We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh the views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa Verde to your Saves list
Hotel Costa Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oh the views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a wonderful 3 nights here in January, 2014 (me, husband + our 10 year old). We booked a family suite with an ocean view and were placed in building B, room 12. WOW! Floor to ceiling windows throughout the room and a porch with rocking chairs. Awesome. The resort is spread out over a very hilly landscape so everything is very secluded. Wish the other pools had a view like the adults only pool. Everything was clean and the A/C was a nice surprise (first place we stayed in CR with it). The steep, winding (busy!) road to town and the beach took some getting used to but everyone walks it so I got over my fear of becoming roadkill quickly. Bus stops right outside the hotel and costs ~$.50 to go into town. Loved all the monkeys and breakfast in the open air restaurant was great. Front desk very friendly and helped us right away with planning activities and answering our questions. Didn't see the other rooms but based on the reviews I've read, I'd definitely recommend upgrading to an ocean view. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    296
    111
    46
    33
See reviews for
267
297
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The view from the top levels of the building is breath-taking every minute of the day.
Perfect just to sit on the balcony and watch sun-rise or sunset or the wildlife arround...monkeys, tucans etc. The rooms are spaceous, clean, with big fridge and air-con.
The beds are comfy but you can't move without making noice....wooden beds.

Room Tip: Take a room on the top levels of the adult sector building (kids below 16 yrs are not allowed in tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Ok first up it is about a 15 minute walk to the beach on a road with no sidewalk. Or you can catch the bus. But the views from the pool area (and upstairs rooms) are fantastic. Amazing sunsets. Our room was on the ground floor and just stank of mold. We had to run the air con constantly just to keep the air fresh. They don't put fly wires on the main windows so you can't just sleep with the windows open. Service was indifferent at best. And there were no mattress protectors on the bed which is utterly unhygienic. What if the people before had scabies or lice? The rooms were very basic and ours was right next to the main road so noisy as well. Hotel is right in the middle of the rainforest so you do see monkeys and sloths which is very cool. Just insist on an upstairs room.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very spectacular view of the National Park and ocean. Our room was very clean and roomy, with a full expansive view of the ocean. So many monkeys! It was amazing to have them overtake the pool. We woke each morning to Howler Monkeys at 5:30. Very beautiful area, but I would have liked to have had access from the hotel to the ocean. There is no direct access to the beach and the walk is a good 10 minutes in STEEP incline to a public beach. When we checked in, the front desk also indicated that it wasn't particularly safe and to be careful!

After traveling through different regions of Costa Rica, this was our last stop before returning home. Though a very nice hotel, it was more touristy than we expected; the food was very American and expensive - though the portions were large.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very good hotel with great views! Our room was large, nothing too special about it, but we weren't planning on spending much time in it.The AC had mildew in it, which I'm sure is difficult to manage in a rainforest. Luckily it was cool enough to just use the overhead fan; it was not advised to leave windows, French doors open because you may have some visitors from the jungle! The property is very hilly, but with sufficient pathways/stairways to the pools, restaurants. Breakfast was great! Open air, good food, saw our first monkeys of our trip frolicking in the trees next to the restaurant. Staff was helpful in booking a walking tour through Manuel Antonio National Park...I definitely recommend booking a guide, rather than walking on your own. We would not have seen nearly as many things without our guide. For the price, this hotel was excellent!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here two nights in our travel thru Costa Rica and were glad to leave. It was completely cheesy touristy, we felt like we were in Florida rather than Costa Rica. Their restaurants only had typical American dishes rather than typical Costa Rican dishes plus the food did not taste fresh. The orange juice in the morning was concentrate instead of fresh for example. The pool has an amazing view though, that's about the only good thing about the place. Would NOT recommend!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

A large number of guests and my wife and I stayed at Costa Verde for an extended period of time--one to two weeks. We were totally satisfied with the hotel, its grounds and staff. We were all there for a wedding and the group included about 25 Americans who stayed in a variety of units. I spoke regularly with everyone and all would agree to an excellent rating. We initially got in at night and woke up to a magnificent view of the rain forest and stunning view of the shoreline/ocean and several monkeys who pranced across our balcony. Exceptionally great for a partial ocean view! The grounds were very well maintained and occupied daily with two types of entertaining monkeys. We also saw toucans, a sloth as well as a variety of other wildlife including some type of ground mammal, hummingbirds etc all on the grounds. The pools were great and one had a spectcular view from it. The rooms were serviced each day and thoroughly cleaned and left with a nice towel arrangement. The location provided easy access to a variety of restaurants. The beaches involved a 10 minute walk or a cab ride. Office staff was more than accommodating to whatever requests we had....and we had many given how many people were traveling with us and necessary wedding arrangements. We were very favorably impressed!

Room Tip: The pictures provided on their webpage are accurate. Ask if they provide a cash discount. AC work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.