We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 days near Manual Antonio Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa Verde to your Saves list
Hotel Costa Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“3 days near Manual Antonio Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the Costa Verde in the "B" section on the second floor. First thing you should know is that this hotel is at least 1.5 miles from the beach straight down a steep hill the entire way, which means straight up coming back. You can take a Taxi if you want, but that will add up quickly. Our room was really nice and had a fridge, and stove. My only complaint is the shower. THe water is not a strong flow and you feel like it is hard to rinse off soap etc. It was fine, just not optimal. As for the area in general, this entire hotel is built into the hill, so you walk up and down steep inclines to do anything, including just getting to your room, so this is not a place for someone that can't deal with that. THe walls are thin for sure, but the area is quiet and we had not real issues. The beds need some cushion, but I was so tired everynight I just fell asleep regardless. They have a nice pool with ocean views. As for the food. I am sorry to say it is just food. The breakfast was ok, but no real flavor. There is a BBQ place across the street, and it is just ok, but overprice. Do not order drinks here they are watered down!! There is a great pizza place a short hike up the hill. Great great pizza! The beach here is NOT for small kids or poor swimmers. It has huge waves, great for surfing and boogey boarding. My sun surfed and me and my husband boogey boarded each day. We are all strong swimmers and even we had a few concerns about the rip tides and currents here. The town in not much on the beach, but we did get chips and salsa at one place on a whim and it was really good. A bonus to Costa Rica is that the water is drinkable, so bring a water bottle and fill up, or expect to pay a lot for drinks, water, soda etc. Also nothing here is free, even sitting in a chair on the beach. They charge by the hour. We did not use a chair, just say for free in the sand. If I came back, I would try and stay at a place near the park in town. There were two really nice hotels here. One was Set on the edge of the park entrance. Not sure what the cost, but looked great. Also, flat ground! THere was another there also that looked good just down the same street. Wish I could recall the names.

Room Tip: Lots of step, hills and no elevators, so book accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    296
    111
    46
    33
See reviews for
267
297
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I searched high and low for a hotel that I thought would be well suited for our family.
While the room was a little rustic the view of the ocean and our room's location to the family pool made up for it!
The room had a large balcony where you could look our over the tree tops and sea the beach and ocean. In the evening we were greeted by monkeys...that for me was the best part of our room!!
If you have kids...B3 is a great room. We usually had the pool to ourselves which was wonderful.

The property itself is a little sprawling too much in fact if you don't have a car as we did.

We ate at three of the four hotel restaurants. El Wagon is great and Cesar our waiter for all three of our visits was fantastic! He even took us out in front of the hotel to show us a sleeping sloth! We went back the next night for dinner only to be entertained by a baby sloth climbing down the trees. Our last afternoon we walked up for lunch and were amazed by the amount of monkeys frolicking in the trees.
The breakfast each morning was at the Anaconda...beware of bugs and bees! While they appeared harmless they were quite annoying!
We had a dinner at the Cantina and it was good and affordable. My son had their nachos and I loved them!!
We never made it to El Avion but it was always busy!

The front desk staff were friendly helpful and courteous.

The hotel is a bit of a walk to the beach and its not a bad walk in terms of length but more a dangerous walk.

The room had two queen beds, a bathroom, cable tv and a small kitchenette. We only used the fridge in the kitchen.

A very affordable price and we were pleased with our stay.
Hope this is helpful. Enjoy Costa Rica and Pura Vida!!

Room Tip: If you have kids and want to be close to one of the two family pools B3 (or B unit) would be your be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Spectacular spacious 2-aspect room with balcony and sea view and jungle view. The room had a kitchenette with cooking utensils and 2 heating rings and a coffee percolator. Free Wifi in room (ask for password from reception) with good internet access speed. We had breakfast included, which has a good choice of meals from a set menu plus orange juice, toast & jam and coffee/tea. ‘Tea’ being a particularly poor brew from hardly-warm water into cold cup and separate tea bag – I asked to exchange for ‘boiling’ water but no improvement – gets my vote as the worst brew of tea in Costa Rica (they must have had special training to get it that bad). Fortunately, we could go back to our room and brew some proper tea with boiling water (remember to bring your own tea). Our room shower head needed de-scaling (water pressure ok but weak shower) and the water goes hot & cold if you don’t get in there before other rooms start drawing the water. The shower was the only criticism of an otherwise fabulous room.
The hotel restaurant was only open for breakfast. For other meals, guests needed to go to one of the three associated restaurants across the road (dinner cannot be booked to your room).
Beach about 15min walk downhill. Half of the descent to the beach could be accomplished within the hotel grounds. On the road, although there is no proper pavement/sidewalk, there’s a track for almost all the way between the nearest hotel exit and beach. The walk back from the beach is steepish but not too bad, although perhaps not desirable with young tired children. There’s a few souvenir stalls (not too many) around when you get to the beach entrance and there were only a few beach hawkers when we were there and they accepted “No Thanks” and moved on. The beach entrance is about mid-point of the beach. Turn right onto the beach is away from the commercial part. Monkeys come around noon to 2pm to the small garden near the souvenir shops / beach entrance, being adjacent to the national park.
The hotel’s “trails” are steep with steps and don’t take long to complete even when walking slowly and looking around. We saw most wildlife (agouti, basilisk aka “Jesus Christ” lizard, iguana, various other lizards, birds and the evening monkey troop) within the hotel gardens. The iguana is quite tame and doesn’t mind its photo taken while it chomps the fresh garden plants.
Turn right out of the hotel entrance for 20min walk to the supermarket. There’s a frequent bus service between Quepos and Manuel Antonio which passes the hotel. If you have a car, ignore the fake-uniformed “officials” and their makeshift car parks which start well before the National Park. Go to the first one and you will have a long trek to the Park.
Domestics: Electricity: 110v US flat pin. We found the tap water was ok to drink. Free Wifi. Weather: hot & sunny.

Room Tip: Stay in Block C2 floor 2 and above for great views and being away from noisy / boisterous younger ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I took my son, his wife, and their 6 year old boy for three slightly rainy days last week. Costa Verde is one of the last hotels in Manuel Antonio and we were relieved to finally locate it. The family had a very large room with two king size beds, and a corner kitchenette. The balcony presented a beautiful view of the ocean, and offered a family of monkeys the opportunity to interact with the humans. A sloth also appeared. Three or four restaurants not on the same site are affiliated with the hotel and we thought the Wagon was top-notch, especially the warm and welcoming atmosphere. Would we return? Definitely.

Room Tip: Specify near a pool, or not too many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I reserved one of their bungalows....but lucky for us they messed up our reservation and gave us "la casa"!!! The view was breathtaking. The front desk was very helpful. they booked our tours.
If you are going to stay in this hotel, you want to make sure you have a view of the ocean!!!
And we did see sloths, monkeys, birds, and iguanas at the property!!! That was the highlight for the kids...and the husband!!!
The only downside is that the rooms are outdated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This place has gorgeous views and you are really in the jungle! The pool is small but the view is amazing. We had a poolside ocean room in the adult section. The room was huge with a great patio. The shower was a little gross and they didn't have conditioner/lotion. If you are looking for a tropical rainforest hotel at a good price I would say do it. If you are looking for luxury I would check out another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

If you stay here, be sure to spend the extra money for an ocean view. Our room had a wonderful view of the ocean and it was well worth it the extra money. We loved the jungle feel of this place. We did not like the plane restaurant associated with the hotel. The restaurant at the hotel which served breakfast and lunch was fine however.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.