We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed stay in section D. Spacious, well-equiped.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa Verde to your Saves list
Hotel Costa Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyed stay in section D. Spacious, well-equiped.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed for several nights in section D. This section of the hotel is for adults only. More on that later. It was a large comfortable room with a kitchenette and two double beds. The complaint with the room was that I was expecting more of a view, but since our room was on the ground floor, we couldn't see down the mountain to the beach as well. We had more of a view of the pool and the little tropical area between the pool and hotel. Try to get a higher up floor for views. The kitchen was fine for cooking a little breakfast and a half size refridgerator. The pool was lovely and had a bar that was fairly expensive. The view from the front edge of the pool is spectacular. Monkeys and iguanas everywhere! I liked that the hotel will pick you up and take you anywhere else on their grounds, it is quite a spread and could be walked, but if you want to arrive at dinner unruffled, the ride is nice as the road to the restaurants is a windy, curvy, curvy steep mountain road. I liked El Avion, we ate there a few times. I will review that seperately. My friend arranged a massage at the onsite spa, I didn't get one but it was very convienient.
We had a problem with a whole group of high schoolers on a trip invading the pool at one time. Who wants to be around twenty 15 year olds in a pool for adults? The hotel worker running the bar didn't do anything about it initially, but someone complained eventually and they had to leave, but not before they had run all the adults off. One other complaint is that this is too far up to walk down to the beach from, you would want to drive as part of the trip is on the dangerous, curvy road down to the park. I don't really have much to say about the staff here, they weren't as friendly as some of the other places we stayed at in Costa Rica, but overall I really enjoyed my stay here and would be willing to stay there again if I was ever in the area again.

Room Tip: High up in section D
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    335
    120
    51
    36
See reviews for
300
336
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Grove, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed in area B with my husband and baby. The room was safe for a child of 15 months. I slept comfortably. The view from the balcony was stunning and I loved the grounds.

There was one person on staff at the front desk who was a bit rude, but he didn't ruin my stay, besides, he may have been having a bad day - who doesn't have one of those.

The breakfast food wasn't that great, but the dinner/lunches were delicious.

I would definitely come here again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The four of us treated ourselves to 2 nights in this 727 and it was worth every penny. The teak furnishings are lovely and the view is out of this world. Experiences like this are few and far between and it is something you will always remember.

The nearby bars and restaurants are all part of the same hotel group and offer excellent value and atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, CA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was the fourth stop we had on our Costa Rica trip, traveling as a family of four, with two children ages 8 & 11. This was also our splurge.
After visiting El Avion, the airplane-themed restaurant that is part of this resort 5 years ago, to the enchantment of our kids, when we found out that the resort had put together a hotel room using another plane, I knew we'd have to stay when we returned to CR. I am so glad we did, though it did rather spoil us on rooms for a while. Our expectations are now exceedingly high. OK, bad joke, but wow, what a room.
We arrived in the afternoon at Costa Verde and were immediately distracted by a howler monkey navigating a wire in the parking lot. A staff member was there and helpfully pointed us to some nearby squirrel monkeys, clearly understanding that guests to the region are truly interested in seeing animals.
Checkin was easy and seamless, and we were led up to the parking space outside our room by a staff member on a moped, who then helped us unload our car. The fuselage room is approached by a long walkway and emerges from the foliage as if it gently crashlanded a decade ago. It's pretty outstanding. The entry to the room is the former overwing section, which is now a gorgeous covered wooden deck behind a lockable metal scrollwork gate. You step into a fully redesigned wooden interior, with a full galley kitchen to your left, and a handmade wooden table to your right. Directly before you is another overwing deck, this one with an outstanding view of one of the beaches of Manuel Antonio itself. Stepping down and to the right, there's a TV room with two handmade and very comfortable rocking chairs and a flatscreen TV.
This is really a suite, with two bedrooms. The fore section has two queen beds and two full, gorgeous armoires. There's a bathroom; it's the cockpit. Yes, there are pilot chairs and a view from the bathroom from the cockpit windows. I don't think the original flight deck had a mosaic tile floor, however. The bathroom is complete with showers and well stocked with fluffy towels, soap, and shampoo.
The aft bedroom has a single queen bed and another of the armoires. Another bathroom is aft, also with shower, and a high ceiling that looks up to the former tail engine (missing) that is now a vent for moisture. It's covered, so no rain comes in. Also, screened, so no bugs come in. The shower is in the tail cone, which is open with a view, though there is another privacy curtain if you wish. Interestingly, this sink is another one where I had to use my personal drain cover; it didn't have a plug, though the sink in the fore bathroom had a working plug.
All the window portholes remain, though they've been framed on the interior and become quite elegant. This would be a really nice room due to the craftsmanship; the fact that it's an actual plane makes it special.
There are lots of outlets throughout the plane, free wifi in the room, though a little slow. The overwing decks each have a nice table and handcrafted wood + leather chairs.

The resort itself looks just as beautifully considered and constructed. Costa Verde has its own workshop, and clearly has expert craftspeople. Everything is beautiful.

We visited one of the two pools, the "A" section, on the family side of the resort (adults only on the other) and it was beautiful and refreshing, surrounded by fruit trees. An agouti was also poolside, though certainly that's not guaranteed. Other guests also reported that they'd seen a sloth with a baby at the "B" section pool earlier in the day.

Pros:
You're staying in a plane! How cool is that?
Comfortable
Very quiet (even with the howler monkey visiting the deck in the night and I think a coconut hitting the fuselage in the early morning)

Cons:
We only had one night. This suite is worth at least a two night stay, if you can swing it (it's not inexpensive).

Room Tip: If you're looking for a very unique experience and you're not on a budget, the 727 Fuselage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hotel costa verde was amazing! I went with a group of six in July. and we stayed in Casa Quinta. It was spacious and the staff was so accommodating. Monkeys came right up to our bungalow both capuchins and squirrel monkeys. I would come here every time I visited Costa Rica it was one of the most amazing experiences I have had. The people where wonderfully nice, the area incredibly beautiful, and the hotel was perfect for a jungle feel. The adult pool has amazing views and the front desks was very helpful in booking all of our excursions. All of the restaurants had good food and service. El Wagon was delicious for a hearty lunch. The hotel has hiking trails all around. It rained half the time we where there but it didn't matter because everything was so beautiful.

Room Tip: For a large group of family or friends Casa Quinta is perfect. It offers the privacy of a house and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for about a week while staying in Manuel Antonio. We originally were in Las Posadas, which is very close to the entrance of the park, but after a few days we moved farther up the mountain to stay in Manuel Antonio longer. The hotel was very accommodating under short notice, as well as friendly. There were several moderately priced, and unique restaurants just a bit down or up the road - and we ate at one of them most of the time while there. I also enjoyed the abundance of monkey's, as well as the historical airplane (honeymoon room) they have! I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Casa Quinta at Costa Verde with our family of six in July. The room was great for our family. The staff was very helpful. We had left our own beach towels at the pool to dry and the housekeepers picked them up and laundered them for us. We ate at both La Cantina and El Avion and had wonderful meals at both

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.