We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly and beautiful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa Verde to your Saves list
Hotel Costa Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Family friendly and beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel in August 2014. The room was spectacular, overlooking Manuel Antonio bay. The room was big for the four of us. We were very comfortable. We were on section B. There were monkeys walking on the balcony and trees. The hotel is located on the only street between Quepos and Manuel Antonio. There's a bus that you can take down to the beach since hotels in this area are not beach front. The bus passes by frequently and you can pay in US Dollars.
This hotel has 3 restaurants. One on site which serves breakfast. The food was great however the service not too much. The other two restaurants were good. El Wagon has the best pizza.
Overall, this is a great family resort. They also have an adult section.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    338
    120
    51
    36
See reviews for
301
339
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We were in the CV II Room 15 at penthouse. The room was huge with comfortable beds, huge covered balcony and a massive bathroom. Every thing worked. The views were breath taking. One afternoon we found around 10 white faced monkeys running around on the rooftops of balconies below us and through our balcony! We saw some neat birds perched up on trees while we drank coffee in the balcony. The price point was good. The hotel was a short taxi drive to the town of Quepo or the beach. But there were a few negatives worth mentioning.
- NO beach towels!!! At $200 plus a night, I would expect beach towels in a hotel near the beach!! I would pay extra so I don't have to take home soggy towels on the plane. Why they don't provide is beyond me.
- Staff was a hit or miss. Some very rude and some very nice.
- The furnishings need a face lift. They looks old and tired. Patio furniture has seen better days.
- Bathroom could go through an upgrade. The shower head was something I remember from cheap college studios days. A drying line would have been nice.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify ocean front room because not all of them have full ocean view. Also better to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Let me begin by saying that I was very excited to stay here after reading other reviews. However, I regret convincing my husband to book here instead of our other option. My husband booked the standard room and to my surprise it was right next to the main road and NO OCEAN VIEW. We woke up and went to bed to the sound of the cars/delivery trucks traveling on the road. Since we were traveling with our daughter, we were placed in area A which after touring the grounds, turns out is probably the worst place to be due to the lack of ocean view. They advertise the hotel as a place where there are more monkeys than people. Really?! I probably saw 3-4 monkeys during our 5 night stay. Didn't see any sloths, birds, etc... This was the main reason why I wanted to stay here and was very disappointed when I didn't see these beautiful creatures on the hotel grounds. The room was okay, however, we had to keep the AC on at all times, otherwise the floor would get moist and slippery. There were tiny aunts on the kitchen counter and it was almost impossible to get ready in the bathroom as it was humid since the window does not have a glass. The beds are HARD AS A ROCK! The hotel DOES NOT provide towels for the beach, however, they do provide a beach mat. We had to walk to the reception (daily) to get extra towels for the pool and the bathroom as they only provided us with 2 towels. On the last day of our stay, they did not have ANY clean towels and we were forced to use the pool towels after our shower. Really???!!! No clean towels for the guests? The staff didn't even apologize and actually seemed bothered that I went to go ask for clean towels 2x. If you stay here and you don't have a car be prepared to take the bus when going to the beach. We were fortunate enough to have a rental car since it can be a long walk to the beach. Oh yeah, and bring $2,000 colones when going to the beach as you will have to pay for parking. Overall, I will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The room (A-6). Near perfect. Perfect amount of space, an amazing view, and a great big bed. The porch was especially excellent: we visited during the rainy season, and even during a downpour, we could stay on the porch, watch the rain while remaining completely dry. It also has a great view of the ocean/mountainside. The only downside is that the wi-fi is weak in the room. That said, none of the 3 hotels we stayed had a strong wi-fi signal in the room. Besides, hopefully you won't use the wi-fi much.

The location: Solid location. It's close to the beach, about a 10-15 minute walk. There are a couple restaurants nearby that are good but not great and, maybe unfortunately, not typical (i.e., local).

The service: Hit or miss. Most of the staff were helpful, terribly polite, and welcoming. Others seemed to oscillate between annoyed and indifferent.

Bottom line: if you're staying in Manuel Antonio, this is a great choice that doesn't break the budget.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We were down last week and stayed in the B building which was wonderful for one adult with 2 teenagers. Our room had 1 King size bed and 1 Queen size bed, kitchenette, and bathroom. We were just yards from the family pool but far enough not to hear when the doors were closed. Our view was of the beach mostly and some trees were close enough to see monkeys when we had breakfast on the balcony. The wall of floor to ceiling windows provided the views during the great rainstorm one afternoon. I cooked breakfast each day and dinner 3 nights and had basic pots/pans/plates/utensils. Don't expect quality of the items you have in the states because Costa Rica doesn't have that. That includes the beds people complain about...the beds are good quality for Central America.

Hotel staff (especially Mauricio and Rebecka) were very courteous and helpful always. They have lots of information about different companies who provide different types of tours and will make the reservations for you. They also told us of the "festival" in Quepos on Friday afternoons and Saturday mornings which is similar to a Farmer's Market with fresh fish, eggs, fruits, vegetables, and gifts. The cleaning staff was efficient and helpful when i asked for help with the remote for the A/C--discovering it wasn't working properly she immediately called to have a maintenance worker come replace it and he arrived in less than 10 min. The hotel also provided shuttle service to and from their restaurants with only minutes of a wait. The service at the 2 restaurants we tried was bad, but we just had bad luck on the servers as we noted others were getting very good service. We had good wi-fi in the rooms, restaurants, and most of the grounds. During our stay we saw quite a few different types of birds, lizards, a few iguanas, Squirrel monkeys, Capuchin monkeys, and Howler monkeys all on the grounds of the hotel. There is a bus stop at the hotel that can take you to the beach just a mile down the hill for about 50 cents.




Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Amazing trip! Excellent customer service! Amazing view! My second time and it gets better and better! Mauricio Solano took excellent care of us! Best recommendations all around. It is a Manuel Antonio landmark to visit and stay...

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Pros and cons.

Pros: We were in Bungalow E-5 and it was perfect for us. We had visits from capuchin monkeys (actually shaking our roof at one point!) and watched sloths in the trees right in front of us for hours. Iguanas and an agouti (we had to look it up to figure out what it was!) were on our path regularly. I saw humming birds in our trees. The cabin has a great porch -- you can see (and hear) the ocean, but the nature around you is the highlight. The location of this bungalow is great -- you really feel private (you can't really see other rooms or people) and our wifi was excellent (you can see the wifi unit right on the porch). Two rooms was good for a family with teens (and two bathrooms) and we were glad for the table and refrigerator (we ate in one really rainy night). TVs in both rooms with some English language channels. The air conditoners worked really well, as well as ceiling fans. Showers were fine. I don't think any of us will ever forget sitting on that porch and seeing the wildlife right in front of us. Really memorable.

Cons: You should know the hill that everyone mentions is REALLY long and steep. About the length of a football field from our bungalow up to the main office area) and probably a 25 degree angle. All four of us were sweating by the top (and most of us are quite fit!) You have to walk up the hill -- and then down another one to get to the only pool for kids -- and back up and down to get back to your room. I got used to it by the end of our stay, but it's a mild deterrent to going out. (We didn't have a car -- if you did have a car this might be a non issue.) The walk to the beach is downhill -- but then uphill is awful. Almost all the restaurants are up another hill. We got used to it, but doing it once the sun was high (after maybe 10 a.m.) guaranteed you'd be drenched with sweat when you sat down again.

The beds are hard and only one of the three mattresses we had was clean and up to date. NO MATTRESS COVERS and the sheets are thin. That skeeved me out. It would be a huge improvement if they upgraded the mattresses and used mattress covers. The room smells musty all the time, but that is probably inevitable in the rain forest.

We had fine interactions with the staff -- one guy actually opened the gift shop up for us when we mentioned our daughters had a bad sun burn and needed soothing lotion. We ate at all the hotel's restaurants and the experiences were fine overall. Breakfast at the Anaconda is an amazing view. El Wagon pizza place was probably best overall. And the hotel will drive you to their own restaurants, avoiding that hill climb at the start of a meal.

I will always remember this hotel fondly and we had a great time there. But be aware of what you are getting into. It's not luxury and the hills are a big negative (on the premises and up and down the road to get to things...) If you're up for a bit of a rustic experience and not needing luxury, this is a pretty cool place to stay because of its location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.