We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice facility several phases priced acordingly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa Verde to your Saves list
Hotel Costa Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Really nice facility several phases priced acordingly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in phase one the first hotel phase built decades ago and found ourselves right in the middle of the jungle. looking towards Manual Antonio park and beach and form another main angle we had the jungle with its Firey billed Toucans, and familys of white faced monkeys frolicking in the growth 20 meters away. Fantastic. Early in the morning the Howler monkeys would wake you with their screams , somewhat daunting at first but you knew where you were , in a jungle near the ocean in Costa rica. The staff was wonderful. The restaurant was great with a lovely breakfast. A walk downhill to the main beautiful beach was 20 min. with attention to drivers a must. For those who wished luxury and no jungle and the odd bird that was available with a lovely pool and view. Local buses were available were the adventurous ( us) and taxi for those with money. I will say and warn about one thing you need to be in shape for the climbs from area to area in this hotel, a golf cart is available for your luggage to your room. Enjoy !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    352
    122
    52
    36
See reviews for
317
344
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

we stayed in room B11 and the view was amazing, we had a monkey visit us on our balcony in the morning. The grounds are immaculately kept and the hotel is in an amazing location so close to the park. We were in the B building room 11 the views were great but I believe the other side of the building is even numbers and might have an even better view (if that is possible?)

Room Tip: chose room B11
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent six days at the Hotel Costa Verde in Manuel Antonio. This site is very large and spread out and so we never felt overcrowded. Our room was large - more like a condo than an hotel bedroom as it had a well-equipped cooking area, fridge and cooker. Costa Rican coffee was provided and replenished every day. These rooms have their own balcony looking out over a wonderful view of the sea and the surrounding forest; this was a great observation platform from which to watch the boisterous activities of white-throated Capuchin monkeys, squirrel monkeys, howler monkeys toucans and other birds. The slogan of this hotel is "Still more monkeys than people!" - they might be right :-) There are self-guided trails round this extensive property which we walked and also visited the Manuel Antonio Nature Reserve where we were instructed by a guide. He had his powerful telescope with him through which we were able to observe sloths chilling out in the trees and a cayman snoozing in a swampy area, birds, eyelash viper, spiders and any other wildlife that chanced by. If you want the beach and all the joys of watersports it is quite a hike down from the hotel and it would be better to take a taxi there and back unless you like walking. We passed up the pleasures of the beach for swimming in the delightful little jewel of a swimming pool near our room. There are three pools on this site, the largest one is an "adults and children over 12 only" pool with an amazing view over the seascape and a bar. Since we were in Costa Rica in their tourist low season, we had our jewel pool all to ourselves most of the time. While swimming and lazing we watched a troupe of white-throated Capuchin monkeys swinging through the trees, iguanas and a Kiskadee bird, too. Breakfast was included in our package and we had this at La Anaconda restaurant which is part of the hotel and is open for breakfast and lunch only. The food is good and served in huge portions - no fear of going hungry here. In the evenings we ate at La Cantina, a restaurant just across the road from the Hotel Costa Verde. Great food in vast portions, friendly service and atmosphere, we ate here every evening and became thoroughly spoiled by the waiters :-) There is a gift shop on this site and the laundry service is good and "same day" collection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriottsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Definitely not a 4 star hotel so if you are looking for a little luxury I would not recommend. No TV but that I do not care about. Still there is something unique here....feels like you are staying in the jungle... Almost in a tree house. The views from the restaurant & pool are breathtaking. Monkeys sloths tropical birds....have your camera ready. Would have loved to stay in the 727 fusealage but it was booked:(

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is all right, great view on Manuel Antonio Park, convenient, clean and very helpful staff. But it's for the standard American vacation of beaches and tourist traps. If you want to be in wild nature go to the Osa Peninsula or Mt. Chirripo. Still if you do go, check out my review of Las terrazas restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent three days in Manuel Antonio. We actually stayed an extra night because we loved the hotel pool so much. We stayed in the cheapest rooms, the efficiencies. They did not have any view, but that was fine for us.

Pros:
- This hotel has an amazing view of the ocean and the tip of Manuel Antonio Park
- The pool bar serves drinks and a limited menu of food
- They have plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas for this pool that's only for adults (18+)
- The room had a little kitchen fully stocked and b/c we stayed a few nights we were able to cook ourselves breakfast, lunch, and dinner (definitely a nice option if you're looking to save a few bucks)
- There was a large lock box that could fit a laptop
- The efficiency also had a patio with some rocking chairs. Good place for drinking a few beers outside during the rainy season downpours.
- Only 20 minute walk down hill to the park.
- The restaurant on site served breakfast and lunch. It wasn't cheap, but no different from any of the other options up on the hill. Also, there's a great view from there too.

Cons:
- The rooms are on a hill, in the jungle, so I guess you can expect some ants in your room. Not a problem for us, but the problem was the smell of RAID or insect killer that took over the room.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Up Front: This is not a luxury hotel. I am giving this hotel 4 stars because it provides exactly what it promises: monkeys, beautiful scenery, and a central location. Based on the price, we did not expect it to be a luxury hotel, and it provided us everything we needed to have a great time in Manuel Antonio.

We came here on our honeymoon, and it was more than adequate. We stayed in Costa Verde II, the adult section. We were on the first floor with an ocean view, right next to the pool. We booked this hotel pretty early on, but all of the higher floors were already booked for a wedding. While the first floor had awesome scenery, I'm sure the higher floors were even better.

The one bad thing about the first floor by the pool is that everyone at the pool can see directly into your room. As the room has wrap-around windows, this can be pretty awkward. We spent almost the entire time with all of our curtains closed, which was a little disappointing. Moral of this story: get a higher room.

Other than that, the staff are courteous, the maid service is good, you have a kitchen and refrigerator, and the surrounding restaurants are very good. Very solid hotel, and you will not be disappointed, especially for the price.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better. Stick to the adults only section if possible- the walls are thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#4 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 999 reviews
1.9 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#16 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
#10 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#7 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Mariposa
Hotel La Mariposa
#12 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Bada
Hotel San Bada
#15 of 49 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.