We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real luxury: the one that makes your life richer.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa Verde to your Saves list
Hotel Costa Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A real luxury: the one that makes your life richer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We arrived at hotel Costa Verde with only one expectation: that there would be still more monkeys than people - just as it says on their website. The hotel didn't disappoint. Within one day we had seen two types of monkeys, a sloth, iguanas, bats and we hadn't yet left the hotel grounds.

The staff was the other highlight of our stay. Friendly, courteous and helpful. We traveled with our 7-year old and they offered helpful, relevant information about the excursions we were interested in. Mauricio at the front desk, gave us pointers from adequate attire for zip-lining with a child to the proper meal she should have prior to departure. Francisco was fast in getting us information on other tours and helped us choose the experience that was good for us, out of several similar options. Pablo knew our daughter's name from day one and staff would greet her when we walked by. Glen, at the Anaconda restaurant, remarked that it was great to see kids reading books when she pulled out hers and by day three he knew exactly what she liked. "Yo sé lo que quiere la niña!", he would say. All this in a genuine way.

The staff at Costa Verde deserves a 5 star review. They offer warm, genuine, attentive service. They don't want to please you, they want to offer you a solution. Aside from that, as a mom, it made me feel they genuinely are inclusive about kids. They don't cater to them specially, they integrate them in a very natural way. Kind and friendly, many of them mentioned their own kids in small talk. I see how they got the Trip Advisor Travelers' Choice 2014 in the Family category.

Having said that, let me say now that I had the opportunity to enjoy the adults-only area of the hotel while hubby and child went zip-lining. The view is gorgeous and I liked the pool bar - that will also order you food from one of the hotel restaurants. Quiet, sun, fresh fruit batidos and an amazing view of Espadilla beach: pura vida.

The room at the hotel was adequate. Spacious, no-frills, clean. We stayed in room D3 and had a spacious, beautiful balcony from where we had a view of the ocean and we could see monkeys in the early morning.

The room is equipped with a fridge, pots and pans and a portable electric range, good for heating and simmering but won't allow for real cooking. It was more than adequate to warm up leftovers and to cook some pasta.

As noted on other reviews, the hotel rooms and studios spread out over a hill, so be prepared to climb more than a few steps - think of it as cardio towards the fresh fish, delicious fruit and drinks you'll have later in the day.

Back to the title of this review: having travelled extensively, we arrived at Costa Verde just interested in their promise of wildlife - which we saw in abundance and at close distance. The setting and the people won me over. This is no RC (which I generally do not favor) but the caring service and the direct access to wildlife is a luxury in itself. A real luxury. The kind that builds memories and makes your life richer.






  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    335
    120
    51
    36
See reviews for
300
337
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Spent nearly a week here with husband and adult daughter. The three swimming pools were clean and warm but not long enough for a serious lap swimmer. Nonetheless, they were rarely crowded and we did do circle swimming for exercise. The bungalow in which we stayed was large and comfortable. The kitchenette has no microwave or over, but does have a stove and refrigerator/freezer. I could not prepare much in the way of meals here, but did have utensils to cut up fruit and vegetable and was able to hardboil eggs. The restaurants on the grounds were fine. We enjoyed pizza several times. We went to the farmers' market in Quepos and bought fresh produce. The down side is that this hotel is built in a mountainous area. If you cannot climb, you cannot even get to your room! The maid service was excellent but there are bugs in the tropics and they will invade your room. I would return.

Room Tip: Bungalow is great for two couples or a family. It had two bedrooms and two bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Jaw dropping views from our room (See attached photo)! Wow. The rooms are also very large, with a fully functional kitchen. The deck with is wonderful.

Location is good, particularly for views, but not too convenient. The beach is a 15-20 minute walk down (which is tough on the way back) and is not lit very well at night plus requires you to talk on busy streets with no sidewalk. The hotel is sprawling - like they purchased nearby property that wasn't necessarily adjacent as they grew. Consequently, getting to some pools, lobby, rooms and restaurants can require lengthy walks - sometime on roads with no sidewalks. As noted in other reviews, the on site restaurant 'Anaconda' is only open for breakfast and lunch. Breakfast was not included for us (while at most hotels it was included). However, unless you have a car -- there are no other convenient breakfast options.

Room Tip: The ocean views are worth it! Make sure you request an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Quebec, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Very close to the Park Manuel Antonio, well located for the restaurant and activities. The adult pool has a VERY nice vue over the Pacific…..great place after the beach ! A lots a monkeys….nice room, clean, NO dinner at the restaurant ! Breakfast are good. recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We took 50 wedding guests to Costa Verde in March 2014. During the 3.5 hour drive from the San Jose airport I was worried that our guests would complain about the distance but as my husband put it, as soon as you stepped out and saw the view, the drive was forgotten. Costa Verde is even prettier in person than in the pictures. So many gorgeous views, every where. A number of tips from our week there and 48 guests.

1) pay for an ocean view room. It's worth it. Some of the bungalows had good views. The Villa had a pool view. Most of our guests stayed at Costa Verde II, the adults only area with the only pool with an attached bar. The best rooms are high up north West rooms in Costa Verde II because they had an additional wall of ocean view. One guest had a hard time concentrating when they checked into room 12 during sunset as it was stunning. Costa verde II rooms were also very large and spacious with a balcony, kitchen, large refrigerator, and table and chairs. The room in Block B in comparison was cramped.
2) consider bringing a flashlight. While the paths are lite it can still be dark at night.
3) pop down to thd grocery store to pick up items for your room
4) the hotel is better described as being on a cliff, hence the beautiful views. Our guests with limited mobility struggled.
5) in our room in Costa Verde II , the wifi was fantastic and faster than at home. Other guests talked about wandering around looking for better spots for wifi as their room (Block B) had very spotty wifi.
6) order the banana bread and fruit plate at anaconda restaurant
7) at La Cantina and El Avion, order the steak or curry fish stew. The fish fillets and whole fish were slightly dry. The mixed drinks were disappointing except for the sangria and the monkey biz. I'm not a big steak person but I ate it 5 times that week as it was the best thing on the menu and the accompanying vegetables and potatoes were awesome.
8) the bus and cabs run frequently which is necessary in the steep road. It did not even walk downhill except once.
9) Queopos town was not very exciting or interesting. I recommending spending time instead at the collection of shops bars and restaurants outside the entrance to Manual Antonio near the beach.
10) the ocean water was a perfect temperature. Like bath water. The ocean and coast line was knuckle-biting beautiful. You can rent beach chairs and umbrellas and a man would take your drink order then run a across the street to fetch you a frozen swirly drink.
11) still more monkeys than people. All of our guests were quite happy with their monkey, iguana, and sloth encounters.

Can you tell we had a great time?

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We took our daughters (ages 14 and 13) to Costa Rica for an eight night spring break trip, beginning in La Fortuna/Arenal, then Manuel Antonio Park, and finishing up in Jaco. My husband and I had visited 6 years before, so we had previously visited La Fortuna and Manuel Antonio, but Jaco was new to us. Hotel Costa Verde was the best place we have stayed during either trip! The room was woodsy and bigger than most hotel rooms we had experienced, with a full size fridge and stove. (We could have used a microwave to warm up leftovers, but that wasn't included.) We felt like we were in the rain forest, surrounded by lush vegetation, with 4 rocking chairs for our porch looking in to the trees. All I had to do was ask one of the maintenance men about sloths on the property, and was directed to a sloth in a nearby tree, with a baby! We enjoyed a family of spider monkeys galloping over our roof in the early morning, and in the evening, perched on our porch and jumping from tree to tree nearby. We also saw white faced monkeys and howler monkeys at breakfast from the hotel restaurant (which is open for breakfast and lunch). The restaurant had an amazing view of the ocean. Three pools, all lovely. There is an adults only pool too. The hotel is somehow connected with three restaurants offsite, one just across the street and one (pizza in a brick oven) walking distance up the hill. A few minutes car ride up the hill is El Avion - a must experience restaurant overlooking the ocean, a perfect setting for amazing sunsets and great, inexpensive dinners. The restaurant is built around an airplane, which now holds a bar. We enjoyed great steaks, tuna steaks, and snapper as we watched a sloth in a nearby tree eating leaves. The first evening, when I asked for a cab to take us to El Avion, the manager drove us himself, at no charge, to the restaurant, and then we walked back after, as the return trip was downhill.
Because of the lovely hotel and all the attractions close by - beach, rainforest, guided tours of Manuel Antonio Park with tons of wildlife, zip lining, catamaran tours with snorkeling, we concluded that we could have spend all eight nights in Manuel Antonio and would have seen and done everything we wanted from that location alone.
Only two drawbacks - if walking is an issue for medical or health reasons, there is quite a bit of walking, and some of the areas are steep. Don't try walking to the beach even though there is a sign pointing to the beach. Take a taxi or bus. The office staff was always friendly and helpful in calling cabs. Also, in the morning, our neighbors were outside talking (not loudly) but we could hear everything. The walls don't keep out much noise. Other than that, our entire family loves the monkeys, sloths, room, views and would highly recommend Hotel Costa Verde.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The property, location, and wildlife are spectacular. Room is well equipped with a kitchenette, tv, safe, and just about all that is needed. I wouldn't say the bathroom/kitchen is the nicest, but it did the job.

Property is great, squirrel monkeys, sloths, birds, and lizards abound. Also, the many restaurants onsite are pretty good and within walking distance. Enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.