We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Verde

Save Saved
You added Hotel Costa Verde to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Costa Verde
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Can't beat the view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had a studio plus room, which was a king bed and a double bed. The room was spacious and included a kitchenette, fully stocked with plates and utensils, etc. There was nowhere to sit, other than on the beds or out on the balcony, which made it a little difficult in the evening when all four people were looking to work on laptops or read, etc. The bathroom was very small, with little room for four people’s toiletry kits and no hooks or clothesline to hang wet clothes/bathing suits. You may take the towels to the pool, but not the beach, which was a problem for us since we didn’t bring our own beach towels. The view from room B-4 was fantastic, you could see the lovely coastline and hear the ocean waves. The hotel is pretty spread out and everything is either up or down a hill, so be prepared for lots of steps and ramps. The pool in the B complex is small, but nice and has the beautiful view. To get to the beach, you do have to walk down a very steep hill, along the road, so it’s a little scary with cars and trucks going by, but that’s the way everyone does it. Be prepared for a half hour hike back up after your time at the beach, it’s very hot and humid and if you have beach stuff, it will take you awhile. You can walk easily to the Cantina and El Avion restaurants from the hotel, but other places will require a taxi. The staff was very nice, accomodating us with taking care of laptops, luggage, towels, etc. It's a great setting and everyone was really comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    271
    101
    43
    32
See reviews for
247
275
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basehor
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel was a great surprise, the rooms were fantastic and the view of the ocean even better. We only stayed one night but wish we had booked more time here. The rooms had a fantastic deck with an open air feeling. Lots of space and even had the best internet service of all the places we stayed in Costa Rica. Our highlight was watching the spider monkeys come home around 5:20. Very beautiful, very comfortable. Restaurant was great and we really enjoyed getting to know our waiter, Bruce. Front desk felt a little stiff, it was set up more like a business office and did not give us a good understanding of the layout of the resort, beach or town. Only staying one night, we still figured it out and was a great place to end our vacation. Hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel fully met our exacting expectations for paradise. The room was booked for my wife and son for a couple nights stay in Manuel Antonio. The room was large and beautiful with lots of woodwork throughout. And the balcony overlooked the wonderful Pacific ocean with the jungle in the foreground. We didn't need AC as the night air cooled us sufficiently. The hotel's pool was a secret place of its own with an awesome view of the ocean. The hotel's restaurant was great and the food was very tasty - especially the breakfasts. And the wildlife we saw while dining kept us transfixed - monkeys and sloths - awesome! We hit the El Aviion for lunch the next day and had a memorable one watching the turkey vultures soar on the currents as we downed our Imperial beers. We will definately make a return trip to Costa Verde.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asbury park, nj
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel Costa Verde is on a huge property so you still feel like you're in the rainforest, even though you're at a resort. The room was spacious and had a small kitchen. Good bathroom and shower, and the beds were large, although a little hard. But the big WOW factor is the view of Manuel Antonio Beach! Amazing sunset view from the pool, or the balcony if you get an ocean view room… which is a must! Breakfasts are wonderful … order the banana bread! Close to the beach, restaurants, and downtown Quepos! Overall great place to stay!

Room Tip: Ocean View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have a efficiency room. It has a hot plate that won't boil water and a coffee pot and a fridge. The dishes are stored where the garbage can is, under the sink. If you hate bugs, this is not the place for you. The people in the office are very nice, they will pick you up and take you to any off the resorts restaurants or pools. The monkeys play in the trees and lizards are everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We Stay 1 night with our son, big room, amazing view, great location. The room was big, very clean, simple but with all the things that you need when you travel with family, small kitchen, coffe maker, great balcony to relax and eat. The pool was nice and refreshing after long day in the sun and we even saw sloth on the tree next to the pool and many birds. We defenatly will come back for more.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a generally positive experience here. The rooms were very nice. Both of our rooms had fantastic balconies with great ocean views (although, in this case, ocean view also equals road noise) with small but decently equipped kitchenettes. One of our rooms (B2) had a shower where you could open the curtains and essentially have an outdoor shower - kinda cool! The beds were fairly comfortable but the blankets are very rough. The various buildings are basically cut right into the jungle, so it's a very natural, relaxing experience. Depending on which room you're in, be prepared to get a workout walking around - lots of hills and stairs.

The pools were nice. Sometimes crowded but nevery annoyingly so, and people came and went constantly, so we often had it to ourselves or just a few others. The adult pool has a great ocean view. We spotted quite a bit of wildlife during our week there (although definitely not "more monkeys than people") - capuchin monkeys, squirrel monkeys, a sloth, an iguana; we heard others saw toucans. And you can't miss hearing the howler monkeys.

The hotel website's description of how close the hotel is to the beach is pretty misleading. The very southern limits of the property might be a "ten-minute walk" to the beach, but for most of the rooms it's much farther. And walking along the road, although a lot of people do it, feels pretty dangerous, especially with kids (there are no sidewalks in the direction of the beach). However, it's very easy to get to the beach on the public buses. The bus stops right in front of La Cantina restaurant across from the front desk, costs only about 50 cents, and quickly gets you down to the beach. We couldn't quite figure out the schedules (I think there are several different bus companies) but during the main part of the day, they came much more frequently than the "every 30 minutes" you see quoted.

The bus is also very handy for going to other hotels and attractions (for instance Fincas Naturales and the butterfly garden), the village of Manuel Antonio which has some restaurants and shops, and the town of Quepos. The bus routes end at the bus station in the middle of downtown Quepos; there are numerous restaurants and stores in the downtown, including a couple of grocery stores right next to the bus station. Taxis are also easy to get. In Quepos, they line up near the bus station. We also hailed them along the road near the hotel. And the hotel's front desk can call a cab for you. They are very reasonably priced. Cost about $6 to get into Quepos and they take American dollars.

The main issue we had with Costa Verde was the service. Most of the waiters and waitresses we had at the various restaurants were friendly and good (Anaconda less so), as were the maintenance and cleaning staff that we encountered. But the front desk staff definitely has some attitude issues. Some are nice. Sometimes. But on the whole, they were not terribly helpful or friendly, and often were dismissive or condescending. One of the clerks at the gift shop took about 30 seconds to finish writing a text message while I stood there, rather obviously, waiting to buy something.

We booked all our excursions through the hotel, just to simplify our lives. We were very happy with all the companies that they used. We did a mangrove tour with Safari Adventures (big plus that they don't feed the monkeys), ziplining with El Santuario, and ocean kayaking with Iguana Tours.

All in all, a great experience. We really enjoyed our week here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Costa Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Verde

Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Costa Verde 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Costa Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel
Hotel Costa Verde Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.