was fabulous: delicious grilled lunch, smooth tunes in our ears, and they keep the unlimited drinks coming at you!

The canopy tour we did was the "baby" one according to everyone, but it was PLENTY fun and excitement for me. It had 12 lines we had to swing- a few of them so long you can't even see the platform on the other end!

The ATV tour ends with a homemade dinner at the owner's house in the mountains, watching the sunset.

Hotel food: The bannana bread at breakfast is delicious even for people who don't like bannana bread. We got a lunch to go for the beach, upon the menu suggestion, but that was a bad idea because the beach (beach #3, manual antonio beach) was a 20 minute walk even after parking at the bottom of the hill. We never ate dinner at our hotel, but instead ate at the many restaurants on the other side of the cliff, on the same road (Lun Mare & Makanda by the Sea were good ones & very close to this hotel).

  • Liked — balcony & view
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2007

It's true, as the other reivews have stated, this place is all about the view. We too stayed in the studio plus room in the Adult only building. For just the two of us the room was huge. We had a kitchen, fridge, and a nice eating table. This was a nice plus even though we rarely used it. There are very comfortable rocking chairs on the balcony. I loved them, I even wanted to buy one for my deck at home.
We only ate at one of the restaurants for breakfast and we found the price to be very good and food was tasty too. Note that the cost of the room does not include breakfast as did all the other hotels we stayed throughout costa rica.

Overall, The Costa Verde hotel is not a luxurious hotel but the location is good and the views are spectacular. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  • Liked — Of course, the VIEWS!
  • Disliked — unaproachable staff and no free breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

My husband and I vacationed at Costa Verde from May 1st through May 7th. Before going any further, I want to comment that Costa Verde II and Costa Verde are the exact same resort. There are many different bungalows throughout Costa Verde's property, and Costa Verde II is the only section without AC.
The staff was very friendly, especially the reception staff and the La Cantina staff.
We were in room B-12, which is on the top floor, and has panoramic ocean views. My husband and I adored the view -- absolutely breathtaking! There was a problem with ants in our room, but we received bug spray from the reception staff, which took care of that problem. Remember, Costa Verde is in the jungle, and bugs will get in the room!
The food was better that average. We were not impressed with Ancaconda. The food and the wait staff were mediocre. You must go to El Avion to watch the sunset. We did that a few times and had drinks. We then went to Byblos Casino down the street for pizza. Yummy! La Cantina was great! The food was tasty and we loved the live music.
The hotel offers many great tours. Of the tours we took part of, we really enjoyed the White Water Rafting and the Sunset Dolphin Cruise.
When we return to Manuel Antonio, we will return to Costa Verde. We loved it!

  • Liked — The view.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2007

Breathtaking. Stayed in the "studio plus" section (adults only), better than we could have imagined. Spacious & clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff, good food, and that spectacular view. Restaurants La Cantina, Anaconda, and El Avion are all excellent.
Highly recommend this property to anyone wanting luxury away from the "resorts".
Will definately return.

  • Liked — large room with magnificent view
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.