We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome time at Costa Verde!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa Verde to your Saves list
Hotel Costa Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome time at Costa Verde!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

This place was great! We went at the beginning of the rainy season so it barely rained at all. We stayed in the Casa Quinta bungalow and we barely saw any other guests. We also had the pool to ourselves. All 3 of the hotel resaraunts we excellent. (try the nachos!) The Anaconda and El Avion both had beautiful ocean views. They people there were always helpful and almost everyone spoke english which was a plus for our limited spanish. My 2 friends and I had a great time!

  • Liked — it was the slow season so we had it all to ourselves
  • Disliked — Hot
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    296
    111
    46
    33
See reviews for
267
297
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

We loved it here. We stayed in a Studio Plus room and were delighted with the room and the balcony. The balcony was a great size for the 5 of us and was a perfect spot for morning cups of coffee watching the sloths and monkeys with great views of the rainforest and the sea. Breakfast in the Anaconda restaurant was perfect, again with great views and yet more wildlife watching opportunities. We also enjoyed meals at El Avion and La Cantina. Great location and lots to do in the local area. We would love to go back.

  • Liked — The chilled out balcony with its amazing views
  • Disliked — The Costa Rican toilet plumbing!!!! ( Not just this hotel tho!!!! )
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

We just got married on August 1st 2008 in Manuel Antonio and wanted to write a review for anyone thinking of doing the same. Planning a wedding from 3,000 miles away can be very daunting however we can reassure you that the payoff in the end was absolutely worth it. First off, Manuel Antonio may be the most beautiful spot in Costa Rica (it was our favorite spot) and the Costa Verde II hotel undoubtedly has the best view available. Second our wedding planner, Sylvia Chavez, from Costa Rica Paradise Wedding was incredible. From choosing the sight of our rehearsal dinner, to selecting bands and djs, to making sure that the flower arrangements were perfect, Sylvia was outstanding. We couldn't have been happier and would highly reccommend her to anyone planning a wedding in Costa Rica. All in all, we can't say enough about our experience and would encourage anyone considering a wedding in Manuel Antonio to do the same.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

Costa Verde is a wonderful rustic jungle lodge

nestled in a rain forest bluff over looking MA

but built in stories so the views

are the most awesome for price in MA.

The very best are in CVII

The Penthouse where we stayed had 270 degree panoramic views over the ocean beach and park with iguanas and monkeys frolicking in the treetops below.Very romantic large 2000 sq. ft suite of rooms with kitchen large bathrooms and wrap around patio with wonderful rustic wooden furniture naturally matching the rain forest. Very nice private pool short down hill walk to beach MA park.

We paid $150/nt great value.

We will be back.

  • Liked — Panoramic 270 degree view of beach MA park...
  • Disliked — Lots of stairs...
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

This hotel was 5 star! Loved the room, the view, the pools, the pool bar, the restaurants, how close it is to the park/beach/town.
Perfect location. Ask to stay in Costa Verde 2...ocean view. That is where we were and it was an unforgettable 3 nights.

  • Liked — Our view, and the food
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

Our room was beautifully glassed-in on two sides with a view to the jungle. We ate supper every night on our private porch. The staff was very nice and helpful.

But the sliding six-foot-wide glass paneled door was hard to open and close. The was a good-sized refrigerator, but no microwave. And there was no hot water in the bathroom sink--there was only a single cold water line out of the wall splitting into a line for the "hot" and cold taps! And while the room was beautiful, there were eighteen steps to negotiate up to it, and we had to park the car down a steep hill.

Still, though, the hotel and Costa Rica were a really good experience.

  • Liked — beautiful scenery
  • Disliked — difficult access, very expensive Internet--$4/hour
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston/ma/usa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

We've just returned home from vacation and are going thru withdrawal.
The staff- everyone from the main desk to the guys sweeping the paths- were so friendly and helpful. They all went out of their way to help us with anything needed.
We had gone with extended family (15+ people), some handicapped and fared well.

My immediate family stayed in A-9. Located at the highest level. Be prepared for the steps. Worked out great- size wise. Had a pool outside the front door and down a flight of steps. If you have a car easier to access.

The Costa Verde II is by far the winner, with it's own adult only pool and great views, cool breezes. But ADULT only.

We had other family members stay closer to the front desk due to handicapped needs(using cane, limited walking ability), worked out well.

The thing to remember if booking special services. They want CASH.

Can't wait to return.

The food was fabulous, and well priced.

  • Liked — View, location, and staff helpfulness
  • Disliked — the stairs
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.