We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Verde was perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa Verde to your Saves list
Hotel Costa Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Knox Vegas, TN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Costa Verde was perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2006

Costa Verde was a wonderful experience. The prices were reasonable, the grounds were beautiful and the service was friendly.
We were there for about 5 days and had no real complaints. We were traveling with our kids (7 & 12) and would highly recommend it for families. If you don't have kids, they have a separate building with a private pool on the same property that is adults only (Costa Verde II).

The hotel has several buildings on the side of a hill overlooking the Pacific. We stayed in the B building with a spectacular ocean view . The grounds have monkeys, large iguanas, and lots of wildlife running around (we even saw a sloth). They have 3 restaurants, one on site and two nearby.

We could hear the surf at night and found the place very quiet. They say it's about 300 yards to the beach, but in reality it's about 1/2 mile or so all downhill (all uphill coming back!). There's no sidewalk so you have to hug the road a bit and watch out for the occassional crazy driver. The easiest way is to catch the bus right in front of the hotel. It runs like every 20-30 minutes and costs maybe $.20 (105 colones). The trip takes like 3 minutes.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — Bar closes at 10:00
  • Tips/Secrets — Learn to use the buses
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    296
    110
    46
    33
See reviews for
266
296
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2006

We didn't end up staying at this hotel due to last minute emergency. I just wanted to say that the hotel staff were very understanding and helpful with our last minute cancellation. Thank you Costa Verde!!

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

Stayed for a few nights in August 2006 on our first trip to Costa Rica. Place is thoroughly professional in the way it is run with a really great staff attitude. Good restaurant (fair quality//value balance), modern, clean rooms, and a choice of swimming pools. We (me, wife and 2 daughters 10 and 11) were lucky enough to be surrounded by dozens of monkeys at tea time round the pool - unforgettable! Great location - just up the hill from the BEAUTIFUL beach and Manuel Antonio National Park..........will definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Seriously professional
  • Disliked — Set on a steep hill
  • Tips/Secrets — Be poolside at around 5pm for an unforgettable monkey show.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tx
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2006

Me and my family stayed three nights at the Costa Verde and loved it. We stayed in a studio plus and had a great deck with and ocean view. We were at the highest part of the hotel so It was a hike to the office, but it also added to the view. And I could drive down to the office if need be. I went to the pool at the Costa Verde II once and was blown away by the view there. I would recomened the Costa Verde II for couple travling without children since it is adult only on that side. We saw monkeys at the hotel the first day but that was it.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.