We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10th Anniversary - Honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa Verde to your Saves list
Hotel Costa Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
“10th Anniversary - Honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We really weren't sure what to expect going to Costa Rica during the end of the rainy season so we left with our fingers crossed. WOW- Sure glad we made the trip. The weather was great (rained in the evening but not a big deal)... The resort was beautiful, the views AMAZING... I decided to upgrade our room after reading some reviews about the efficiency rooms and it was well worth it. The pool bar was closed since it was out of season but that probably saved us $ as we went to the grocery and bought our own. Had the place practically to ourselves the whole 8 days it was perfect.

Room Tip: Pick the ocean view near the adults only pool, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    296
    111
    46
    33
See reviews for
267
297
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We spent six nights here doing very little apart from soaking in the wild life, eating and swimming.
There are three swimming pools on the site. The largest one which is for adults only has a bar and magnificent views over the sea. I was amazed on returning home to find on yahoo that in a list of the 10 best beaches in the world, was a photograph of the bay taken from the poolside of this hotel. The views from all round the hotel were breath taking.The beach is just over a mile from the hotel. There are local buses which stop just outside the hotel which we were told ran every half hour, although I counted one every 10 minutes between 6:30 and 7:15 am. Alternatively you can book a taxi to take you down to the beach. There were several taxis waiting for fares near the beach for the trip back, when we were there. Most hotels in the area do not have beach front access.
There is only one restaurant on site which serves breakfast and meals until 2:00pm in the green season. However there are three restaurants across the road from the hotel as is described on the hotel's web site.
Breakfast was included in our package, which we took at the Anaconda Restaurant on site. The breakfast was a la carte with limitations on what one could have for those on the breakfast package. However the choice was wide and portions were huge. After a couple of days the waiters were willing to mix and match our breakfast requirements from the menu.
Our rooms which were in a bank of four sets of rooms, had a main room with a double and a single bed, fridge, sink, cooker, cutlery and crockery. The main room had air-conditioning and a large ceiling fan, which I far prefer. There was also an en-suite WC and shower, and a verandah with numerous chairs and a fantastic view out to sea over the tree tops. In the late afternoons we watched squirrel, howler and white throated capuchin monkeys from the verandah, as well as numerous types of birds and iguanas.
The grounds are set partly to garden and partly secondary forest. There are paths through the forest from where the flora and fauna can be seen.
In the evenings we crossed the road and ate at the nearest restaurant "La Cantina" which has some sort of relationship with the hotel. The menu was a la carte and with a wide enough selection for us to have something different every night. Portions were generous and the food well presented and tasty; prices very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I got married on the beach near Manuel Antonio national park and had our reception at la cantina. Most of our guests, as well as ourselves, stayed at Costa Verde. Everyone loved it! The views were amazing! the entire staff, everyone from reception, housekeeping, the restaurants staff, chef, bartenders, drivers, everyone was exceptional! So helpful, attentive and polite. They remembered us from day to day and remembered little details, about what we had planned that day to how we liked our coffee. It was great! Everyone made us feel so special and comtinually congratulated us. We also loved the atmosphere and ambience of the hotel. Before arriving, we didn't realize how spread out the property was. We loved how the hotel was extremely well maintained and comfortable, while still totally embracing the beauty of Costa Rica. We also saw tons of wildlife. The shining star of the hotel was Isabel Vargas, the event coordinator. She did a exceptional job organizing our wedding and reception. She turned our vision into a reality and we couldn't have asked for anything more! Our wedding was amazing and perfect, largely because of Isabel! We can't say enough great things about her, the hotel and the rest of the staff that works there. We will defiantly recommend it and plan on returning, hopefully sooner rather than later!

Room Tip: Costa Verde 2 was amazing and very spacious, a lot of our guests stayed in building A, which also ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefield, Canada
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in phase one the first hotel phase built decades ago and found ourselves right in the middle of the jungle. looking towards Manual Antonio park and beach and form another main angle we had the jungle with its Firey billed Toucans, and familys of white faced monkeys frolicking in the growth 20 meters away. Fantastic. Early in the morning the Howler monkeys would wake you with their screams , somewhat daunting at first but you knew where you were , in a jungle near the ocean in Costa rica. The staff was wonderful. The restaurant was great with a lovely breakfast. A walk downhill to the main beautiful beach was 20 min. with attention to drivers a must. For those who wished luxury and no jungle and the odd bird that was available with a lovely pool and view. Local buses were available were the adventurous ( us) and taxi for those with money. I will say and warn about one thing you need to be in shape for the climbs from area to area in this hotel, a golf cart is available for your luggage to your room. Enjoy !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

we stayed in room B11 and the view was amazing, we had a monkey visit us on our balcony in the morning. The grounds are immaculately kept and the hotel is in an amazing location so close to the park. We were in the B building room 11 the views were great but I believe the other side of the building is even numbers and might have an even better view (if that is possible?)

Room Tip: chose room B11
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent six days at the Hotel Costa Verde in Manuel Antonio. This site is very large and spread out and so we never felt overcrowded. Our room was large - more like a condo than an hotel bedroom as it had a well-equipped cooking area, fridge and cooker. Costa Rican coffee was provided and replenished every day. These rooms have their own balcony looking out over a wonderful view of the sea and the surrounding forest; this was a great observation platform from which to watch the boisterous activities of white-throated Capuchin monkeys, squirrel monkeys, howler monkeys toucans and other birds. The slogan of this hotel is "Still more monkeys than people!" - they might be right :-) There are self-guided trails round this extensive property which we walked and also visited the Manuel Antonio Nature Reserve where we were instructed by a guide. He had his powerful telescope with him through which we were able to observe sloths chilling out in the trees and a cayman snoozing in a swampy area, birds, eyelash viper, spiders and any other wildlife that chanced by. If you want the beach and all the joys of watersports it is quite a hike down from the hotel and it would be better to take a taxi there and back unless you like walking. We passed up the pleasures of the beach for swimming in the delightful little jewel of a swimming pool near our room. There are three pools on this site, the largest one is an "adults and children over 12 only" pool with an amazing view over the seascape and a bar. Since we were in Costa Rica in their tourist low season, we had our jewel pool all to ourselves most of the time. While swimming and lazing we watched a troupe of white-throated Capuchin monkeys swinging through the trees, iguanas and a Kiskadee bird, too. Breakfast was included in our package and we had this at La Anaconda restaurant which is part of the hotel and is open for breakfast and lunch only. The food is good and served in huge portions - no fear of going hungry here. In the evenings we ate at La Cantina, a restaurant just across the road from the Hotel Costa Verde. Great food in vast portions, friendly service and atmosphere, we ate here every evening and became thoroughly spoiled by the waiters :-) There is a gift shop on this site and the laundry service is good and "same day" collection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriottsville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Definitely not a 4 star hotel so if you are looking for a little luxury I would not recommend. No TV but that I do not care about. Still there is something unique here....feels like you are staying in the jungle... Almost in a tree house. The views from the restaurant & pool are breathtaking. Monkeys sloths tropical birds....have your camera ready. Would have loved to stay in the 727 fusealage but it was booked:(

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.