We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, so-so staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Save Saved
You added Hotel Costa Verde to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Costa Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great room, so-so staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in the CV II Room 15 at penthouse. The room was huge with comfortable beds, huge covered balcony and a massive bathroom. Every thing worked. The views were breath taking. One afternoon we found around 10 white faced monkeys running around on the rooftops of balconies below us and through our balcony! We saw some neat birds perched up on trees while we drank coffee in the balcony. The price point was good. The hotel was a short taxi drive to the town of Quepo or the beach. But there were a few negatives worth mentioning.
- NO beach towels!!! At $200 plus a night, I would expect beach towels in a hotel near the beach!! I would pay extra so I don't have to take home soggy towels on the plane. Why they don't provide is beyond me.
- Staff was a hit or miss. Some very rude and some very nice.
- The furnishings need a face lift. They looks old and tired. Patio furniture has seen better days.
- Bathroom could go through an upgrade. The shower head was something I remember from cheap college studios days. A drying line would have been nice.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify ocean front room because not all of them have full ocean view. Also better to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    287
    107
    44
    33
See reviews for
260
288
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Let me begin by saying that I was very excited to stay here after reading other reviews. However, I regret convincing my husband to book here instead of our other option. My husband booked the standard room and to my surprise it was right next to the main road and NO OCEAN VIEW. We woke up and went to bed to the sound of the cars/delivery trucks traveling on the road. Since we were traveling with our daughter, we were placed in area A which after touring the grounds, turns out is probably the worst place to be due to the lack of ocean view. They advertise the hotel as a place where there are more monkeys than people. Really?! I probably saw 3-4 monkeys during our 5 night stay. Didn't see any sloths, birds, etc... This was the main reason why I wanted to stay here and was very disappointed when I didn't see these beautiful creatures on the hotel grounds. The room was okay, however, we had to keep the AC on at all times, otherwise the floor would get moist and slippery. There were tiny aunts on the kitchen counter and it was almost impossible to get ready in the bathroom as it was humid since the window does not have a glass. The beds are HARD AS A ROCK! The hotel DOES NOT provide towels for the beach, however, they do provide a beach mat. We had to walk to the reception (daily) to get extra towels for the pool and the bathroom as they only provided us with 2 towels. On the last day of our stay, they did not have ANY clean towels and we were forced to use the pool towels after our shower. Really???!!! No clean towels for the guests? The staff didn't even apologize and actually seemed bothered that I went to go ask for clean towels 2x. If you stay here and you don't have a car be prepared to take the bus when going to the beach. We were fortunate enough to have a rental car since it can be a long walk to the beach. Oh yeah, and bring $2,000 colones when going to the beach as you will have to pay for parking. Overall, I will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room (A-6). Near perfect. Perfect amount of space, an amazing view, and a great big bed. The porch was especially excellent: we visited during the rainy season, and even during a downpour, we could stay on the porch, watch the rain while remaining completely dry. It also has a great view of the ocean/mountainside. The only downside is that the wi-fi is weak in the room. That said, none of the 3 hotels we stayed had a strong wi-fi signal in the room. Besides, hopefully you won't use the wi-fi much.

The location: Solid location. It's close to the beach, about a 10-15 minute walk. There are a couple restaurants nearby that are good but not great and, maybe unfortunately, not typical (i.e., local).

The service: Hit or miss. Most of the staff were helpful, terribly polite, and welcoming. Others seemed to oscillate between annoyed and indifferent.

Bottom line: if you're staying in Manuel Antonio, this is a great choice that doesn't break the budget.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We were down last week and stayed in the B building which was wonderful for one adult with 2 teenagers. Our room had 1 King size bed and 1 Queen size bed, kitchenette, and bathroom. We were just yards from the family pool but far enough not to hear when the doors were closed. Our view was of the beach mostly and some trees were close enough to see monkeys when we had breakfast on the balcony. The wall of floor to ceiling windows provided the views during the great rainstorm one afternoon. I cooked breakfast each day and dinner 3 nights and had basic pots/pans/plates/utensils. Don't expect quality of the items you have in the states because Costa Rica doesn't have that. That includes the beds people complain about...the beds are good quality for Central America.

Hotel staff (especially Mauricio and Rebecka) were very courteous and helpful always. They have lots of information about different companies who provide different types of tours and will make the reservations for you. They also told us of the "festival" in Quepos on Friday afternoons and Saturday mornings which is similar to a Farmer's Market with fresh fish, eggs, fruits, vegetables, and gifts. The cleaning staff was efficient and helpful when i asked for help with the remote for the A/C--discovering it wasn't working properly she immediately called to have a maintenance worker come replace it and he arrived in less than 10 min. The hotel also provided shuttle service to and from their restaurants with only minutes of a wait. The service at the 2 restaurants we tried was bad, but we just had bad luck on the servers as we noted others were getting very good service. We had good wi-fi in the rooms, restaurants, and most of the grounds. During our stay we saw quite a few different types of birds, lizards, a few iguanas, Squirrel monkeys, Capuchin monkeys, and Howler monkeys all on the grounds of the hotel. There is a bus stop at the hotel that can take you to the beach just a mile down the hill for about 50 cents.




Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Amazing trip! Excellent customer service! Amazing view! My second time and it gets better and better! Mauricio Solano took excellent care of us! Best recommendations all around. It is a Manuel Antonio landmark to visit and stay...

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Pros and cons.

Pros: We were in Bungalow E-5 and it was perfect for us. We had visits from capuchin monkeys (actually shaking our roof at one point!) and watched sloths in the trees right in front of us for hours. Iguanas and an agouti (we had to look it up to figure out what it was!) were on our path regularly. I saw humming birds in our trees. The cabin has a great porch -- you can see (and hear) the ocean, but the nature around you is the highlight. The location of this bungalow is great -- you really feel private (you can't really see other rooms or people) and our wifi was excellent (you can see the wifi unit right on the porch). Two rooms was good for a family with teens (and two bathrooms) and we were glad for the table and refrigerator (we ate in one really rainy night). TVs in both rooms with some English language channels. The air conditoners worked really well, as well as ceiling fans. Showers were fine. I don't think any of us will ever forget sitting on that porch and seeing the wildlife right in front of us. Really memorable.

Cons: You should know the hill that everyone mentions is REALLY long and steep. About the length of a football field from our bungalow up to the main office area) and probably a 25 degree angle. All four of us were sweating by the top (and most of us are quite fit!) You have to walk up the hill -- and then down another one to get to the only pool for kids -- and back up and down to get back to your room. I got used to it by the end of our stay, but it's a mild deterrent to going out. (We didn't have a car -- if you did have a car this might be a non issue.) The walk to the beach is downhill -- but then uphill is awful. Almost all the restaurants are up another hill. We got used to it, but doing it once the sun was high (after maybe 10 a.m.) guaranteed you'd be drenched with sweat when you sat down again.

The beds are hard and only one of the three mattresses we had was clean and up to date. NO MATTRESS COVERS and the sheets are thin. That skeeved me out. It would be a huge improvement if they upgraded the mattresses and used mattress covers. The room smells musty all the time, but that is probably inevitable in the rain forest.

We had fine interactions with the staff -- one guy actually opened the gift shop up for us when we mentioned our daughters had a bad sun burn and needed soothing lotion. We ate at all the hotel's restaurants and the experiences were fine overall. Breakfast at the Anaconda is an amazing view. El Wagon pizza place was probably best overall. And the hotel will drive you to their own restaurants, avoiding that hill climb at the start of a meal.

I will always remember this hotel fondly and we had a great time there. But be aware of what you are getting into. It's not luxury and the hills are a big negative (on the premises and up and down the road to get to things...) If you're up for a bit of a rustic experience and not needing luxury, this is a pretty cool place to stay because of its location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Our stay at Hotel Costa Verde in Manual Antonio, Costa Rica in July 2014 was overall nice and enjoyable. Our room was beautiful, all wood and glass windows so we could get the real Costa Rica feel and be surrounded by nature. The views from the window and balcony were breathtaking. The jungle on one side, the Pacific Ocean on the other. Really exceeded my expectations for the price paid.
The hotel is set up as many different buildings, so we had to walk down a big hill and through a forest path to get to our room. The grounds were well kept but during the dark evenings, the walk was a little uneasy for us. However, at least when you arrive and depart, the bellboy is happy to drive you to/from the building and carry your luggage (no elevators). The shuttle will also take you to any of their restaurants if you call (before 10:30PM).
The front desk staff was nice but not very helpful. We could not get our hot water to come on in the shower and they acted like we were crazy for calling (we had to keep calling, too). Wifi didn’t really work very well at all. The beds were VERY hard and left my back in pain. They were very stingy with the towels- we had to go get them from the front desk ourselves and then were asked why we need them. Wow. However, the room was huge and clean, and again that amazing view made up for a lot. We also had a kitchen with a fridge in our room. They also had a little computer to use for internet access as needed by the front desk, which helped.
We also had an ant infestation in our room, even in the bathroom and they were all over our stuff, even the towels. Not a big deal considering it’s in the jungle, but ugh. The bugs in the hallway were ENOURMOUS and all over our door. However this is part of being smack in the middle of the wilderness, which had its pluses such as a nice little visit from a white-faced monkey on our balcony and many encounters with other creatures, such as a sloth crawling the roof of the Cantina restaurant and the howling monkeys in the trees. This was another highlight and truly unforgettable.
The breakfast included was great and the coffee at their breakfast restaurant was delicious. The pizza place was pretty good but nothing amazing. The other restaurants were OK. Very overpriced and unspecial versions of American food catered towards most tourists. I was very disappointed by the food overall. I am a foodie and nothing wowed me. The town of Manuel Antonio is pretty touristy so your best bet is to get some good and authentic local food for cheap in another town.
The beach is nearby (you have to take a cab) and but it’s not exactly the type you would go to lounge and tan on from what I saw. Also they do not provide beach towels, instead they claim they have beach mats for you and point you to a disgusting tub of filthy wicker mats covered in bugs. I couldn’t get over that. So we couldn’t even enjoy the beach if we wanted to. The sun wasn’t out very much during our stay anyway though, so we opted for the pool instead, which was nice with great views of the ocean, although VERY small.
Overall, the room was great because of its size, balcony, many windows, and amazing views, plus the exposure to wildlife, but that’s about it. For the price, it was great but there were definitely many negatives so I don’t think I would return. We did have a fabulous time during our guided tour of the National Park which is a few minutes away and we loved the country overall after visiting Arenal/La Fortuna during our stay in Costa Rica as well. A charming and beautiful country, but you may want to shop around for hotels.

Room Tip: Bring lots of bug spray!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.